This is the preview version of the Wisconsin State Legislature site.
Please see http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov for the production version.
Register August 2018 No. 752
Chapter Chir 3
LICENSURE
Chir 3.02   License renewal.
Chir 3.03   Licensure by endorsement.
Chir 3.035   Temporary chiropractic permits.
Chir 3.04   Display of license.
Chir 3.05   Change of name and address.
Chir 3.06   Professional title.
Chir 3.07   Professional liability insurance.
Chir 3.08   Limited liability entities.
Chir 3.09   Cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification.
Ch. Chir 3 Note Note: Chapter Chir 3 as it existed on December 31, 1984 was repealed and a new chapter Chir 3 was created effective January 1, 1985.
Chir 3.02 Chir 3.02 License renewal.
Chir 3.02(1)(1)Requirements for renewal. To renew and obtain a new license a licensee shall, by December 15 of the even-numbered year following initial licensure and every 2 years thereafter, file with the department all of the following:
Chir 3.02(1)(a) (a) An application for renewal on a form prescribed by the department.
Chir 3.02(1)(b) (b) The fee required under s. 440.08 (2) (a), Stats.
Chir 3.02(1)(c) (c) Verification that the licensee has, during the biennial period immediately preceding application, completed the continuing education requirement specified in s. 446.02 (1) (b), Stats., except that the requirement may be waived if the licensee was not practicing in Wisconsin during that period. Licensees shall retain original documents showing attendance at programs for at least 4 years from the time that credit is claimed for the continuing education program. Licensees shall deliver their original documents or copies to the board upon request.
Chir 3.02(1)(d) (d) Evidence that the licensee is certified in cardiopulmonary resuscitation or has been granted a waiver of the requirement by the board.
Chir 3.02(1)(e) (e) Evidence that the applicant has current proficiency in the use of an automated external defibrillator.
Chir 3.02(2) (2)Requirements for late renewal. A licensee who fails to meet the requirements in sub. (1) by the renewal date shall cease and desist from practice as a chiropractor until all requirements for renewal are met. Within 5 years following the renewal date, a licensee may renew and obtain a new license by filing with the department the materials specified in sub. (1) and a late renewal fee specified in s. 440.08 (3) (a), Stats.
Chir 3.02(3) (3)Requirements for reinstatement.
Chir 3.02(3)(a) (a) Reinstatement following failure to renew. A licensee who fails to renew within 5 years of the renewal date may be reinstated by meeting requirements in sub. (2), completing continuing education requirements for the previous biennium, and may be required to take an examination prescribed by the board.
Chir 3.02(3)(b) (b) Reinstatement following disciplinary action. An applicant for reinstatement of license following disciplinary action shall meet requirements in sub. (1) and may be required to successfully complete an examination as the board prescribes.
Chir 3.02 History History: Cr. Register, December, 1984, No. 348, eff. 1-1-85; am. (1) (intro), (a), (b), (2) and (3) (a), Register, January, 1993, No. 445, eff. 2-1-93; am. (1) (b), Register, September, 1999, No. 525, eff. 10-1-99; correction in (2) made under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats; cr. (1) (d), Register, June, 2001, No. 546, eff. 7-1-01; CR 03-082: am. (1) (intro.), (c), (d), (2) and (3) (a) Register July 2004 No. 583, eff. 8-1-04; CR 08-093: cr. (1) (e) Register October 2009 No. 646, eff. 11-1-09; 2017 Wis. Act 180: am. (1) (intro.) Register April 2018 No. 748, eff. 5-1-18; CR 17-058: am. (1) (intro.) Register August 2018 No. 752, eff. 9-1-18.
Chir 3.03 Chir 3.03 Licensure by endorsement.
Chir 3.03(1)(1)Qualifications. The board shall grant a license to a chiropractor who holds a valid license by the proper authorities of any other state or country provided the applicant:
Chir 3.03(1)(a) (a) Does not have an arrest or conviction record subject to ss. 111.321, 111.322 and 111.335, Stats.
Chir 3.03(1)(b) (b) Has graduated from a college of chiropractic accredited by the Council on Chiropractic Education (CCE) or by an agency approved by the United States Office of Education or its successor, or from a foreign school determined to be equivalent to an accredited college of chiropractic by the CCE or another approved accredited agency.
Chir 3.03(1)(c)1.1. If the applicant first applied for a license to practice chiropractic in any state or country before July 1, 1960, the applicant must have graduated from a reputable college of chiropractic.
Chir 3.03(1)(c)2. 2. If the applicant first applied for a license to practice chiropractic in any state or country between July 1, 1960 and June 30, 1998, the applicant must have completed at least a minimum of 60 credits in post-secondary academic education at a college or university accredited by the Council on Chiropractic Education (CCE) or by an agency approved by the United States Office of Education or its successor, or from a foreign school determined to be equivalent to an accredited college of chiropractic by the CCE or another approved accrediting agency.
Chir 3.03(1)(c)3. 3. If the applicant first applied for a license to practice chiropractic in any state or country on or after July 1, 1998, the applicant must have graduated with a baccalaureate degree from a college or university accredited by the Council on Chiropractic Education (CCE) or by an agency approved by the United States Office of Education or its successor, or from a foreign school determined to be equivalent to an accredited college of chiropractic by the CCE or another approved accrediting agency.
