This is the preview version of the Wisconsin State Legislature site.
Please see http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov for the production version.
Register December 2015 No. 720
Chapter DCF 82
INTAKE WORKER TRAINING
DCF 82.01   Authority and purpose.
DCF 82.02   Applicability.
DCF 82.03   Definitions.
DCF 82.04   Intake training.
DCF 82.05   Monitoring of compliance with the training requirement.
DCF 82.06   Review and approval of training proposals.
DCF 82.07   Examination.
DCF 82.08   Participant evaluation of training.
Ch. DCF 82 Note Note: Chapter DOC 399 was renumbered chapter DCF 82 under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 1., Stats., Register December 2015 No. 720.
DCF 82.01 DCF 82.01 Authority and purpose. This chapter is promulgated under the authority of s. 938.06 (1) (am) and (2) (b), Stats., and 2015 Wisconsin Act 55, section 9108 (1) (h), to ensure that all intake workers receive basic training appropriate to their functions and responsibilities.
DCF 82.01 History History: Cr. Register, June, 2000, No. 534, eff. 7-1-00; correction made under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 7., Stats., Register December 2015 No. 720.
DCF 82.02 DCF 82.02 Applicability. This chapter applies to the department, intake workers who began employment after July 1, 1989, county sheriff's department employees who provide intake services and began employment after July 1, 1989 and to juvenile courts and county departments that provide intake services under ss. 48.06 and 938.06, Stats.
DCF 82.02 History History: Cr. Register, June, 2000, No. 534, eff. 7-1-00.
DCF 82.03 DCF 82.03 Definitions. In this chapter:
DCF 82.03(1) (1) “Administrator" means the administrator of the department's division of safety and permanence or that person's designee.
DCF 82.03(2) (2) “Basic intake training" means 30 hours of department approved training required under s. 938.06 (1) (am) and (2) (b), Stats., which includes 90 minutes for a test at the conclusion of the instruction and may include up to 4 hours of child abuse and neglect training approved by the department.
DCF 82.03(3) (3) “County department" has the meaning given in s. 938.02 (2g), Stats.
DCF 82.03(4) (4) “Department" means the department of children and families.
DCF 82.03(5) (5) “Employing agency" means a juvenile court, a county department or a county sheriff's department that employs one or more intake workers.
DCF 82.03(6) (6) “Juvenile court" means the court assigned to exercise jurisdiction under ch. 938, Stats.
DCF 82.03(7) (7) “Intake worker" means an employee of a juvenile court, a county department or the sheriff's department who performs juvenile court intake functions as specified in s. 938.067, Stats.
DCF 82.03(8) (8) “Successfully completed" means was present for 30 hours of basic intake training and gave correct answers to 70% or more of the test questions.
DCF 82.03 History History: Cr. Register, June, 2000, No. 534, eff. 7-1-00; correction in (1) made under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 7. and correction in (4) made under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 6., Stats., Register December 2015 No. 720.
DCF 82.04 DCF 82.04 Intake training.
DCF 82.04(1)(1) Requirement. Except as provided in sub. (2), every intake worker hired on or after July 1, 1989 shall successfully complete 30 hours of department approved basic intake training within the first 6 months after beginning work as an intake worker.
DCF 82.04(2) (2)Exemption. A person hired on or after July 1, 1989 to perform intake service responsibilities shall be exempt from the training requirement under sub. (1) if either of the following apply:
DCF 82.04(2)(a) (a) The person successfully completed basic intake training while employed by another agency as an intake worker.
DCF 82.04(2)(b) (b) The person was employed as an intake worker in Wisconsin prior to May 15, 1980.
DCF 82.04 History History: Cr. Register, June, 2000, No. 534, eff. 7-1-00.
DCF 82.05 DCF 82.05 Monitoring of compliance with the training requirement.
DCF 82.05(1)(1) Notification of appointment or assignment. Within 20 working days after the appointment of an intake worker or the assignment of intake responsibilities to an employee, the employing agency shall notify the department in writing of the appointment or assignment. The notification shall include all of the following:
DCF 82.05(1)(a) (a) The name of the new employee or newly assigned employee.
DCF 82.05(1)(b) (b) The starting date of the new employee or newly assigned employee.
