All legislative websites will be unavailable on
Saturday, May 28, from 8:30am to 12:00pm for scheduled maintenance.
This is the preview version of the Wisconsin State Legislature site.
Please see http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov for the production version.
Register August 1996 No. 488
Chapter Trans 127
SCHOOL BUS TRIP PERMIT
Trans 127.01   Purpose and scope.
Trans 127.02   Definitions.
Trans 127.03   Application form.
Trans 127.04   Fee.
Trans 127.05   Certification.
Trans 127.06   Special provisions.
Trans 127.01 Trans 127.01Purpose and scope.
Trans 127.01(1) (1) As authorized by ss. 110.06, 227.11 and 341.26 (7) (a), Stats., the purpose of this chapter is to establish the department's administrative interpretation of s. 341.26 (7) (a), Stats., relating to 72 hour trip permits for school buses transporting persons who are not pupils.
Trans 127.01(2) (2) This chapter applies to privately owned and operated school buses when used for non-pupil, charter transportation.
Trans 127.01(3) (3) The following school buses owned and operated for non-pupil transportation are exempted from this chapter:
Trans 127.01(3)(a) (a) School buses owned and operated by a school district and registered as provided in s. 341.26 (2) (d), Stats. The school board may use or allow the use of school buses owned and operated by the school district as authorized under s. 120.13 (27), Stats.
Trans 127.01(3)(b) (b) Privately owned and operated school buses engaged in passenger-carrying operations other than as a school bus and registered as provided in s. 341.26 (7) (b), Stats.
Trans 127.01 History History: Cr. Register, April, 1982, No. 316, eff. 5-1-82; correction in (1) made under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats., Register, December, 1987, No. 384.
Trans 127.02 Trans 127.02Definitions. As used in this chapter:
Trans 127.02(1) (1) “Department” means the Wisconsin department of transportation.
Trans 127.02(2) (2) “Permit” means the 72 hour charter bus trip permit authorized in s. 341.26 (7) (a), Stats.
Trans 127.02 History History: Cr. Register, April, 1982, No. 316, eff. 5-1-82.
Trans 127.03 Trans 127.03Application form. Each application for a permit shall contain the following information:
Trans 127.03(1) (1) The name and business address of the applicant,
Trans 127.03(2) (2) The signature of the applicant or person authorized by the applicant, and
Trans 127.03(3) (3) The number of permits requested.
Trans 127.03 Note Note: Creates form MVD 2449.
Trans 127.03 History History: Cr. Register, April, 1982, No. 316, eff. 5-1-82.
Trans 127.04 Trans 127.04Fee.
Trans 127.04(1)(1) The permit issuance fee of $10.00 required by s. 341.26 (7) (a), Stats., for each permit shall be paid at the time an application is filed with the department. If the remittance is by check, draft or money order, it shall be made payable to the Wisconsin department of transportation.
Trans 127.04(2) (2) Upon receipt of the proper remittance and verification that a certificate of insurance for the applicant is on file with the department, the number of permits requested shall be immediately forwarded to the applicant.
Trans 127.04 History History: Cr. Register, April, 1982, No. 316, eff. 5-1-82.
Trans 127.05 Trans 127.05Certification.
Trans 127.05(1) (1) To certify the permit for operation the following information shall be typewritten upon the face of the permit:
Trans 127.05(1)(a) (a) The name and address of the school bus owner and, if the school bus is leased, the name and address of the lessee,
Trans 127.05(1)(b) (b) The school bus year, make, identification number, current school bus license plate number and fleet number,
Trans 127.05(1)(c) (c) The specific date and time expressed in month, day and year and in time of day indicating a.m. or p.m. for which the permit is certified for operation, and
Trans 127.05(1)(d) (d) The signature and title of the person authorized by the applicant to sign the permit.
Trans 127.05(2) (2) Upon certification of the permit, part 1 of the permit shall be carried in the school bus driver compartment and shall be displayed to law enforcement officers upon request, part 2 shall be retained by the user, and part 3 shall be mailed immediately to the department.
Trans 127.05 Note Note: Creates form MVD 2450.
Trans 127.05 History History: Cr. Register, April, 1982, No. 316, eff. 5-1-82.
Trans 127.06 Trans 127.06Special provisions.
Trans 127.06(1) (1) The permit shall be used only for school buses registered by the department.
Trans 127.06(2) (2) A certificate of insurance shall be on file with the department in compliance with s. 194.41, Stats., and ch. Trans 176, before a vehicle may be operated on Wisconsin highways with a permit.
Trans 127.06(3) (3) The permit is not transferable and shall be used only by the applicant to whom the permit is issued.
Trans 127.06(4) (4) The permit is valid for 72 hours from the date and time of certification.
Trans 127.06(5) (5) The permit is not valid if handwritten, crossed out or erased.
Trans 127.06(6) (6) The permit is valid for Wisconsin intrastate operations only.
Trans 127.06(7) (7) Unused permits which are intact may be returned to the department along with a written statement from the applicant requesting a refund of the $10.00 permit issuance fee paid to the department at the time of permit acquisition.
Trans 127.06 History History: Cr. Register, April, 1982, No. 316, eff. 5-1-82.
Loading...
Loading...
Published under s. 35.93, Stats. Updated on the first day of each month. Entire code is always current. The Register date on each page is the date the chapter was last published.