(c) “Public agency" means a county, city, village, town, public inland lake 7
protection and rehabilitation district, lake sanitary district, or school district or an 8
agency of this state or of a county, city, village, town, public inland lake protection 9
and rehabilitation district, lake sanitary district, or school district.
(a) Subject to pars. (b) and (c) and sub. (3) (b), from the appropriation under 11
s. 20.285 (1) (rs), the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point shall award grants to 12
corporations and public agencies for the development, dissemination, and 13
presentation of environmental education programs. Programs shall be funded on an 14
(b) No grant may be awarded under this section unless the grant recipient 16
matches at least 25 percent of the amount of the grant. Private funds and in-kind 17
contributions may be applied to meet the matching requirement. Grants under this 18
section may not be used to replace funding available from other sources.
(c) No more than one-third of the total amount awarded in grants under this 20
section in any fiscal year may be awarded to state agencies.
(a) The University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point shall consult with all of the 22
following to assist in identifying needs and establishing priorities for environmental 23
education, including needs for teacher training, curriculum development and the 24
development and dissemination of curriculum materials:
1. The state superintendent of public instruction.
2. Other system institutions with expertise in the field of environmental 2
3. Conservation and environmental groups, including youth organizations and 4
nature and environmental centers.
(b) In consultation with the chancellor and faculty of the University of 6
Wisconsin-Stevens Point, the board shall promulgate rules establishing the criteria 7
and procedures for the awarding of grants under sub. (2). The University of 8
Wisconsin-Stevens Point shall use the priorities established under par. (a) for 9
awarding grants if the amount in the appropriation account under s. 20.285 (1) (rs) 10
in any fiscal year is insufficient to fund all applications for grants under this section.
In addition to making grants under this section funded from the 12
appropriation account under s. 20.285 (1) (rs), the University of Wisconsin-Stevens 13
Point shall seek private funds for the purpose of making grants under this section 14
from the appropriation under s. 20.285 (1) (ge).
36.60 (2) (a) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:
(a) 2. The board may repay, on behalf of a physician or dentist
agrees under sub. (3) to practice in a rural area, up to $100,000 in educational loans 18
obtained by the physician or dentist
from a public or private lending institution for 19
education in an accredited school of medicine or dentistry
or for postgraduate 20
medical or dental
36.60 (4m) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:
36.60 (4m) Loan repayment; rural physicians and dentists.
(intro.) If a 23
physician or dentist
agrees under sub. (3) to practice in a rural area, principal and 24
interest due on the loan, exclusive of any penalties, may be repaid by the board at 25
the following rate:
36.61 (1) (ak) of the statutes is created to read:
(ak) “Dental therapist” means an individual licensed under s. 447.04 3
36.61 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
(b) “Health care provider" means a dental therapist,
dental hygienist, 6
physician assistant, nurse-midwife, or nurse practitioner.
36.61 (3) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
(a) The board shall enter into a written agreement with the health 9
care provider. In the agreement, the health care provider shall agree to practice at 10
least 32 clinic hours per week for 3 years in one or more eligible practice areas in this 11
state or in a rural area, except that a health care provider in the expanded loan 12
assistance program under sub. (8) who is not a dental therapist or
dental hygienist 13
may only agree to practice at a public or private nonprofit entity in a health 14
professional shortage area.
36.61 (5) (b) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:
(b) 1. The degree to which there is an extremely high need for medical 17
care in the eligible practice area, health professional shortage area, or rural area in 18
which an eligible applicant who is not a dental therapist or
dental hygienist desires 19
to practice and the degree to which there is an extremely high need for dental care 20
in the dental health shortage area or rural area in which an eligible applicant who 21
is a dental therapist or
dental hygienist desires to practice.
36.61 (8) (c) 3. of the statutes is amended to read:
(c) 3. Practice at a public or private nonprofit entity in a health 24
professional shortage area, if the health care provider is not a
dental therapist or
dental hygienist, or in a dental health shortage area, if the health care provider is 2
a dental therapist or
36.615 of the statutes is created to read:
436.615 Nurse educators. (1)
Subject to sub. (2), the Board of Regents shall 5
establish a program for providing all of the following:
(a) Fellowships to students who enroll in programs for degrees in doctor of 7
nursing practice or doctor of philosophy in nursing.
