Assembly

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Committee on Colleges and Universities

The committee will hold an executive session on the following items at the time specified below:

Thursday, November 2, 2023 10:00 AM 225 Northwest

Assembly Bill 239

Relating to: tuition and fee remission for eligible veterans' spouses and children enrolled in the University of Wisconsin System or a technical college.

By Representatives Maxey, Behnke, Binsfeld, Cabrera, Donovan, Edming, Green, Myers, Michalski, Murphy, Mursau, Nedweski, Novak, Ortiz-Velez, Schmidt, Shankland, Sinicki and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Cowles and Tomczyk.

Assembly Bill 370

Relating to: guaranteed admission to University of Wisconsin System institutions and technical colleges and requiring high schools to prepare class rankings for certain pupils.

By Representatives O'Connor, Murphy, Vos, Maxey, Nedweski, Kitchens, Armstrong, Gustafson, Macco, Bodden, Behnke, Gundrum, Rozar, Wichgers, Brandtjen, Goeben and Green; cosponsored by Senator Cabral-Guevara.

Assembly Bill 545

Relating to: technical college district board membership.

By Representatives Nedweski, August, Murphy, O'Connor, Penterman, Rettinger, Schutt and Vos; cosponsored by Senators Wanggaard and Marklein.

Assembly Bill 551

Relating to: freedom of speech and of the press in school-sponsored media.

By Representatives Michalski, Murphy, Behnke, Brandtjen, Dittrich, Goeben, Gundrum, Maxey, O'Connor, Penterman, Rettinger, S. Johnson and Jacobson; cosponsored by Senators Cabral-Guevara, Tomczyk and Spreitzer.

Assembly Bill 553

Relating to: free speech and academic freedom at University of Wisconsin System institutions and technical colleges, due process in disciplinary proceedings at University of Wisconsin System institutions and technical colleges, Wisconsin grant funding

allocation, and causes of action against the Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System and technical college district boards.

By Representatives Nedweski, Murphy, Allen, Behnke, Brandtjen, Dittrich, Edming, Goeben, Gundrum, Maxey, Moses, O'Connor, Penterman, Rettinger, Schraa and Tusler; cosponsored by Senators Cabral-Guevara and Tomczyk.

Assembly Bill 554

Relating to: race-based higher education programs and requirements. By Representatives Rettinger, Magnafici, Allen, Behnke, Brandtjen, Callahan, Dallman, Dittrich, Goeben, Gundrum, Krug, Maxey, Murphy, Nedweski, O'Connor and Rozar; cosponsored by Senators Wimberger, Wanggaard and Nass.

Representative David Murphy
Chair