This is the preview version of the Wisconsin State Legislature site.
Please see for the production version.
2019 - 2020 LEGISLATURE
December 6, 2019 - Introduced by Senators Smith, Carpenter, Larson, L. Taylor
and Wirch, cosponsored by Representatives Milroy, Mursau, Anderson,
Ballweg, Billings, Bowen, Brostoff, Considine, Edming, Emerson,
Hesselbein, Kulp, L. Myers, Neubauer, Ohnstad, Pope, Sargent, Sinicki,
Skowronski, Subeck, C. Taylor and Zamarripa. Referred to Committee on
Universities, Technical Colleges, Children and Families.
SB616,1,2 1An Act to create 36.27 (2) (a) 7. of the statutes; relating to: University of
2Wisconsin System nonresident tuition exemption for tribal nation members.
Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Current law exempts certain students from nonresident tuition at the
University of Wisconsin System while they continue to be residents of the state. This
bill creates a new exemption for students who are members of tribal entities
recognized by and eligible for funding and services from the federal Bureau of Indian
For further information see the state fiscal estimate, which will be printed as
an appendix to this bill.
The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:
SB616,1 3Section 1. 36.27 (2) (a) 7. of the statutes is created to read:
SB616,1,54 36.27 (2) (a) 7. Any student who is a member of a tribal entity recognized by
5and eligible for funding and services from the federal bureau of Indian affairs.
SB616,2 6Section 2. Initial applicability.
1(1) This act first applies to students who enroll for the semester or session
2following the effective date of this subsection.
SB616,2,33 (End)