Assembly

PUBLIC HEARING

Committee on Judiciary

The committee will hold a public hearing on the following items at the time specified below:

Wednesday, May 7, 2025 11:30 AM 400 Northeast

Assembly Bill 34

Relating to: court-issued criminal complaints in officer-involved deaths.

By Representatives Moses, Duchow, Dittrich, Piwowarczyk, Armstrong, Brooks, Donovan, B. Jacobson, Penterman, Murphy, Tucker, Swearingen, Wichgers and Behnke; cosponsored by Senators Hutton, Bradley, Wanggaard, Feyen, Nass, Tomczyk, Testin and James.

Assembly Bill 88

Relating to: civil action for injury or damages resulting from riot or vandalism, participation in a riot, prohibiting certain limitations or restrictions on law enforcement responses to riot or vandalism activity, and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Sortwell, Behnke, Brill, Dittrich, Donovan, Goeben, Gundrum, B. Jacobson, Knodl, Maxey, Moses, Murphy, Mursau, O'Connor, Tusler and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Feyen, Cabral-Guevara, Nass, Tomczyk and Wanggaard.

Assembly Bill 124

Relating to: prohibiting persons who have been convicted of a violent crime from changing their name and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Goeben, Piwowarczyk, Maxey, Steffen, Tittl, Brill, Wichgers, Murphy, Knodl, Mursau, Penterman, Kreibich and Behnke; cosponsored by Senators Wanggaard, Jacque and Nass.

Assembly Bill 191

Relating to: requiring a subpoena to a law enforcement officer or tribal law enforcement officer served in official capacity to be served at the officer's work address.

By Representatives Goeben, Piwowarczyk, O'Connor, Armstrong, Subeck, Dittrich, Mursau, Kreibich, Murphy and Behnke; cosponsored by Senators James, Wanggaard, Tomczyk and Nass.

Assembly Bill 121

Relating to: recodification of battery statutes and providing a penalty. By Joint Legislative Council.

Assembly Joint Resolution 10

Relating to: the freedom to gather in places of worship during a state of emergency (second consideration).

By Representatives Tusler, Green, Allen, Armstrong, Behnke, Brill, Brooks, Callahan, Dittrich, Donovan, Franklin, Goeben, Gundrum, Gustafson, Hurd, B. Jacobson, Knodl, Kreibich, Maxey, Murphy, Nedweski, O'Connor, Penterman, Piwowarczyk, Tittl and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Tomczyk, Nass, Bradley, Cabral-Guevara, Felzkowski, James, Kapenga and Quinn.

05/05/2025: AB148 was removed from the list of items to be heard.

Representative Ron Tusler
Chair