This is the preview version of the Wisconsin State Legislature site.
Please see for the production version.
  Date of enactment: December 3, 2021
2021 Senate Bill 466   Date of publication*: December 4, 2021
* Section 991.11, Wisconsin Statutes: Effective date of acts. “Every act and every portion of an act enacted by the legislature over the governor's partial veto which does not expressly prescribe the time when it takes effect shall take effect on the day after its date of publication."
An Act to renumber and amend 101.17; and to create 101.17 (2) of the statutes; relating to: inspection requirements for chemical recovery boilers.
The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:
110,1 Section 1. 101.17 of the statutes is renumbered 101.17 (1) and amended to read:
101.17 (1) General prohibition. No machine, mechanical device, or steam boiler shall be installed or used in this state which does not fully comply with the requirements of the laws of this state enacted for the safety of employees and frequenters in places of employment and public buildings and with the orders of the department adopted and published in conformity with this subchapter. Any person violating this section subsection shall be subject to the forfeitures provided in s. 101.02 (12) and (13).
110,2 Section 2. 101.17 (2) of the statutes is created to read:
101.17 (2) Chemical recovery boiler inspections. (a) If the owner or user of a chemical recovery boiler maintains insurance coverage for the boiler and is in good standing with the insurer that provides the coverage, no periodic inspection, including an internal inspection, of the boiler or any of its components that requires taking the boiler out of service may be required more frequently than once every 24 months.
(b) If the owner or user of a chemical recovery boiler applies to the department for an exemption from a periodic inspection requirement, or an extension of the period between inspections that is required, and the application is made at least 120 days before the expiration of the inspection period that applies to the boiler, the department shall take final action on the application at least 90 days before the expiration of that inspection period.