This is the preview version of the Wisconsin State Legislature site.
Please see for the production version.
The prayer was offered by Father Rick Stoffel of Saint Peter Catholic Church in Slinger.
Representative Rohrkaste led the membership in reciting the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.
The roll was taken.
The result follows:
Present - Representatives Allen, Anderson, August, Ballweg, Billings, Born, Bowen, Brandtjen, Brooks, Brostoff, Cabrera, Considine, Crowley, Dittrich, Doyle, Duchow, Edming, Emerson, Felzkowski, Fields, Goyke, Gruszynski, Gundrum, Haywood, Hebl, Hesselbein, Hintz, Horlacher, Hutton, Jagler, James, Katsma, Kerkman, Kitchens, Knodl, Kolste, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kulp, Kurtz, Loudenbeck, Macco, Magnafici, McGuire, B. Meyers, Milroy, Murphy, Mursau, L. Myers, Neubauer, Neylon, Novak, Nygren, Ohnstad, Oldenburg, Ott, Petersen, Petryk, Plumer, Pope, Pronschinske, Quinn, Ramthun, Riemer, Rodriguez, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Sargent, Schraa, Shankland, Sinicki, Skowronski, Snyder, Sortwell, Spiros, Spreitzer, Stafsholt, Steffen, Steineke, Stubbs, Stuck, Subeck, Summerfield, Swearingen, Tauchen, C. Taylor, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, Tusler, VanderMeer, Vining, Vorpagel, Vruwink, Wichgers, Wittke, Zamarripa, Zimmerman and Speaker Vos - 99.
Absent with leave - None.
Vacancies - None.
Special Guest
Representative Anderson introduced Hometown Hero Award recipient John Matthews, recognized for dedicating his life to serving public education workers in Wisconsin. Mr. Matthews addressed the members from the rostrum.
Special Guest
Representative Gundrum introduced Hometown Hero Award recipient Pete Rettler, who coordinated the largest dollar amount and overall percentage increase in Washington County United Way fundraising history. Mr. Rettler addressed the members from the rostrum.
Special Guests
Representatives Vorpagel and Katsma introduced Hometown Hero Award recipients Calvin Kesweder, Greg Navis, Eric Montellano, Bob Kroeplien and Craig Strouse of the Sheboygan County Technical Rescue Team and Sheboygan Fire Department, for their efforts in saving three individuals from a grain silo accident. Chief Montellano addressed the members from the rostrum.
Special Guest
Representatives Ramthun and Thiesfeldt introduced Hometown Hero Award recipient Marine Corp veteran Sam Floyd, founder of Operation Coffee in Campbellsport, in recognition of his tremendous contributions to veteran suicide prevention. Mr. Floyd addressed the members from the rostrum.
Special Guest
Representatives Loudenbeck, Kolste, Vruwink and Spreitzer introduced Hometown Hero Award recipient, Rock County Chief Deputy Barb Tillman, a founding member of the Wisconsin Association of Women Police, recognized for her role in supporting women in law enforcement. Chief Tillman addressed the members from the rostrum.
Leave of Absence
Representative Knodl asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for part of today's session for Representative Hutton. Granted.
Amendments Offered
hist113628Assembly Amendment 2 to Assembly Bill 380 offered by Representative Kurtz.
hist114064Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 660 offered by Representatives Thiesfeldt and Anderson.
hist113634Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 662 offered by Representatives Thiesfeldt and L. Myers.
hist114063Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 684 offered by Representative Kurtz.
Administrative Rules
Relating to changes in the agent licensing process and affecting small business.
Submitted by Office of the Commissioner of Insurance.
hist112162Report received from Agency, January 3, 2020.
hist113858To committee on Insurance.
Referred on January 17, 2020.
Relating to Hospices.
Submitted by Department of Health Services.
hist112212Report received from Agency, January 6, 2020.
hist113859To committee on Aging and Long-Term Care.
Referred on January 21, 2020.