(b) Postdoctoral fellowships to recruit faculty for system nursing programs.
(c) Educational loan repayment assistance to recruit and retain faculty for 10
system nursing programs.
The program established under sub. (1) shall require individuals who 12
receive fellowships under sub. (1) (a) or (b) or assistance under sub. (1) (c) to make 13
a commitment to teach for 3 consecutive years in a system nursing program.
Costs associated with the program established under sub. (1) shall be 15
funded from the appropriation under s. 20.285 (1) (f).
38.001 (3) (e) of the statutes is amended to read:
(e) Provide education and services which address barriers created 18
by stereotyping and discriminating and assist individuals with disabilities, 19
and the handicapped or
disadvantaged to participate in the work 20
force and the full range of technical college programs and activities.
38.04 (11) (a) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:
(a) 2. In consultation with the state superintendent of public 23
instruction, the board shall establish, by rule, a uniform format for district boards 24
to use in reporting the number of pupils attending district schools under ss. 38.12
25(14) and s.
118.15 (1) (b), (cm), and (d) and in reporting pupil participation in
technical preparation programs under s. 118.34, including the number of courses 2
taken for advanced standing in the district's associate degree program
3technical college credit
38.04 (21) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
(a) The number of pupils who attended district schools under ss.
638.12 (14) and s.
118.15 (1) (b), (cm), and (d) in the previous school year.
38.04 (21) (c) of the statutes is repealed.
38.12 (14) of the statutes is repealed.
38.12 (15) of the statutes is created to read:
38.12 (15) Dual enrollment program.
(a) In this subsection, “transcripted 11
credit” means that the technical college in which a high school student is enrolled 12
under this subsection awards postsecondary credit for successful course completion 13
and issues a transcript from the technical college documenting successful completion 14
of the course and the credits awarded for the course, if such a transcript is requested.
(b) Each district board shall establish policies and implement a program under 16
which students attending high school in this state and residing in the district are 17
admitted to the technical colleges of the district as nondegree students and may 18
enroll in courses of instruction offered for transcripted credit at any such technical 19
college if all of the following apply:
1. The student meets the requirements and prerequisites of the course.
2. There is space available in the course.
(c) In establishing the policies and implementing the program under par. (b), 23
the district board shall consult with the department of public instruction and 24
coordinate with the school districts and the governing bodies of private schools where 25
the high school students are enrolled.
(d) 1. A public school student who intends to enroll in a technical college under 2
this subsection shall notify the school board of the school district in which he or she 3
is enrolled and a student attending a private school who intends to enroll in a 4
technical college under this subsection shall notify the governing body of the private 5
school he or she attends of that intention no later than March 1 if the student intends 6
to enroll in the fall semester, and no later than October 1 if the student intends to 7
enroll in the spring semester. The notice shall include the titles of the courses in 8
which the student intends to enroll and the number of credits of each course, and 9
shall specify whether the student will be taking the courses for high school credit as 10
well as postsecondary credit.
2. If the public school student specifies in the notice under subd. 1. that he or 12
she intends to take a course at a technical college for high school credit, the school 13
board shall determine whether the course satisfies any of the high school graduation 14
requirements under s. 118.33 and the number of high school credits to award the 15
student for the course, if any. If the student attending a private school specifies in 16
the notice under subd. 1. that he or she intends to take a course at a technical college 17
for high school credit, the governing body of the participating private school shall 18
determine whether the course satisfies any requirements necessary for high school 19
graduation and the number of high school credits to award the student for the course, 20
if any. In cooperation with the board and district boards, the state superintendent 21
shall develop guidelines to assist school districts and participating private schools 22
in making the determinations. The school board or governing body shall notify the 23
student of its determinations, in writing, before the beginning of the semester in 24
which the student will be enrolled. If the public school student disagrees with the 25
school board's decision regarding satisfaction of high school graduation
requirements or the number of high school credits to be awarded, the student may 2
appeal the school board's decision to the state superintendent within 30 days after 3
the decision. The state superintendent's decision shall be final and is not subject to 4
review under subch. III of ch. 227. If the student attending a participating private 5
school disagrees with any decision of a governing body under this subdivision, the 6
student may appeal the decision to the governing body within 30 days after the 7
(e) Notwithstanding s. 38.24 (1m), the district board may not charge any fees 9
to any high school student, or to the school district or private school in which the 10
student is enrolled, in connection with the student's participation in the program 11
under par. (b) or the student's enrollment in any course under this program.
