This is the preview version of the Wisconsin State Legislature site.
Please see for the production version.
2019 - 2020 LEGISLATURE
June 18, 2019 - Introduced by Representatives C. Taylor, Felzkowski, Ballweg,
Billings, Brandtjen, Cabrera, Dittrich, Duchow, Emerson, Hesselbein,
Kerkman, Kolste, Loudenbeck, Magnafici, B. Meyers, L. Myers, Neubauer,
Pope, Rodriguez, Sargent, Shankland, Sinicki, Stubbs, Stuck, Subeck,
VanderMeer, Vining and Zamarripa, cosponsored by Senators Bewley,
Ringhand, Risser, Schachtner, Carpenter, Miller, Hansen, Shilling,
Erpenbach, Smith, Wirch, Larson, L. Taylor, Bernier, Johnson and Darling.
Referred to Committee on Rules.
AJR61,1,2 1Relating to: commending and congratulating Justice Shirley Abrahamson on her
2retirement after 43 devoted years of service.
AJR61,1,53 Whereas, Justice Shirley Abrahamson was appointed to Wisconsin's high court
4by Democratic Governor Patrick Lucey in 1976 and retired this year after 43 years
5of serving on the highest court in Wisconsin; and
AJR61,1,106 Whereas, Justice Shirley Abrahamson shattered glass ceilings in Wisconsin by
7becoming the first woman to serve as a justice on the Wisconsin State Supreme Court
8when appointed in 1976, she is the longest-serving member in the high court's
9history, she also was the first woman to serve as Chief Justice of the Supreme Court
10from August 1996 to April 2015; and
AJR61,1,1411 Whereas, Justice Shirley Abrahamson has served as the Chair or President of
12several national organizations, won numerous awards, and received 15 honorary
13degrees from universities across the country, and is nationally recognized as a
14preeminent Justice and prolific legal scholar; and
1Whereas, Justice Shirley Abrahamson has recognized and ensured that
2individual rights are offered appropriate constitutional protections and that the
3function of the court is to protect those inalienable rights; now, therefore, be it
AJR61,2,7 4Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the
5Wisconsin State Legislature hereby commend and congratulate Justice Shirley
6Abrahamson on her retirement after 43 devoted years of service to the people of the
7State of Wisconsin.
AJR61,2,88 (End)