This is the preview version of the Wisconsin State Legislature site.
Please see http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov for the production version.
DE 2.03 DE 2.03 Biennial renewal.
DE 2.03(1)(1)Requirements for renewal; dentists. To renew a license a dentist shall, by October 1 of the odd-numbered year following initial licensure and every 2 years thereafter, file with the board all of the following:
DE 2.03(1)(a) (a) An application for renewal on a form prescribed by the department.
DE 2.03(1)(b) (b) The fee authorized by s. 440.08 (2), Stats.
DE 2.03(1)(c) (c) Evidence satisfactory to the board that the licensee has current proficiency in cardiopulmonary resuscitation, including the use of an automated external defibrillator, achieved through instruction provided by an individual, organization, or institution of higher education approved by the Wisconsin department of health services.
DE 2.03(1)(d) (d) Except as provided in sub. (4), evidence satisfactory to the board of successful completion of the continuing education credit hours required under ch. DE 13.
DE 2.03(2) (2)Requirements for renewal; dental hygienists. A dental hygienist shall by October 1 of the odd-numbered year following initial licensure and every 2 years thereafter, meet the requirements for renewal specified in sub. (1) (a) to (d).
DE 2.03(3) (3)Failure to meet requirements. A dentist or dental hygienist who fails to meet the requirements under subs. (1) (a) to (d) and (2) by the renewal date shall cease and desist from dental or dental hygiene practice.
DE 2.03(4) (4)New licensees. Dentists and dental hygienists are not required to satisfy the continuing education requirements under sub. (1) (d) for the first renewal period following the issuance of their initial licenses.
DE 2.03(5) (5)Requirements for late renewal.
DE 2.03(5)(a) (a) A dentist or dental hygienist who files an application for renewal of a license within 5 years after the renewal date may renew his or her license by filing with the board all of the following:
DE 2.03(5)(a)1. 1. An application for renewal on a form prescribed by the department.
DE 2.03(5)(a)2. 2. The fee as determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a), Stats., plus the applicable late renewal fee authorized by s. 440.08 (3), Stats.
DE 2.03(5)(a)3. 3. Evidence satisfactory to the board that the licensee has current proficiency in cardiopulmonary resuscitation, including the use of an automated external defibrillator, achieved through instruction provided by an individual, organization, or institution of higher education approved by the department of health services.
DE 2.03(5)(a)4. 4. Except as provided under sub. (4), evidence satisfactory to the board of successful completion of the continuing education credit hours required under ch. DE 13.
DE 2.03(5)(b) (b) This paragraph does not apply to dentists or dental hygienists who have unmet disciplinary requirements. A dentist or dental hygienist renewing the license after 5 years shall do all of the following:
DE 2.03(5)(b)1. 1. Pay the renewal fee as determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a), Stats., and the late renewal fee.
DE 2.03(5)(b)2. 2. Submit evidence satisfactory to the board the applicant has current proficiency in cardiopulmonary resuscitation, including the use of an automated external defibrillator achieved through instruction provided by an individual, organization, or institution of higher education approved by the Wisconsin department of health services.
DE 2.03(5)(b)3. 3. Provide evidence of one of the following:
DE 2.03(5)(b)3.a. a. An active license in good standing in another state.
DE 2.03(5)(b)3.b. b. If a dentist, successful completion of a board approved testing service examination within one year of renewal.
DE 2.03(5)(b)3.c. c. If a dental hygienist, successful completion of a board approved testing service examination within one year of renewal.
DE 2.03(5)(b)3.d. d. Completion of a one year general practice residency within one year of renewal.
DE 2.03(5)(b)3.e. e. Completion of a clinical education program approved by the board.
DE 2.03(6) (6)Reinstatement. A dentist or dental hygienist who has unmet disciplinary requirements and failed to renew the license within 5 years or whose license has been denied at renewal, surrendered or revoked may apply to have the license reinstated following submission of all of the following:
DE 2.03(6)(a) (a) Evidence of completion of the requirements in sub. (5) (b) if the license has not been active within 5 years.
DE 2.03(6)(b) (b) Evidence of completion of the disciplinary requirements, if applicable.
DE 2.03(6)(c) (c) Evidence of rehabilitation or change in circumstances that indicates reinstatement to practice will not constitute a danger to the public or a patient.
DE 2.03 History History: Cr. Register, February, 1982, No. 314, eff. 3-1-82; correction in (6) (b) made under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats., Register, April, 1986, No. 364; am. (1) (intro.), (b), (2), (5) (a) (intro.), 2., (b), (6) (intro.) and (7), r. (4), Register, June, 1995, No. 474, eff. 7-1-95; am. (1) (intro.), (2), Register, June, 1996, No. 486, eff. 7-1-96; am. (1) (b), (5) (a) 2. and (6) (b), Register, April, 1999, No. 520, eff. 5-1-99; CR 11-033: am. (1) (intro.), (a), cr. (1) (d), am. (2), (3), cr. (4), am. (5) (a) (intro.), 1., cr. (5) (a) 4. Register July 2012 No. 679, eff. 8-1-12.; CR 11-035: am. (1) (intro.), (a), cr. (1) (c), am. (5) (a) (intro.), 1., cr. (5) (a) 3. Register July 2012 No. 679, eff. 8-1-12; CR 17-068: am. (5) (title), (a) 2., r. and recr. (5) (b), (6), r. (7) Register August 2019 No. 764, eff. 9-1-19; correction in (5) (b) 1., (6) (a) made under s. 35.17, Stats., Register August 2019 No. 764.