(f) The district board shall implement the program under this subsection no 13
later than 30 days after the effective date of this paragraph .... [LRB inserts date]. 14
If at the time the district board implements the program under this subsection the 15
district board of the technical college in which a student is or will be enrolled has 16
already received payment of fees as provided in s. 38.12 (14) (d), 2017 stats., for the 17
first semester commencing after the effective date of this paragraph .... [LRB inserts 18
date], the district board shall refund all such fees received.
38.16 (3) (be) of the statutes is amended to read:
(be) Notwithstanding sub. (1), no district board may increase its 21
revenue in the 2014-15 school year or in any school year thereafter by a percentage 22
that exceeds 2 percent, or
the district's valuation factor, whichever is greater,
as provided in pars. (bg) and (br).
38.22 (1) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:
(intro.) Except as provided in subs. (1m) and (1s) and s. 38.12 (14) (15)
every person who is at least the age specified in s. 118.15 (1) (b) is eligible to attend 3
a technical college if the person is:
38.22 (6) (e) of the statutes is created to read:
(e) Any person who is a citizen of a country other than the United 6
States if that person meets all of the following requirements:
1. The person graduated from a high school in this state or received a 8
declaration of equivalency of high school graduation from this state.
2. The person was continuously present in this state for at least 3 years 10
following the first day of attending a high school in this state or immediately 11
preceding receipt of a declaration of equivalency of high school graduation.
3. The person enrolls in a district school and provides the district board with 13
proof that the person has filed or will file an application for a permanent resident visa 14
with U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services as soon as the person is eligible to 15
38.27 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
(a) The creation or expansion of adult high school, adult basic 18
education and English as a 2nd language courses. The board shall give priority to 19
courses serving students with disabilities or
minority, unemployed, or 20
disadvantaged or handicapped
38.28 (1m) (a) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:
(a) 1. “District aidable cost" means the annual cost of operating a 23
technical college district, including debt service charges for district bonds and 24
promissory notes for building programs or capital equipment, but excluding all 25
expenditures relating to auxiliary enterprises and community service programs, all
expenditures funded by or reimbursed with federal revenues, all receipts under ss. 2
38.12 (9) and (14)
, 38.14 (3) and (9), and 118.15 (2) (a), all receipts from grants 3
awarded under ss. 38.04 (8), (28), and (31), 38.14 (11), 38.26, 38.27, 38.31, 38.33, 4
38.38, and 38.42, all fees collected under s. 38.24, and driver education and chauffeur 5
38.38 of the statutes is amended to read:
738.38 Services for handicapped students with disabilities.
Annually the 8
board may award a grant to each district board, from the appropriation under s. 9
20.292 (1) (f), to assist in funding transitional services for
. Each district board shall contribute matching funds equal to 25 percent 11
of the amount awarded.
39.11 (16) of the statutes is created to read:
When appropriate and related to the programs of the state 14
educational radio and television network, procure or publish instructional material. 15
A reasonable handling charge may be established to cover the costs of providing this 16
39.285 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
(b) If the board determines during a fiscal year that any formula 19
approved under par. (a) during the prior fiscal year needs to be modified during the 20
fiscal year in order to expend the entire amount appropriated for grants to students 21
under s. 39.30 or 39.435, except s. 39.435 (2) or (5), in that fiscal year, the board shall
22submit may implement
the modified formula
to the joint committee on finance. If
23the cochairpersons of the committee do not notify the board that the committee has
24scheduled a meeting for the purpose of reviewing the modified formula within 14
25working days after the date of the submittal, the modified formula may be
1implemented as proposed by the board. If, within 14 working days after the date of
2the submittal, the cochairpersons of the committee notify the board that the
3committee has scheduled a meeting for the purpose of reviewing the modified
4formula, the modified formula may be implemented only upon approval of the
39.36 (title) of the statutes is amended to read:
(title) Repayment of stipends for teachers of the handicapped
39.40 (5) of the statutes is amended to read:
39.40 (5) The board may not make loans under sub. (2) after the effective date
11of this subsection .... [LRB inserts date].
