This is the preview version of the Wisconsin State Legislature site.
Please see for the production version.
Picture of Senator Howard L. Marklein

Senator Howard L. Marklein

President Pro Tempore

Senate District 17

(R - Spring Green) Madison Office:
Room 317 East
State Capitol
PO Box 7882
Madison, WI 53707
(608) 266-0703
(608) 282-3557
Voting Address:
S11665 Soeldner Road
Spring Green, WI 53588

Andrea Brooks
Peter Hienz
Eileen O'Neill Eileen.O'
Katy Prange
Ryan Ring
Vincent Williams


  • Born Madison, Wisconsin, October 3, 1954; married; 2 children, 3 stepchildren, 5 grandchildren.
  • Graduate River Valley High School (Spring Green), 1972; B.B.A. University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, 1976.
  • Certified public accountant (CPA); certified fraud examiner (CFE).
  • Member: St. John’s Catholic Church Spring Green (finance committee member); Taliesin Preservation Inc. Board of Trustees (treasurer); National Rifle Association.
  • Former member: University of Wisconsin-Whitewater National Alumni Association (president); University of Wisconsin-Whitewater Foundation (board of directors presi¬dent); Fort Health Care Board of Directors (chair, treasurer); Fort Atkinson Rotary Club (president); Fort Atkinson Chamber of Commerce (president); Whitewater Chamber of Commerce (president); Dodgeville Chamber of Commerce (vice president).
  • Recipient: WMC Working for Wisconsin Award 2018, 2016, 2014, 2012; MMAC Champion of Commerce Award 2018, 2016, 2014, 2012; Wisconsin Pork Association Distinguished Service Award 2013; Wisconsin Newspaper Association Badger Award 2013; Wisconsin Aquaculture Association Legislator of the Year 2013; Dairy Business Association Legislative Excellence Award 2018, 2016, 2012; Wisconsin Auto Collision Technicians Association Legislator of the Year 2016; Wisconsin Towns Association Friend of Towns 2016; Associated General Contractors Legislator of the Year 2016; Wisconsin Counties Association Out¬standing Legislator 2018, 2016; Wisconsin Builders Association Friend of Housing 2018, 2016, 2015; Wisconsin Association of Local Health Departments and Boards & Wisconsin Public Health Association Friend of Public Health 2018, 2016; Wisconsin Hospitals Association Health Care Advocate Award, 2018; Associated Builders and Contractors, Building Wisconsin Award,2018, 2014; League of Wisconsin Municipalities, Municipal Champion Award, 2018, 2016; National Federation of Independent Businesses, Guardian of Small Business Award, 2018; University of Wisconsin Platteville, Friend of the University Award, 2018; Wisconsin Grocers Association, Friend of Grocers, 2018; Wisconsin Agribusiness Association, Friend of Wisconsin Agribusiness, 2018; Wisconsin ATV/UTV Association, President’s Award, 2017; Wisconsin State Telecommunications Association, Excellence in Legislative Leadership Award, 2018.
  • Elected to Assembly 2010, 2012. Elected to Senate since 2014. Leadership positions: President Pro Tempore 2019, 2017.

Member of Transportation Projects Commission

2019 Authored Proposals

(first or second author, first sponsor)

2019 Co-authored Proposals

2019 Cosponsored Proposals

2019 Authored Amendments

2019 Votes