DE 2.04 DE 2.04 Endorsement.
DE 2.04(1)(1)The board may grant a license as a dentist to an applicant who holds a valid license in good standing issued by the proper authorities of any other jurisdiction of the United States or Canada upon payment of the fee as determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a), Stats., and submission of evidence satisfactory to the board that all of the following conditions are met:
DE 2.04(1)(a) (a) The applicant has graduated from an accredited school of dentistry or the applicant has graduated from a foreign dental school and holds one of the following:
DE 2.04(1)(a)1. 1. A DDS or DMD degree from an accredited dental school.
DE 2.04(1)(a)2. 2. A dental diploma, degree or certificate from a full-time, undergraduate supplemental dental education program of at least 2 academic years at an accredited dental school. The program shall provide didactic and clinical education to the level of a DDS or DMD degree.
DE 2.04(1)(b) (b) The applicant submits a certificate from each jurisdiction in which the applicant is or has ever been licensed stating that no disciplinary action is pending against the applicant or the license, and detailing all discipline, if any, which has ever been imposed against the applicant or the license.
DE 2.04(1)(e) (e) The applicant has successfully completed a licensing examination that, in the board's judgment, is substantially equivalent to an examination administered by a board-approved testing service, or, alternatively, has successfully completed a board specialty certification examination in a dental specialty recognized by the American Dental Association.
DE 2.04(1)(f) (f) The applicant has successfully completed a jurisprudence examination on the provisions of Wisconsin statutes and administrative rules relating to dentistry and dental hygiene.
DE 2.04(1)(g) (g) The applicant possesses a current certificate of current proficiency in cardiopulmonary resuscitation, including the use of an automated external defibrillator, achieved through instruction provided by an individual, organization, or institution of higher education approved by the Wisconsin department of health services.
DE 2.04(1)(h) (h) The applicant has disclosed all discipline which has ever been taken against the applicant in any jurisdiction shown in reports from the national practitioner data bank and the American Association of Dental Boards.
DE 2.04(1)(i) (i) The applicant has presented satisfactory responses during any personal interview with the board which may be required to resolve conflicts between the licensing standards and the applicant's application.
DE 2.04(2) (2)The board may grant a license as a dental hygienist to an applicant who holds a license in good standing issued by the proper authorities of any other jurisdiction of the United States or Canada upon payment of the fee as determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a), Stats., and submission of evidence satisfactory to the board that all of the following conditions are met:
DE 2.04(2)(a) (a) The applicant has graduated from a school of dental hygiene accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association.
DE 2.04(2)(b) (b) The applicant submits a license from each jurisdiction in which the applicant is or has ever been licensed stating that no disciplinary action is pending against the applicant or the license, and detailing all discipline, if any, which has ever been imposed against the applicant or the license.
DE 2.04(2)(d) (d) The applicant has successfully completed an examination that, in the board's judgment, is substantially equivalent to an examination administered by a board approved testing service.
DE 2.04(2)(e) (e) The applicant has successfully completed a jurisprudence examination on the provisions of Wisconsin statutes and administrative rules relating to dentistry and dental hygiene.
DE 2.04(2)(g) (g) The applicant possesses a current certificate of proficiency in cardiopulmonary resuscitation from a course provider approved by the Wisconsin department of health services.
DE 2.04(2)(h) (h) The applicant has disclosed all discipline which has ever been taken against the applicant in any jurisdiction shown in reports from the national practitioner data bank and the American Association of Dental Boards.
DE 2.04(2)(i) (i) The applicant has presented satisfactory responses during any personal interview with the board which may be required to resolve conflicts between the licensing standards and the applicant's application.
DE 2.04 History History: Cr. Register, February, 1982, No. 314, eff. 3-1-82; renum. (1) (c) and (d), (2) (c) and (d) to be (1) (d) and (f), (2) (d) and (e) and am. (1) (f), (2) (d) and (e), am. (1) (e), cr. (1) (c) and (2) (c), Register, August, 1987, No. 380, 9-1-87; am. (1) and (2), cr. (1) (g) to (i) and (2) (f) to (i), Register, August, 1991, No. 428, eff. 9-1-91; emerg. r. and recr. (1) (ed), eff. 3-18-97; am. (1) (intro.), (c) (e), (2) (intro.), (c) and (d), Register, April, 1999, No. 520, eff. 5-1-99; CR 09-007: am. (1) (a) Register October 2009 No. 646, eff. 11-1-09; CR 11-034: am. (1) (e) Register July 2012 No. 679, eff. 8-1-12; CR 11-035: am. (1) (g), (h), (2) (a), (g), (h) Register July 2012 No. 679, eff. 8-1-12; CR 17-068: am. (1) (intro.), r. and recr. (1) (a), r. (1) (c), (d), am. (1) (e), (g), (2) (intro.), r. (2) (c), am. (2) (d), r. (2) (f) Register August 2019 No. 764, eff. 9-1-19; correction in (1) (a) 2., (e), (2) (d) made under s. 35.17, Stats., Register August 2019 No. 764.
DE 2.05 DE 2.05 Examination passing score. The score required to pass an examination shall be the recommended passing score of the examination provider.
DE 2.05 History History: Cr. Register, April, 1999, No. 520, eff. 5-1-99; CR 17-068: am. Register August 2019 No. 764, eff. 9-1-19.
Loading...
Loading...
Published under s. 35.93, Stats. Updated on the first day of each month. Entire code is always current. The Register date on each page is the date the chapter was last published.