Chir 3.03 Note Note: Accrediting bodies nationally recognized by the secretary of the federal Department of Education include the New England Association of Schools and Colleges, the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools, the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, the Northwest Association of Schools and Colleges, the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, and the Western Association of Schools and Colleges.
Chir 3.03(1)(d) (d) Has been engaged in clinical chiropractic case management at least 24 hours per week in one or more jurisdictions in which the applicant has a current license for at least 3 of the 5 years immediately preceding application in Wisconsin.
Chir 3.03(1)(e) (e) Has successfully completed a practical examination demonstrating clinical competence which is acceptable to the board. The board will find acceptable any one of the following as an equivalent to a practical examination: Part IV of the examination administered by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners, the state practical exam from the endorsement candidate's jurisdiction, or the special purpose examination in chiropractic under par. (f).
Chir 3.03(1)(f) (f) Has successfully completed the special purpose examination in chiropractic, if the applicant has not completed one of the following:
Chir 3.03(1)(f)1. 1. Passed Parts I and II of the examination administered by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners and a state practical exam from the endorsement candidate's jurisdiction.
Chir 3.03(1)(f)2. 2. Passed Parts I, II, III and IV of the examination administered by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners.
Chir 3.03(1)(g) (g) Has successfully completed a state law examination on the provisions of the Wisconsin statutes and administrative rules relating to chiropractic.
Chir 3.03(1)(h) (h) Has not had a license or other credential limited, suspended or revoked by a licensing or regulatory authority in Wisconsin or other state or country.
Chir 3.03(1)(i) (i) Has current proficiency in the use of an automated external defibrillator.
Chir 3.03(2) (2)Application procedure. Each applicant shall file a completed application on forms provided by the board. The application shall include all of the following:
Chir 3.03(2)(a) (a) The signature of the applicant.
Chir 3.03(2)(b) (b) The fee required under s. 440.05 (1), Stats.
Chir 3.03(2)(d) (d) A certified transcript from a chiropractic college accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of the Council on Chiropractic Education (CCE) or by an agency approved by the United States Office of Education or its successor, or from a foreign school determined to be equivalent to an accredited college of chiropractic by the CCE or another approved accrediting agency, sent directly to the board by the college.
Chir 3.03(2)(e) (e) A certified transcript verifying that the applicant has a bachelor's degree from a college or university accredited by an accrediting body nationally recognized by the United States Department of Education, or from a foreign school determined to be equivalent to an accredited college or university by an approved accrediting agency, if the applicant first applies for any license to practice chiropractic in any jurisdiction on or after July 1, 1998. The transcript shall be sent directly to the board by the college or university.
Chir 3.03(2)(f) (f) Verification of successful completion of a practical examination, or its equivalent, demonstrating clinical competence which is accepted by the board. The verification shall be forwarded directly to the board from the state that administered the examination or from the national board.
Chir 3.03(2)(g) (g) Proof of successful completion of the special purpose examination in chiropractic or Parts I, II, III, and IV of the examination of the national board of chiropractic examiners. The proof of completion shall be forwarded directly to the board from the institution that administered the examination.
Chir 3.03(2)(h) (h) Proof of successful completion of the state law examination.
Chir 3.03(2)(i) (i) Verification of licensure status in all states in which the applicant is or has been licensed to practice chiropractic.
Chir 3.03(2)(j) (j) Information requested by the board relating to any convictions or pending charges for criminal offenses.
Chir 3.03 Note Note: Applications are available upon request from the Department of Safety and Professional Services, 1400 East Washington Avenue, P. O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708.
Chir 3.03 History History: Cr. Register, December, 1984, No. 348, eff. 1-1-85; r. and recr., Register, September, 1995, No. 477, eff. 10-1-95; am. (1) (e), (f), (2) (intro.), (b), (e) to (h), r. (2) (c), cr. (2) (k), Register, September, 1999, No. 525, eff. 10-1-99; CR 03-082: am. (1) (intro.), (b), (c), (e), (h) and (2) (d) to (g), r. (2) (k) Register July 2004 No. 583, eff. 8-1-04; CR 08-093: cr. (1) (i) Register October 2009 No. 646, eff. 11-1-09; CR 14-068: am. (1) (e), r. and recr. (1) (f), am. (2) (f) and (g) Register July 2015 No. 715, eff. 8-1-15; correction in (1) (e) made under s. 35.17, Stats., Register July 2015 No. 715.
Chir 3.035 Chir 3.035 Temporary chiropractic permits.
Chir 3.035(1)(1)The board may grant a temporary permit to practice chiropractic to any chiropractor who files an application prescribed by the board, pays the fee required under s. 440.05 (6), Stats., and meets all of the following conditions:
Chir 3.035(1)(a) (a) The applicant has a chiropractic license in good standing in another jurisdiction and has no disciplinary action pending in connection with any chiropractic license the applicant holds.
Chir 3.035(1)(b) (b) The applicant will be practicing chiropractic only as a chiropractor for participants in an athletic or performing arts event, or as an instructor in a specific chiropractic education seminar approved for continuing education by the board.
Loading...
Loading...
Published under s. 35.93, Stats. Updated on the first day of each month. Entire code is always current. The Register date on each page is the date the chapter was last published.