Assembly

PUBLIC HEARING

Committee on Campaigns and Elections

The committee will hold a public hearing on the following items at the time specified below:

Tuesday, October 31, 2023 10:01 AM 411 South

NOTE: This hearing will begin upon completion of the executive session scheduled for 10.00 AM

NOTE: On October 30, 2023 the location was changed to 411 South

Assembly Bill 543

Relating to: election observers and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Tittl, Allen, Armstrong, Behnke, Brandtjen, Dittrich, Goeben, Michalski, Murphy, Mursau, O'Connor, Rettinger, Rozar and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Quinn, Nass and Tomczyk.

Assembly Bill 476

Relating to: filling vacancies in elective state offices in the executive branch.

By Representatives Magnafici, Behnke, Brandtjen, Brooks, Edming, Goeben, Green, Gundrum, Gustafson, Kitchens, Michalski, Murphy, O'Connor, Rozar, Schutt and Steffen; cosponsored by Senators Tomczyk, Ballweg and James.

Assembly Bill 493

Relating to: counting write-in votes in the general election.

By Representatives Macco, Gundrum, S. Johnson, Michalski, O'Connor, Ortiz-Velez and Rozar; cosponsored by Senator Wanggaard.

Assembly Bill 552

Relating to: setting a maximum age for serving as a supreme court justice or judge of a court of record.

By Representatives Rettinger, Dittrich, O'Connor and Gustafson; cosponsored by Senators Tomczyk and Cabral-Guevara.

Assembly Bill 567

Relating to: transmitting and canvassing absentee ballots, use of central counting locations, election night reporting, whistleblower protection for municipal clerks,

notifications and verifications concerning citizenship status, court determinations of incompetency and ineligibility to vote, and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Tusler, Maxey, Armstrong, Dittrich, Donovan, Kitchens, Michalski, Murphy, O'Connor, Rettinger, Rozar, Schraa and Steffen; cosponsored by Senator Cabral-Guevara.

Assembly Bill 572

Relating to: absentee voting in certain residential care facilities and retirement homes and court determinations of incompetency and ineligibility to vote.

By Representatives Kitchens, Allen, Binsfeld, Dittrich, Donovan, Edming, Goeben, Gundrum, Krug, Magnafici, Maxey, Michalski, Murphy, Mursau, Nedweski, O'Connor, Penterman and Rozar; cosponsored by Senators Quinn, Ballweg, Marklein and Nass.

10/30/2023: The location was changed to 411 South.

10/30/2023: The top notes were changed.

10/30/2023: The top notes were changed.

Representative Scott Krug Chair