This is the preview version of the Wisconsin State Legislature site.
Please see for the production version.
Picture of Senator Van H. Wanggaard

Senator Van H. Wanggaard

Majority Caucus Chair

Senate District 21

(R - Racine) Madison Office:
Room 316 South
State Capitol
PO Box 7882
Madison, WI 53707
(608) 266-1832
(866) 615-7510
(608) 282-3561

Scott Kelly
Eric Barbour
Michelle Osdene
Chad Taylor


  • Born Ft. Leavenworth, Kansas, April 1952; married; 2 children, 3 grandchildren.
  • Graduate Racine Lutheran High School, 1970; Racine Police Academy; Wisconsin State Patrol Academy Accident Investigation; Northwestern University Traffic Institute-Reconstruction; U.S. Coast Guard National SAR School; attended John F. Kennedy University, California; University of Wisconsin-Extension; University of Wisconsin-Parkside; Green Bay Technical College; Milwaukee Area Technical College; Fox Valley Technical College.
  • Full-time legislator. Retired traffic investigator, Racine Police Department; adjunct instructor, Gateway Technical College and Northwestern Traffic Institute; police liaison and security, Racine Unified School District.
  • Member: National Rifle Association (life member); Racine County Line Rifle Club (board of directors); Racine Police Credit Union (former president, vice president); Major, Wisconsin Wing, Civil Air Patrol Legislative Squadron (official Auxiliary of the U.S. Air Force).
  • Former member: Racine Zoological Society (board of directors); Racine Jaycees; Racine Police Explorers (advisor); Traffic Accident Consultants, Inc. (board of directors); Association of SWAT Personnel; Racine Innovative Youth Service (board); Hostage Negotiation Team, RAPD; Racine Junior Deputy Sheriffs Association; Racine Alateen (advisor); National Association for Search and Rescue (PSAR chair).
  • Racine Police and Fire Commission, 2003—13 (chair, vice chair, secretary). Racine County Board, 2002—11.
  • Elected to Senate 2010. Reelected since 2014. Leadership positions: Majority Caucus Vice Chair 2015—2017; Majority Caucus Chair 2017, 2019.

Member of Historical Society of Wisconsin, Board of Curators and Midwest Interstate Passenger Rail Commission

2021 Authored Proposals

(first or second author, first sponsor)

2021 Co-authored Proposals

2021 Cosponsored Proposals

2021 Authored Amendments