This is the preview version of the Wisconsin State Legislature site.
Please see for the production version.
Assembly Journal
One-Hundred and Fourth Regular Session
12:50 P.M.   TUESDAY, June 18, 2019
The Assembly met in the Assembly Chamber located in the State Capitol.
Speaker Pro Tempore August in the Chair.
Representative Ramthun asked unanimous consent for a quorum call. Granted.
A quorum was present.
Speaker Vos in the Chair.
The prayer was offered by Reverend Jonathan Barker of Grace Lutheran Church in Kenosha.
Representative Vorpagel led the membership in reciting the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.
The roll was taken.
The result follows:
Present - Representatives Allen, Anderson, August, Ballweg, Billings, Born, Bowen, Brandtjen, Brooks, Brostoff, Cabrera, Considine, Crowley, Dittrich, Doyle, Duchow, Edming, Emerson, Felzkowski, Fields, Goyke, Gruszynski, Gundrum, Haywood, Hebl, Hesselbein, Hintz, Horlacher, Hutton, Jagler, James, Katsma, Kerkman, Kitchens, Knodl, Kolste, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kulp, Kurtz, Loudenbeck, Macco, Magnafici, McGuire, B. Meyers, Milroy, Murphy, Mursau, L. Myers, Neubauer, Neylon, Novak, Nygren, Ohnstad, Oldenburg, Ott, Petersen, Petryk, Plumer, Pope, Pronschinske, Quinn, Ramthun, Riemer, Rodriguez, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Sargent, Schraa, Shankland, Sinicki, Skowronski, Snyder, Sortwell, Spiros, Spreitzer, Stafsholt, Steffen, Steineke, Stubbs, Stuck, Subeck, Summerfield, Swearingen, Tauchen, C. Taylor, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, Tusler, VanderMeer, Vining, Vorpagel, Vruwink, Wichgers, Wittke, Zamarripa, Zimmerman and Speaker Vos - 99.
Absent with leave - None.
Vacancies - None.
Leaves of Absence
Representative Knodl asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for part of today's session for Representative Macco. Granted.
Special Guests
Representative Kolste introduced Hometown Hero Award recipient, Janesville police officer Justin Stubbendick, who was recognized for his role in organizing a fundraising drive, along with Janesville Craig High School seniors, to support 5-year-old Isaac Johnson, who is battling neuroblastoma cancer. Officer Stubbendick addressed the members from the rostrum.
Special Guest
Representative August introduced Hometown Hero Award recipient Sofija Djurjulov, a lifeguard on Geneva Lake, who saved the lives of a mother and daughter who were drowning on July 4, 2018. Ms. Djurjulov addressed the members from the rostrum.
Special Guests
Representative Subeck introduced Hometown Hero Award recipients Matt and Connie Phair, and Alec Lewis of Madison, who were recognized for their efforts in saving the lives of two occupants in a vehicle that was trapped by flood waters in Madison last August. Mr. Phair addressed the members from the rostrum.
Amendments Offered
hist102499Assembly Amendment 4 to Assembly Bill 188 offered by Representative Schraa.
hist102500Assembly Amendment 5 to Assembly Bill 188 offered by Representative Tauchen.
hist102486Assembly Amendment 2 to Assembly Bill 203 offered by Representative Brandtjen.
Administrative Rules
Relating to motor bus equipment and inspection, and affeting small business.
Submitted by Department of Transportation.
hist101600Report received from Agency, June 3, 2019.
hist102436To committee on Transportation.
Referred on June 17, 2019.
Introduction and Reference of Proposals
Read first time and referred:
hist102521Assembly Joint Resolution 61
Relating to: commending and congratulating Justice Shirley Abrahamson on her retirement after 43 devoted years of service.
By Representatives C. Taylor, Felzkowski, Ballweg, Billings, Brandtjen, Cabrera, Dittrich, Duchow, Emerson, Hesselbein, Kerkman, Kolste, Loudenbeck, Magnafici, B. Meyers, L. Myers, Neubauer, Pope, Rodriguez, Sargent, Shankland, Sinicki, Stubbs, Stuck, Subeck, VanderMeer, Vining and Zamarripa.
hist102522To committee on Rules.
hist102599Assembly Joint Resolution 62
Relating to: commemorating Sun Prairie volunteer fire fighter Cory Barr, the Sun Prairie Police Department, the Sun Prairie Volunteer Fire Department, and the Sun Prairie Emergency Medical Services on the one-year anniversary of the gas line explosion in downtown Sun Prairie.
By Representatives Hebl, Pope, Zamarripa, Shankland and Gruszynski; cosponsored by Senator Miller.
hist102628To committee on Rules.
Committee Reports
The committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety reports and recommends:
Assembly Bill 71
Relating to: possession of child pornography and providing a penalty.
hist102528Assembly Substitute Amendment 1 adoption:
Ayes: 13 - Representatives Spiros, Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Schraa, Krug, Crowley, Emerson, Spreitzer, Duchow, Stubbs and McGuire.
Noes: 0.