The board shall administer the repayment 12
and forgiveness of loans made under sub. (2) on or before the effective date of this
13subsection .... [LRB inserts date] and under
s. 36.25 (16), 1993 stats. The board shall 14
loans made under s. 36.25 (16), 1993 stats.,
as if they had been made under 15
39.435 (2) of the statutes is renumbered 39.435 (2) (a) and 17
amended to read:
(a) The board shall award talent incentive grants to uniquely needy 19
students enrolled at least half-time as first-time freshmen at public and private 20
nonprofit institutions of higher education located in this state and to sophomores, 21
juniors, and seniors who received such grants as freshmen. No grant under this 22subsection paragraph
may exceed $1,800 for any academic year. The board may 23
award a grant under this subsection paragraph
to the same student for up to 10 24
semesters or their equivalent, but may not award such a grant to the same student 25
more than 6 years after the initial grant is awarded to that student. A student need
not maintain continuous enrollment at an institution of higher education to remain 2
eligible for a grant under this subsection
. The board shall promulgate 3
rules establishing eligibility criteria for grants under this subsection paragraph
39.435 (2) (b) of the statutes is created to read:
(b) Before the end of a fiscal biennium, the board may make 6
supplemental talent incentive grants to students to whom the board has awarded 7
talent incentive grants under par. (a) in that fiscal biennium, but only if the board 8
determines that, after the board makes all of the grants under par. (a) in that fiscal 9
biennium, moneys are available in the appropriation account under s. 20.235 (1) (fd) 10
for grants under this paragraph.
39.435 (5) of the statutes is amended to read:
The board shall ensure that grants under this section are made 13
available to students attending private or public institutions in this state who are 14
deaf or hard of hearing or visually handicapped
and who demonstrate need. 15
Grants may also be made available to such handicapped
students attending private 16
or public institutions in other states under criteria established by the board. In 17
determining the financial need of these students special consideration shall be given 18
to their unique and unusual costs.
40.01 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:
40.01 (2) Purpose.
The public employee trust fund is a public trust and shall 21
be managed, administered, invested and otherwise dealt with solely for the purpose 22
of ensuring the fulfillment at the lowest possible cost of the benefit commitments to 23
participants, as set forth in this chapter, and shall not be used for any other purpose. 24
Revenues collected for and balances in the accounts of a specific benefit plan shall 25
be used only for the purposes of that benefit plan, including amounts allocated under
s. 20.515 (1) (um) or (ut) or
40.04 (2), and shall not be used for the purposes of any 2
other benefit plan. Each member of the employee trust funds board shall be a trustee 3
of the fund and the fund shall be administered by the department of employee trust 4
funds. All statutes relating to the fund shall be construed liberally in furtherance 5
of the purposes set forth in this section.
40.03 (1) (cm) of the statutes is created to read:
(cm) Shall appoint an internal auditor. The internal auditor shall 8
report directly to the board.
40.03 (1) (i) of the statutes is amended to read:
(i) May determine that some or all of the disability annuities and 11
death benefits provided from the Wisconsin retirement system shall instead be 12
provided through group insurance plans to be established by the group insurance
either as separate plans or as integral parts of the group life and income 14
continuation insurance plans established under this chapter.
40.03 (1) (p) of the statutes is amended to read:
(p) May, upon the recommendation of the actuary, transfer in whole 17
or in part the assets and reserves held in any account described in s. 40.04 (9) to a 18
different account described in s. 40.04 (9), for the purpose of providing any group 19
insurance benefit offered by the group insurance board
40.03 (1) (q) of the statutes is created to read:
(q) For the purpose of the group income continuation insurance plan 22
established under ss. 40.61 and 40.62 and the group long-term disability insurance 23
plan established under s. 40.64:
1. May, on behalf of the state, enter into a contract or contracts with one or more 2
insurers authorized to transact insurance business in this state for the purpose of 3
providing the plans.