This is the preview version of the Wisconsin State Legislature site.
Please see http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov for the production version.
DCF 252.09(8)(a)3. 3. The vehicle is used to transport children in care.
DCF 252.09(8)(b) (b) No person may shut off a child safety alarm unless the driver first inspects the vehicle to ensure that no child is left unattended in the vehicle.
DCF 252.09(8)(c) (c) The child safety alarm shall be in good working order each time the vehicle is used for transporting children to or from a center.
DCF 252.09 Note Note: Information on the required vehicle safety alarm is available in the “child care licensing/information for providers” section of the department website at http://dcf.wisconsin.gov.
DCF 252.09 History History: Cr. Register, October, 1984, No. 346, eff. 11-1-84; correction in (1) (h) made under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 7., Stats., Register November 2008 No. 635; CR 07-102: am. (intro.), (1) (a), (e), (f) (intro.), 2., (g), (2) (a), (c), (3) (a) to (c), (f), (4) (b) and (e), r. (1) (b), (2) (b) 1. and 2., renum. (1) (c), (h), (2) (b) (intro.) and (3) (g) to be (1) (c) 1., (h) (intro.), (2) (b) and (3) (g) 1. and am., cr. (1) (c) 2., (h) 1. to 3., (3) (g) 2. and 3., r. and recr. (4) (f), (h) and (i) Register December 2008 No. 636, eff. 1-1-09; CR 14-028: cr. (5) Register July 2016 No. 727, eff. 8-1-16; EmR1918: emerg. r. and recr., eff. 1-30-19; CR 19-089: r. and recr. Register March 2020 No. 771, eff. 4-1-20; correction in (4) (b) (intro.), 5., (7) (a) made under s. 35.17, Stats., Register March 2020 No. 771.
DCF 252.40 DCF 252.40Scope. Sections DCF 252.40 to 252.44 apply to all licensed day camps for children.
DCF 252.40 History History: Cr. Register, October, 1984, No. 346, eff. 11-1-84; correction made under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 7., Stats., Register November 2008 No. 635.
DCF 252.41 DCF 252.41Operational requirements for day camps.
DCF 252.41(1)(1)Administration. The licensee shall do all of the following:
DCF 252.41(1)(a) (a) Comply with all laws governing the camp and its operation.
DCF 252.41(1)(b) (b) Comply with all requirements in this chapter.
DCF 252.41(1)(bm) (bm) Ensure that all information provided to the department is current and accurate.
DCF 252.41(1)(br) (br) Comply with all conditions placed on the license.
DCF 252.41(1)(c) (c) Designate, in writing, as part of the application under s. DCF 252.05 (1), a Wisconsin resident who is responsible on behalf of the licensee for ensuring compliance with all requirements in this chapter, if the licensee resides in another state.
DCF 252.41(1)(d) (d) Meet, upon request, with the licensing representative on matters pertaining to licensing.
DCF 252.41(1)(e) (e) Provide documentation of insurance coverage by the submission of a certificate of insurance reflecting current dates of coverage for:
DCF 252.41(1)(e)1. 1. General liability insurance which provides coverage with limits of not less than $25,000 for each person and total limits of $75,000 for each occurrence.
DCF 252.41(1)(e)2. 2. Vehicle liability insurance, when transportation is provided, with minimums no less than those specified in s. 121.53, Stats.
DCF 252.41(1)(e)3. 3. Non-owned vehicle liability insurance when transportation is provided by other than camp-owned vehicles.
DCF 252.41(1)(e)4. 4. Specific adventure-based activities identified in s. DCF 252.44 (13) when offered as part of the camp program.
DCF 252.41(1)(f) (f) Develop, submit to the department, and implement written policies and procedures consistent with this chapter on all of the following subjects:
DCF 252.41(1)(f)1. 1. Discharge of enrolled children.
DCF 252.41(1)(f)2. 2. Fee payments and refunds.
DCF 252.41(1)(f)3. 3. Personnel policies including job descriptions, hours of work, lunch and break times, holidays, vacations, sick leaves, leaves of absence, probationary periods, performance evaluations, grievance procedures and the disciplinary process. The personnel policy shall also contain a procedure requiring staff to notify the licensee and the licensee to notify the department as soon as possible but no later than the next working day when any of the following occurs:
DCF 252.41(1)(f)3.a. a. The employee has been convicted of a crime.
DCF 252.41(1)(f)3.b. b. The employee has been or is being investigated by any governmental agency for any other act, offense, or omission, including an investigation related to the abuse or neglect or threat of abuse or neglect, to a child or other client, or an investigation related to misappropriation of a client's property.
DCF 252.41(1)(f)3.c. c. The employee has a governmental finding substantiated against them of abuse or neglect of a child or adult or of misappropriation of a client's property.
DCF 252.41(1)(f)3.d. d. When a professional license held by a provider has been denied, revoked, restricted or otherwise limited.
DCF 252.41(1)(f)4. 4. Admission, including a procedure to contact a parent if a child is absent from the camp without prior notification from the parent.
DCF 252.41(1)(f)5. 5. Program objectives and a description of activities designed to carry out the program objectives.
DCF 252.41(1)(f)6. 6. Transportation, if children may be transported to and from the camp or for field trips. The policy shall include a procedure to ensure that no child has been left unattended in a vehicle.
DCF 252.41(1)(f)7. 7. Plans to be followed in the event of a fire, tornado, missing child, or other emergency. If an open-sided shelter is used as a base camp, the plan shall identify the location of a designated tornado shelter and the procedure to ensure the camp receives information about tornado watches or warnings. The plan shall include a procedure to ensure that children reach the tornado shelter in a timely fashion.
DCF 252.41(1)(f)8. 8. The plan for supervising children during water activities and waterfront activities, including emergency procedures to be carried out if a child participating in water activities cannot be found.
DCF 252.41(1)(f)9. 9. The plan for providing pre-camp training to staff.
DCF 252.41(1)(f)10. 10. Child guidance, including ways to manage crying, fussing, or distraught children.
DCF 252.41(1)(f)11. 11. Health, including procedures to be followed when there is contact with animals.
DCF 252.41(1)(f)12. 12. Nutrition.
DCF 252.41(1)(i) (i) Ensure that all published statements such as brochures and publicity are accurate.
DCF 252.41(1)(k) (k) Post the day camp license at the base camp in an area visible to parents and the public.
DCF 252.41(1)(L)1.1. Post next to the day camp license all of the following:
DCF 252.41(1)(L)1.a. a. The current licensing statement of compliance or a noncompliance statement and correction plan, including rule violations the department has not verified as corrected and in compliance.
DCF 252.41(1)(L)1.b. b. Any notice from the department regarding rule violations, such as a warning letter or enforcement action.
DCF 252.41(1)(L)1.c. c. Any stipulations, conditions, temporary closures, exceptions, or exemptions that affect the license.
DCF 252.41(1)(L)2. 2. All items posted as required under this paragraph shall be visible to parents.
DCF 252.41(1)(m) (m) Ensure that any action, by commission or omission, or any condition or occurrence relating to the operation or maintenance of the day camp does not adversely affect the health, safety or welfare of any child under the care of the licensee.
DCF 252.41(1)(n) (n) Submit to the department by the department's next business day a completed background check request form for any of the following:
DCF 252.41(1)(n)1. 1. There is a change in the board president or chairperson.
DCF 252.41(1)(n)2. 2. A corporation or limited liability company designates a new person to be subject to the child care background check.
DCF 252.41(1)(n)3. 3. A household member turns 18 years of age, unless the household member has previously submitted a background check request form.
DCF 252.41(1)(n)4. 4. A household member turns 10 years of age.
DCF 252.41(1)(o) (o) Submit to the department a completed background check request form for each potential household member prior to the date on which the individual becomes a household member, unless the person is less than 10 years of age.
DCF 252.41(1)(p) (p) Submit a current delegation of administrative authority signed by the licensee that describes the organizational structure of the camp. The delegation of administrative authority shall identify by position or name those persons that will be on the premises and in charge of the camp for all hours of operation.
DCF 252.41(2) (2) Reports. The licensee shall report all of the following to the department via fax, email, or letter or via telephone with a follow-up written report to the appropriate regional licensing office within 5 business days:
DCF 252.41(2)(a) (a) Any accident or incident that occurs while the child is in the care of the camp that results in professional medical evaluation, within 24 hours of the licensee becoming aware of the medical evaluation.
DCF 252.41 Note Note: The licensee may use either the department's form, Incident Report – Regulated Child Care, or the licensee's own form to report accidents. Information on how to obtain forms is available from the department's website, http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or any regional licensing office in Appendix A.
DCF 252.41(2)(am) (am) Any death of a child in care, within 24 hours after the death.
DCF 252.41(2)(ar) (ar) Any injury caused by an animal to a child in care, within 24 hours after the incident.
DCF 252.41(2)(b) (b) Any damage to the base camp that may affect compliance with this chapter, or any incident at the base camp that results in the loss of utility services, within 24 hours after the occurrence.
DCF 252.41(2)(d) (d) A change of the day camp director, within 7 days after the change.
DCF 252.41(2)(e) (e) Statistical data required by the department on forms provided by the department.
