This is the preview version of the Wisconsin State Legislature site.
Please see for the production version.
Picture of Senator Jeff Smith

Senator Jeff Smith

Senate District 31

(D - Eau Claire) Madison Office:
Room 19 South
State Capitol
PO Box 7882
Madison, WI 53707
(608) 266-8546
(877) 763-6636
(608) 282-3571
Voting Address:
S7747 Norrish Road
Eau Claire, WI 54701

Alyssa Neuser
Tony Palese
Meghan Sovey
Beau Stafford


  • Born Eau Claire, Wisconsin, March 15, 1955; married; 2 children.
  • Graduate Eau Claire North High School, 1973.
  • Former owner/operator of window cleaning business, 1973–2011; Chairman of Town of Brunswick, 2001–07; community organizer for Western Wisconsin Organizing Cooperative of Citizen Action, 2016—18.
  • Former member: Eau Claire Area Chamber of Commerce; Valley Gospel Choir (president); Eau Claire Male Chorus; Eau Claire Kiwanis Club; Eau Claire Area School District Parent Advisory Committee (founder and chair); Eau Claire Family Resource Center board; Governor's Task Force for Educational Excellence; Wisconsin PTA state board; DPI Parent Leadership Corps; Wisconsin Alliance for Excellent Schools; Township Fire Department board (vice president); Tainter-Menomin Lake Improvement Association board; UW Extension Community Partner Advisory Group.
  • Elected to Assembly 2006–08. Elected to Senate 2018.

2019 Authored Proposals

(first or second author, first sponsor)

2019 Co-authored Proposals

2019 Cosponsored Proposals

2019 Authored Amendments

2019 Votes