This is the preview version of the Wisconsin State Legislature site.
Please see for the production version.
Assembly Journal
One-Hundred and Fourth Regular Session
12:52 P.M.   TUESDAY, November 12, 2019
The Assembly met in the Assembly Chamber located in the State Capitol.
Speaker Pro Tempore August in the Chair.
Representative Spiros asked unanimous consent for a quorum call. Granted.
A quorum was present.
Speaker Vos in the chair.
The prayer was offered by Representative Jim Ott.
The American Legion – Elmer C. Peterson Post 333 and Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 9362 from Sun Prairie posted the colors.
Representative Hebl led the membership in reciting the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.
The color guard retired the colors.
The roll was taken.
The result follows:
Present - Representatives Allen, Anderson, August, Ballweg, Billings, Born, Bowen, Brandtjen, Brooks, Brostoff, Cabrera, Considine, Crowley, Dittrich, Doyle, Duchow, Edming, Emerson, Felzkowski, Fields, Goyke, Gruszynski, Gundrum, Haywood, Hebl, Hesselbein, Hintz, Horlacher, Hutton, Jagler, James, Katsma, Kerkman, Kitchens, Knodl, Kolste, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kulp, Kurtz, Loudenbeck, Macco, Magnafici, McGuire, B. Meyers, Milroy, Murphy, Mursau, L. Myers, Neubauer, Neylon, Novak, Nygren, Ohnstad, Oldenburg, Ott, Petersen, Petryk, Plumer, Pope, Pronschinske, Quinn, Ramthun, Rodriguez, Sanfelippo, Sargent, Schraa, Shankland, Sinicki, Snyder, Sortwell, Spiros, Spreitzer, Stafsholt, Steffen, Steineke, Stubbs, Stuck, Subeck, Summerfield, Swearingen, Tauchen, C. Taylor, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, Tusler, VanderMeer, Vining, Vorpagel, Vruwink, Wichgers, Zamarripa, Zimmerman and Speaker Vos - 95.
Absent with leave - Representatives Riemer, Rohrkaste, Skowronski and Wittke - 4.
Vacancies - None.
Leaves of Absence
Representative Knodl asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for today's session for Representatives Rohrkaste, Skowronski and Wittke. Granted.
Representative Spreitzer asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for today's session for Representative Riemer. Granted.
Special Guest
Representative Nygren introduced Hometown Hero Award recipient Eloise Massee, a high school freshman in Green Bay, who received the 2019 Prudential Spirit of Community Award, for raising funds and awareness to promote life-saving organ donations, as well as hosting a “Heavenly Hats Parade” which provides hats for cancer patients. Miss Massee addressed the members from the rostrum.
Special Guest
Representative Sortwell introduced Hometown Hero Award recipient Caragan Olles, a high school student in De Pere, who received the 2019 Prudential Spirit of Community Award for her work helping young people overcome dyslexia. Miss Olles addressed the members from the rostrum.
Special Guest
Representative Kolste introduced Hometown Hero Award recipient, former Wisconsin State Senator Tim Cullen of Janesville, recognized for creating the Janesville Minority Teacher Scholarship program. Mr. Cullen addressed the members from the rostrum.
Special Guest
Representative Dittrich introduced Hometown Hero Award recipient Marty Calderon from Oconomowoc, recognized for his commitment in working with incarcerated individuals through his God Touch program. Mr. Calderon addressed the members from the rostrum.
Amendments Offered
hist110463Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 31 offered by Representative Kulp.
hist110293Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Substitute Amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 344 offered by Representatives Spreitzer, Doyle, Hintz, Hesselbein, Considine, Gruszynski, Hebl, B. Meyers, Milroy, Pope, Shankland, Stuck and Vruwink.
Introduction and Reference of Proposals
Read first time and referred:
hist110420Assembly Joint Resolution 105
Relating to: proclaiming November 2019 as Black Catholic History Month.
By Representatives L. Myers, Crowley, Bowen, Haywood, Stubbs, Fields, Sinicki, Zamarripa, Horlacher, Vining, Hebl, Tusler, Hesselbein, Steffen and Vruwink; cosponsored by Senators L. Taylor, Johnson, Wirch, Larson and Carpenter.
hist110421To committee on Rules.
hist110419Assembly Joint Resolution 106
Relating to: renaming the decorated tree on display in the capitol rotunda during the Christmas holiday season as the Wisconsin State Christmas Tree.
By Representatives Krug, Thiesfeldt, Dittrich, Sanfelippo, Felzkowski, Edming, Gundrum, Kulp, Horlacher, Murphy, Quinn, Ramthun, Magnafici, Duchow, Pronschinske and Vos; cosponsored by Senators Jacque, Stroebel, Wanggaard, Craig, L. Taylor and Nass.
hist110422To committee on Rules.
November 12, 2019
Patrick E. Fuller
Assembly Chief Clerk
17 West Main Street, Suite 401
Madison, WI 53703
Dear Chief Clerk Fuller:
hist110259Please add my name as a co-author of Assembly Bill 267, relating to advanced practice registered nurses, extending the time limit for emergency rule procedures, providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures, and granting rule-making authority.