This is the preview version of the Wisconsin State Legislature site.
Please see for the production version.
Assembly Journal
One-Hundred and Fourth Regular Session
10:52 A.M.   WEDNESDAY, May 15, 2019
The Assembly met in the Assembly Chamber located in the State Capitol.
Speaker Pro Tempore August in the Chair.
Representative Ramthun asked unanimous consent for a quorum call. Granted.
A quorum was present.
Speaker Vos in the chair.
The prayer was offered by Pastor Daniel Reehoff of the Dayspring Baptist Church in Pewaukee.
The Army Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps Color Guard of Park High School in Racine posted the colors.
Christina Dressler sang the national anthem, The Star Spangled Banner.
Members of JROTC led the membership in reciting the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.
The Color Guard retired the colors.
The roll was taken.
The result follows:
Present - Representatives Allen, Anderson, August, Ballweg, Billings, Born, Bowen, Brandtjen, Brooks, Brostoff, Considine, Crowley, Dittrich, Doyle, Duchow, Edming, Emerson, Felzkowski, Fields, Goyke, Gruszynski, Gundrum, Haywood, Hebl, Hesselbein, Hintz, Horlacher, Hutton, Jagler, James, Katsma, Kerkman, Kitchens, Knodl, Kolste, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kulp, Kurtz, Loudenbeck, Macco, Magnafici, McGuire, B. Meyers, Milroy, Murphy, Mursau, Neubauer, Neylon, Novak, Nygren, Ohnstad, Oldenburg, Ott, Petersen, Petryk, Plumer, Pope, Pronschinske, Quinn, Ramthun, Riemer, Rodriguez, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Sargent, Schraa, Shankland, Sinicki, Skowronski, Snyder, Sortwell, Spiros, Spreitzer, Stafsholt, Steffen, Steineke, Stubbs, Stuck, Subeck, Summerfield, Swearingen, Tauchen, C. Taylor, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, Tusler, VanderMeer, Vining, Vorpagel, Vruwink, Wichgers, Wittke, Zamarripa, Zimmerman and Speaker Vos - 97.
Absent with leave - Representatives Cabrera and L. Myers - 2.
Vacancies - None.
Leaves of Absence
Representative Spreitzer asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for today's session for Representatives Cabrera and L. Myers. Granted.
Leaves of Absence
Representative Knodl asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for part of today's session for Representative Edming. Granted.
Representative Spreitzer asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for part of today's session for Representative Anderson. Granted.
The Assembly stood for a moment of silence in memory of former State Representative Edward Brooks, who passed away on April 23, 2019.
Speaker Vos asked unanimous consent that the Assembly stand recessed. Granted.
The Assembly stood recessed.
11:30 A.M.
11:42 A.M.
The Assembly reconvened.
Speaker Vos in the chair.
Representative Edming asked unanimous consent that his leave of absence be lifted. Granted.
Special Guests
Representative Wittke honored Hometown Hero Award recipients Sergeant First Class (Ret.) Guadalupe Berrios, Jr. and Major (Ret.) Jason Hauser, instructors with the Racine Park High School Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps (JROTC) Academy. Accepting the award on behalf of Major Hauser are JROTC Cadet Leaders Samantha Guereca, Jennifer Villalobos and Cruz Avila. Cadet Guereca and SFC (Ret.) Berrios addressed the members from the rostrum.
Special Guest
Representative Vruwink introduced Hometown Hero Award recipient and the 2018 Wisconsin Woman Veteran of the Year, US Marine Corps Veteran Kimberly Graff, honored for her work with military families’ parental rights and forming the Protecting Military Families in Wisconsin advocacy group. Ms. Graff addressed the members from the rostrum.
Special Guests
Representative Quinn introduced Hometown Hero Award recipient Jayme Closs, who was abducted for 88 days before escaping her captor and found help. Jayme’s aunt, Jen Smith, addressed the members from the rostrum.
Amendments Offered
hist100679Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Joint Resolution 1 offered by Representative Novak.
hist100675Assembly Amendment 2 to Assembly Bill 159 offered by Representative Kuglitsch.
hist100646Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 201 offered by Representative Rohrkaste.
Introduction and Reference of Proposals
Read first time and referred on Monday, May 13:
hist100653Assembly Joint Resolution 42
Relating to: recognizing May 6 through May 10, 2019, as Teacher Appreciation Week.
By Representatives Pope, Vruwink, Milroy, Bowen, Crowley, Fields, Hebl, Kolste, Sinicki, L. Myers, Vining, Spreitzer, Duchow, Rodriguez, Zamarripa, Ohnstad, Sargent, Thiesfeldt, Skowronski, Considine, Hesselbein, Billings, Horlacher, Anderson, Neubauer, Shankland, Pronschinske, C. Taylor, Gruszynski, Emerson, Stubbs, Tusler, Riemer, Petryk, Subeck and Novak; cosponsored by Senators Larson, Bewley, Shilling, Olsen, Hansen, Bernier, Risser, Wirch, Carpenter, Schachtner and Ringhand.
hist100656To committee on Rules.
Read first time and referred on Wednesday, May 15: