(a) A Wisconsin works
agency shall require a participant in 10
a community service job or transitional placement who, after August 22, 1996, was 11
convicted in any state or federal court of a felony that had as an element possession, 12
use or distribution of a controlled substance to submit to a test for use of a controlled 13
substance as a condition of continued eligibility. If the test results are positive, the 14
Wisconsin works Works
agency shall decrease the presanction benefit amount for 15
that participant by not more than 15 percent for not fewer than 12 months, or for the 16
remainder of the participant's period of participation in a community service job or 17
transitional placement, if less than 12 months. If, at the end of 12 months, the 18
individual is still a participant in a community service job or transitional placement 19
and submits to another test for use of a controlled substance and if the results of the 20
test are negative, the Wisconsin works Works
agency shall discontinue the reduction 21
under this paragraph. In this subsection, “controlled substance” does not include
22tetrahydrocannabinols in any form including tetrahydrocannabinols contained in
23marijuana, obtained from marijuana, or chemically synthesized.
49.45 (23) (g) 5. of the statutes is amended to read:
(g) 5. Require, as a condition of eligibility, that an applicant or 2
enrollee submit to a drug screening assessment and, if indicated, a drug test, as 3
specified by the department in the waiver amendment. The department may not test
4under this subdivision for tetrahydrocannabinols in any form including
5tetrahydrocannabinols contained in marijuana, obtained from marijuana, or
49.79 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
(b) “Controlled substance" has the meaning given in 21 USC 802
9except “controlled substance” does not include tetrahydrocannabinols in any form
10including tetrahydrocannabinols contained in marijuana, obtained from marijuana,
11or chemically synthesized
50.56 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:
Notwithstanding sub. (2), insofar as a conflict exists between this 14
subchapter, or the rules promulgated under this subchapter, and subch. I, II or VI
, or the rules promulgated under subch. I, II or VI VII
, the provisions of this 16
subchapter and the rules promulgated under this subchapter control.
Subchapter VI of chapter 50 [precedes 50.80] of the statutes is 18
created to read:
distribution and 22
In this subchapter:
“Compassion center" means a licensed organization that grows, sells, 25
distributes, or delivers marijuana for the medical use of tetrahydrocannabinols.
“Debilitating medical condition or treatment" means any of the following:
(a) Cancer; glaucoma; acquired immunodeficiency syndrome; a positive test for 3
the presence of HIV, antigen or nonantigenic products of HIV, or an antibody to HIV; 4
inflammatory bowel disease, including ulcerative colitis or Crohn's disease; a 5
hepatitis C virus infection; Alzheimer's disease; amyotrophic lateral sclerosis; nail 6
patella syndrome; Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome; post-traumatic stress disorder; or the 7
treatment of these conditions.
(b) A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or the treatment of 9
such a disease or condition that causes cachexia, severe pain, severe nausea, 10
seizures, including those characteristic of epilepsy, or severe and persistent muscle 11
spasms, including those characteristic of multiple sclerosis.
(c) Any other medical condition or any other treatment for a medical condition 13
designated as a debilitating medical condition or treatment in rules promulgated by 14
the department under s. 50.81 (2).
“Department" means the department of health services.
“Maximum medicinal amount" means 6 live marijuana plants and 3 ounces 17
of usable marijuana.
“Medical use of tetrahydrocannabinols" means any of the following:
(a) The use of tetrahydrocannabinols in any form by a qualifying patient to 20
alleviate the symptoms or effects of the qualifying patient's debilitating medical 21
condition or treatment.
(b) The acquisition, possession, cultivation, or transportation of 23
tetrahydrocannabinols in any form by a qualifying patient if done to facilitate his or 24
her use of tetrahydrocannabinols under par. (a).
(c) The acquisition, possession, cultivation, or transportation of 2
tetrahydrocannabinols in any form by a primary caregiver of a qualifying patient, 3
the transfer of tetrahydrocannabinols in any form between a qualifying patient and 4
his or her primary caregiver, or the transfer of tetrahydrocannabinols in any form 5
between persons who are primary caregivers for the same qualifying patient if all of 6
the following apply:
1. The acquisition, possession, cultivation, or transportation of 8
tetrahydrocannabinols is done to facilitate the qualifying patient's use of 9
tetrahydrocannabinols under par. (a) or (b).
2. It is not practicable for the qualifying patient to acquire, possess, cultivate, 11
or transport tetrahydrocannabinols independently, or the qualifying patient is under 12
18 years of age.
“Physician” means a person licensed under s. 448.04 (1) (a).
“Primary caregiver" means a person who is at least 18 years of age and who 15
has agreed to help a qualifying patient in his or her medical use of 16
“Qualifying patient" means a person who has been diagnosed by a physician 18
as having or undergoing a debilitating medical condition or treatment but does not 19
include a person under the age of 18 years unless all of the following apply:
(a) The person's physician has explained the potential risks and benefits of the 21
medical use of tetrahydrocannabinols to the person and to a parent, guardian, or 22
individual who has legal custody of the person.
(b) The parent, guardian, or individual who has legal custody of the person 24
provides the physician a written statement consenting to do all of the following:
1. Allow the person's medical use of tetrahydrocannabinols.
2. Serve as a primary caregiver for the person.
3. Manage the person's medical use of tetrahydrocannabinols.
“Registry identification card" has the meaning given in s. 146.44 (1) (h).
“Treatment team" means a qualifying patient and his or her primary 5
“Usable marijuana" has the meaning given in s. 139.97 (13).
“Written certification" means a statement made by a person's physician 8
if all of the following apply:
(a) The statement indicates that, in the physician's professional opinion, the 10
person has or is undergoing a debilitating medical condition or treatment and the 11
potential benefits of the person's use of tetrahydrocannabinols under sub. (4) (a) 12
would likely outweigh the health risks for the person.
(b) The statement indicates that the opinion described in par. (a) was formed 14
after a full assessment, conducted no more than 6 months prior to making the 15
statement and made in the course of a bona fide physician-patient relationship, of 16
the person's medical history and current medical condition.
(c) The statement is signed by the physician or is contained in the person's 18
(d) The statement contains an expiration date that is no more than 48 months 20
after issuance and the statement has not expired.
2150.81 Departmental powers and duties. (1)
The department shall provide 22
licensing, regulation, record keeping, and security for compassion centers.
Notwithstanding s. 227.12 (1), any person may petition the department to 24
promulgate a rule to designate a medical condition or treatment as a debilitating 25
medical condition or treatment. The department shall promulgate rules providing
for public notice of and a public hearing regarding any such petition, with the public 2
hearing providing persons an opportunity to comment upon the petition. After the 3
hearing, but no later than 180 days after the submission of the petition, the 4
department shall approve or deny the petition. The department's decision to approve 5
or deny a petition is subject to judicial review under s. 227.52.
The department shall issue licenses to a pharmacist or a 7
pharmacy to operate as a compassion center and shall decide which and how many 8
applicants for a license receive a license based on all of the following:
The ability of an applicant to provide to treatment teams a sufficient 10
amount of medical marijuana for the medical use of tetrahydrocannabinols.
The experience the applicant has running an organization or a business.
The preferences of the governing bodies with jurisdiction over the area in 13
which the applicants are located.
The ability of the applicant to keep records confidential and maintain a safe 15
and secure facility.
The ability of the applicant to abide by the prohibitions under s. 50.83.
The department may not issue a license to operate as a 18
compassion center to, and must revoke a license of, any organization to which any 19
of the following applies:
The organization is located within 500 feet of a public or private elementary 21
or secondary school, including a charter school.
The compassion center distributes to a treatment team a number of plants 23
or an amount in ounces of usable marijuana that, in the period of distribution, results 24
in the treatment team possessing more than the maximum medicinal amount.
The compassion center possesses a number of plants or an amount in ounces 2
of usable marijuana that exceeds the combined maximum medicinal amount for all 3
of the treatment teams that are estimated to use the organization by a number or an 4
amount determined by the department by rule to be unacceptable.
550.84 Licensing procedure.
The application for a license must be in 6
writing on a form provided by the department and include the licensing application 7
fee under sub. (2) (a).
(a) A licensing application fee is $250.
(b) The annual fee for a compassion center is $5,000.
A compassion center license is valid until revoked. Each license shall be 11
issued only for the applicant named in the application and may not be transferred 12
1350.85 Distribution of medical marijuana. (1)
A compassion center may 14
sell, distribute, or deliver tetrahydrocannabinols or drug paraphernalia intended for 15
the storage or use of usable marijuana to a member of a treatment team if the 16
compassion center receives a copy of the qualifying patient's written certification or 17
registry identification card.
A compassion center may possess or manufacture tetrahydrocannabinols 19
or drug paraphernalia with the intent to sell, distribute, or deliver under sub. (1).
A compassion center may have 2 locations, one for cultivation and one for 21
sales, distribution, or delivery.
A compassion center shall have all tetrahydrocannabinols tested for mold, 23
fungus, pesticides, and other contaminants and may not sell, distribute, or deliver 24
tetrahydrocannabinols that test positive for mold, fungus, pesticides, or other 25
contaminants if the contaminants, or level of contaminants, are identified by the
testing laboratories under s. 50.86 (2) to be potentially unsafe to a qualifying 2
A compassion center may cultivate marijuana outdoors.
450.86 Testing laboratories.
The department shall register entities as 5
tetrahydrocannabinols testing laboratories. The laboratories may possess or 6
manufacture tetrahydrocannabinols or drug paraphernalia and shall perform the 7
Test marijuana produced for the medical use of tetrahydrocannabinols for 9
potency and for mold, fungus, pesticides, and other contaminants.
Collect information on research findings and conduct research related to 11
the medical use of tetrahydrocannabinols, including research that identifies 12
potentially unsafe levels of contaminants.
Provide training to persons who hold registry identification cards or written 14
certifications, to treatment teams, and to persons employed by compassion centers 15
on the following:
(a) The safe and efficient cultivation, harvesting, packaging, labeling, and 17
distribution of marijuana for the medical use of tetrahydrocannabinols.
(b) Security and inventory accountability procedures.
(c) The most recent research on the medical use of tetrahydrocannabinols.
Subchapter VI (title) of chapter 50 [precedes 50.90] of the statutes 21
is renumbered subchapter VII (title) of chapter 50 [precedes 50.90].
51.49 (1) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:
(d) “Operating while intoxicated" means a violation of s. 346.63 (1) or, 24
(2m), or (2p)
or a local ordinance in conformity therewith or of s. 346.63 (2) or (6), 25
940.09 (1) or 940.25.
59.54 (25) (title) of the statutes is amended to read:
(title) Possession Regulation of marijuana.
59.54 (25) (a) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:
(a) (intro.) The board may enact and enforce an ordinance to prohibit
5the possession of marijuana, as defined in s. 961.01 (14), subject to the exceptions in
6s. 961.41 (3g) (intro.), and provide a forfeiture for a violation of the ordinance that
7is consistent with s. 961.71 or 961.72
; except that if a complaint is issued regarding
8an allegation of possession of more than 25 grams of marijuana, or possession of any
9amount of marijuana following a conviction in this state for possession of marijuana 10alleging a violation of s. 961.72 (2) (b) 2., (c) 3., or (d) 4.
, the subject of the complaint 11
may not be prosecuted under this subsection for the same action that is the subject 12
of the complaint unless all of the following occur:
66.0107 (1) (bm) of the statutes is amended to read:
(bm) Enact and enforce an ordinance
to prohibit the possession of
15marijuana, as defined in s. 961.01 (14), subject to the exceptions in s. 961.41 (3g)
16(intro.), and provide a forfeiture for a violation of the ordinance
that is consistent
17with s. 961.71 or 961.72
; except that if a complaint is issued
regarding an allegation
18of possession of more than 25 grams of marijuana, or possession of any amount of
19marijuana following a conviction in this state for possession of marijuana alleging
20a violation of s. 961.72 (2) (b) 2., (c) 3., or (d) 4.
, the subject of the complaint may not 21
be prosecuted under this paragraph for the same action that is the subject of the 22
complaint unless the charges are dismissed or the district attorney declines to 23
prosecute the case.
66.0414 of the statutes is created to read:
166.0414 Cultivation of tetrahydrocannabinols.
No city, village, town, or 2
county may prohibit cultivating tetrahydrocannabinols outdoors if the cultivation is 3
by one of the following:
A compassion center, as defined in s. 50.80 (1).
A person who is cultivating tetrahydrocannabinols for the medical use of 6
tetrahydrocannabinols, as defined in s. 50.80 (4), if the amount does not exceed the 7
maximum medicinal amount, as defined in s. 50.80 (3).
An individual who has no more than 6 marijuana plants at one time for his 9
or her personal use.
77.52 (13) of the statutes is amended to read:
For the purpose of the proper administration of this section and to 12
prevent evasion of the sales tax it shall be presumed that all receipts are subject to 13
the tax until the contrary is established. The burden of proving that a sale of tangible 14
personal property, or items, property, or goods under sub. (1) (b), (c), or (d), or services 15
is not a taxable sale at retail is upon the person who makes the sale unless that 16
person takes from the purchaser an electronic or a paper certificate, in a manner 17
prescribed by the department, to the effect that the property, item, good, or service 18
is purchased for resale or is otherwise exempt, except that no certificate is required 19
for the sale of tangible personal property, or items, property, or goods under sub. (1) 20
(b), (c), or (d), or services that are exempt under s. 77.54 (5) (a) 3., (7), (7m), (8), (10), 21
(11), (14), (15), (17), (20n), (21), (22b), (31), (32), (35), (36), (37), (42), (44), (45), (46), 22
(51), (52), (66), and
(67), and (69)
77.53 (10) of the statutes is amended to read:
For the purpose of the proper administration of this section and to 25
prevent evasion of the use tax and the duty to collect the use tax, it is presumed that
tangible personal property, or items, property, or goods under s. 77.52 (1) (b), (c), or 2
(d), or taxable services sold by any person for delivery in this state is sold for storage, 3
use, or other consumption in this state until the contrary is established. The burden 4
of proving the contrary is upon the person who makes the sale unless that person 5
takes from the purchaser an electronic or paper certificate, in a manner prescribed 6
by the department, to the effect that the property, or items, property, or goods under 7
s. 77.52 (1) (b), (c), or (d), or taxable service is purchased for resale, or otherwise 8
exempt from the tax, except that no certificate is required for the sale of tangible 9
personal property, or items, property, or goods under s. 77.52 (1) (b), (c), or (d), or 10
services that are exempt under s. 77.54 (7), (7m), (8), (10), (11), (14), (15), (17), (20n), 11
(21), (22b), (31), (32), (35), (36), (37), (42), (44), (45), (46), (51), (52), and
(67), and (69)
77.54 (69) of the statutes is created to read:
The sales price from the sale of and the storage, use, or other 14
consumption of usable marijuana, as defined in s. 139.97 (13), provided by a 15
compassion center, as defined in s. 50.80 (1).