Relating to minor revisions to fishing regulations on inland, outlying, and boundary waters.
hist113635No action taken by committee on Sporting Heritage on January 16, 2020.
hist113636To joint committee for review of Administrative Rules pursuant to s. 227.19 (5) (a), Wisconsin Statutes.
Referred on January 21, 2020.
Introduction and Reference of Proposals
Read first time and referred:
hist112609Assembly Joint Resolution 120
Relating to: congratulating the Edgewood High School Crusaders girls golf team on winning the team title at the state golf tournament.
By Representatives Stubbs, Bowen, Crowley, Sinicki, Spreitzer, Subeck, Tusler and Vruwink; cosponsored by Senators Risser and Olsen.
hist114005To committee on Rules.
hist112610Assembly Joint Resolution 121
Relating to: congratulating the University of Wisconsin-Madison Badgers football team on a great season and winning the Big Ten West Division game against the Minnesota Gophers.
By Representatives Stubbs, C. Taylor, Anderson, Bowen, Considine, Crowley, Emerson, Hebl, Murphy, Skowronski, Spiros, Spreitzer, Subeck, Tranel, Vruwink and Zamarripa; cosponsored by Senators Risser, Miller, Ringhand and Wirch.
hist114006To committee on Rules.
hist112318Assembly Bill 755
Relating to: unlawfully summoning a police officer, creating a civil cause of action, and providing a penalty.
By Representatives L. Myers, Emerson, Crowley, Fields and Subeck; cosponsored by Senators L. Taylor and Larson.
hist113945To committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety.
hist112319Assembly Bill 756
Relating to: the regulation of metallic mining and related activities and making an appropriation.
By Representatives Hebl, Anderson, Neubauer, Shankland, Billings, Bowen, Brostoff, Considine, Fields, Gruszynski, Ohnstad, Pope, Sargent, Sinicki, Spreitzer, Subeck, C. Taylor and Zamarripa; cosponsored by Senators Miller, Carpenter, Erpenbach, Larson and Risser.
hist113946To committee on Rural Development.
hist112320Assembly Bill 757
Relating to: allowing do-not-resuscitate necklaces or pendants, requiring the exercise of rule-making authority, and providing a penalty.
By Representatives Hebl, Loudenbeck, Anderson, Bowen, Brooks, Fields, James, Mursau, Ohnstad, Pope, Spreitzer, Stubbs, Subeck and C. Taylor; cosponsored by Senators Bewley, Miller, Olsen, Ringhand and Schachtner.
hist113947To committee on Health.
hist112437Assembly Bill 758
Relating to: battery by a person detained while awaiting trial as a sexually violent person and providing a penalty.
By Representative Kurtz; cosponsored by Senator Marklein.
hist113948To committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety.
hist112438Assembly Bill 759
Relating to: requiring universal changing stations in certain buildings and creating a tax credit for installation of the stations.
By Representatives Vining, Anderson, Brostoff, Bowen, Considine, Crowley, Emerson, Fields, Goyke, Gruszynski, Haywood, Hesselbein, Kolste, L. Myers, Neubauer, Riemer, Sargent, Sinicki, Skowronski, Stuck, Subeck, C. Taylor, Zamarripa and Stubbs; cosponsored by Senators Smith, Wirch, Carpenter, Johnson and Larson.
hist113949To committee on Ways and Means.
hist112321Assembly Bill 760
Relating to: standards for care and shelter of animals and providing a penalty.
By Representatives L. Myers, Steffen, Sinicki, Subeck, Emerson, Anderson, Vruwink, C. Taylor, Zamarripa, Bowen, Stuck and Stubbs; cosponsored by Senators Smith, Hansen, Carpenter, Risser and Larson.
hist113950To committee on Regulatory Licensing Reform.
hist112564Assembly Bill 761
Relating to: posting the child abuse and neglect reporting hotline in school buildings.
By Representatives Krug, C. Taylor, L. Myers and Skowronski; cosponsored by Senators Jacque, L. Taylor and Carpenter.
hist113951To committee on Education.