DCF 252.41(2)(f) (f) Any known convictions, pending charges or other offenses of the licensee, day camp employees or other persons subject to a caregiver background check which could potentially relate to the care of children at the camp or the activities of the camp by the department's next business day.
DCF 252.41(2)(g) (g) Any suspected abuse or neglect of a child by a staff member that was reported under s. DCF 252.07 (3) (a), including any incident that results in a child being forcefully shaken or thrown against a surface, hard or soft, by a staff member during the child's hours of attendance, within 24 hours after the occurrence.
DCF 252.41(2)(gm) (gm) Any prohibited actions specified in s. DCF 252.44 (2) (c) by a staff member to a child during the child's hours of attendance, within 24 hours after the incident.
DCF 252.41(2)(h) (h) Any incident involving law enforcement within 24 hours after the occurrence in which any of the following occurs:
DCF 252.41(2)(h)1. 1. A licensee, a household member or an employee of the camp is involved in an incident that causes, or threatens to cause, physical or serious emotional harm to an individual, including a child in the care of the camp.
DCF 252.41(2)(h)2. 2. A person responsible for transporting children is involved in a traffic-related incident.
DCF 252.41(2)(i) (i) Any change in room usage in the base camp, such as using rooms or areas not previously approved for use by children at least 20 working days prior to the change. Changes in room usage shall be approved by the department prior to the change.
DCF 252.41(2)(j) (j) Any incident related to a child who leaves the premises of the camp without the knowledge of a counselor or any incident which results in a counselor not knowing the whereabouts of a child in attendance at the camp within 24 hours after the occurrence.
DCF 252.41(2)(k) (k) If requested by the department, a plan of correction for cited violations of this chapter or ch. 48, Stats., in a format specified by the department. The department shall receive the plan of correction by the date the department specifies and the plan shall be approved by the department licensing representative.
DCF 252.41 Note Note: The licensing representative will notify the licensee if a plan of correction is required and provide the plan of correction format with the notification.
DCF 252.41(2)(L) (L) Any construction or remodeling on the premises that has the potential to affect an area accessible to children or a condition of the license. Notification shall be in writing before the construction or remodeling begins.
DCF 252.41 Note Note: It is recommended that the licensee check with the local municipality to determine whether a building permit is required before beginning any construction or remodeling.
DCF 252.41 Note Note: Alterations, additions, or changes of use to commercial buildings may require submittal of plans to and approval by the Department of Safety and Professional Services or its agent before commencing construction. It is recommended that an architect or engineer be consulted prior to the beginning of any construction or remodeling to determine whether plans must be submitted.
DCF 252.41(2)(m) (m) Any confirmed case of a communicable disease reportable under ch. DHS 145 in a child enrolled at the day camp or any person in contact with children at the camp, within 24 hours after the camp is notified of the diagnosis. The licensee shall also notify the local health department within 24 hours after the camp is notified of the diagnosis.
DCF 252.41(2)(n) (n) Any change in meal preparation arrangements, at least 5 calendar days prior to the change. Camps adding meal preparation after an initial license has been issued shall document compliance with building codes related to kitchens before beginning to prepare meals.
DCF 252.41(2)(o) (o) Any change in transportation services, at least 5 calendar days prior to the change.
DCF 252.41(4) (4) Children's records files.
DCF 252.41(4)(a)(a) The licensee shall create and maintain at the camp a current written record for each child before the child's first day of attendance or subsequent re-enrollment. The licensee shall make the record available to the licensing representative. Each child's file shall include all of the following:
DCF 252.41(4)(a)1. 1. Enrollment information consisting of all of the following:
DCF 252.41(4)(a)1.a. a. The name and birthdate of the child.
DCF 252.41(4)(a)1.b. b. Names and contact information for the child's parents.
DCF 252.41(4)(a)1.c. c. The child's home address and telephone number.
DCF 252.41(4)(a)1.d. d. Address and telephone number where a parent can be reached while the child is in care.
DCF 252.41(4)(a)1.e. e. Name, address, telephone number and relationship to the child of the person to be notified in an emergency, when a parent cannot be reach immediately.
DCF 252.41(4)(a)1.f. f. Names, address and telephone number of the physician or medical facility caring for the child.
DCF 252.41(4)(a)1.g. g. Names, addresses and telephone numbers of persons authorized to pick-up the child or to accept the child who is dropped off.
DCF 252.41(4)(a)1.h. h. Dates of camp session in which the child is enrolled.
DCF 252.41(4)(a)2. 2. Consent from the parent for emergency medical care or treatment;
Loading...
Loading...
Published under s. 35.93, Stats. Updated on the first day of each month. Entire code is always current. The Register date on each page is the date the chapter was last published.