DCF 82.05(2) (2)Notification of non-compliance. If an intake worker does not successfully complete the required basic intake training within the first 6 months after the person begins work, the department shall advise the following persons, as appropriate, in writing of the failure to complete:
DCF 82.05(2)(a) (a) The chief juvenile court judge of the county where the intake worker is employed.
DCF 82.05(2)(b) (b) The director of the county department, if the intake worker is an employee of that department.
DCF 82.05(2)(c) (c) The district attorney or corporation counsel, as appropriate.
DCF 82.05(2)(d) (d) The sheriff of the county or the head of the agency which administers the county's juvenile detention facility.
DCF 82.05(2)(e) (e) The intake worker's supervisor or the chief intake worker.
DCF 82.05 History History: Cr. Register, June, 2000, No. 534, eff. 7-1-00.
DCF 82.06 DCF 82.06 Review and approval of training proposals.
DCF 82.06(1)(1) Submission of training proposal. Any individual, agency or organization intending to provide basic intake training to intake workers shall submit a proposal to the department for all 30 hours of training, including a 90 minute test, at least 60 days before the training is to begin. The proposal shall include all of the following:
DCF 82.06(1)(a) (a) A description of the organization and content of the training and a statement describing the educational objectives of the training. The content of the training shall include training regarding statutes specified by the department.
DCF 82.06(1)(b) (b) A list of trainers, including documentation of their knowledge of the subject and ability to teach it.
DCF 82.06(1)(c) (c) An agreement to have the test administered as required under s. DCF 82.07.
DCF 82.06(1)(d) (d) A description of procedures to be used to verify attendance at the training sessions.
DCF 82.06(1)(e) (e) Identification of any tuition or other fees to be charged to participants.
DCF 82.06(1)(f) (f) The maximum number of participants that can be accommodated.
DCF 82.06(1)(g) (g) The specific location or locations at which the training will take place.
DCF 82.06(1)(h) (h) A list of dates on which the training will be given.
DCF 82.06(2) (2)Evaluation and approval of training proposal.
DCF 82.06(2)(a)1.1. The department shall evaluate the training proposal for completeness, timeliness and adequacy under sub. (1).
DCF 82.06(2)(a)2. 2. The department shall notify the applicant in writing of approval or denial within 20 days after receipt of the proposal. If the proposal is not approved, the department shall include in the notice the reason for not approving the proposal.
DCF 82.06(2)(b) (b) A county employee may not provide basic intake training for employees of that county.
DCF 82.06(3) (3)Appeal of an adverse decision.
DCF 82.06(3)(a)(a) An applicant whose training proposal is denied may appeal the decision to the administrator. An appeal shall be submitted in writing to the administrator within 10 working days after receipt of the notice of denial and shall include information that responds to the reasons given by the department to deny the proposed training.
DCF 82.06(3)(b) (b) The administrator shall either affirm or overturn the decision to deny approval of the proposal within 10 working days after receiving the appeal. The administrator's decision shall be final.
DCF 82.06(4) (4)Duration of approval. A decision to approve a proposal includes approval of all training dates included in the proposal. The effective period for the approval is 12 months from the date of notification of approval. The approved training shall be conducted during the 12-month period unless a change is made to the training proposal which is approved by the department. If the department approves a change, the period of approval shall extend to 12 months from the date that the department notifies the applicant that the amended proposal is approved.
DCF 82.06 History History: Cr. Register, June, 2000, No. 534, eff. 7-1-00; correction in (1) (c) made under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 7., Stats., Register December 2015 No. 720.
DCF 82.07 DCF 82.07 Examination.
DCF 82.07(1)(1) Test questions. The department shall develop a pool of questions related to the content of the basic intake training, including questions designed to measure knowledge of relevant statutes. The department shall select questions from the pool of questions in creating a test that intake workers shall take at the conclusion of the training.
DCF 82.07(2) (2)Administration of the test. An employee of the department shall administer a test at the end of the training using all of the following procedures:
DCF 82.07(2)(a) (a) The test may not be distributed to training participants until the time for testing at the end of the training.
Loading...
Loading...
Published under s. 35.93, Stats. Updated on the first day of each month. Entire code is always current. The Register date on each page is the date the chapter was last published.