Senate

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Committee on Judiciary and Public Safety

The committee will hold an executive session on the following items at the time specified below:

Friday, February 12, 2021 10:00 AM 316 South

Pursuant to Senate Rule 25 (4) (am) the Senate Committee on Judiciary and Public Safety will vote by paper ballot on the following items:

Anderson, Yulonda M.

Of Milwaukee, as a Non-Lawyer Member on the Wisconsin Judicial Commission, to serve for the term ending August 1, 2021.

Brennan, James

Of Mellen, as a Wisconsin Bar Representative on the Public Defender Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2022.

Griffith, Tracey

Of Milwaukee, as a Private Business & Industry Representative on the Prison Industries Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2024.

Hagemeier, David

Of Mequon, as a Private Business/Independent Representative on the Prison Industries Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2023.

Hogan, John J.

Of Hazelhurst, as a Wisconsin Bar Association Representative on the Public Defender Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2023.

Jagers, Ingrid

Of Milwaukee, as a Wisconsin Bar Association Representative on the Public Defender Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2023.

Meyer, James

Of Sheboygan, as a Private Labor Representative on the Prison Industries Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2024.

Miotke, Joseph T.

Of Shorewood, as a Wisconsin Bar Association Representative on the Public Defender Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2023.

Simpson, Lenard

Of Madison, as a Technical College Representative on the Prison Industries Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2023.

Smith, Alacia

Of Wauwatosa, as a Department of Corrections Representative on the Prison Industries Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2023.

Spencer, Todd

Of Baraboo, as a Private Business & Industry Representative on the Prison Industries Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2024.

Zimmerman, Aaron

Of Broadhead, as a Private Labor Representative on the Prison Industries Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2023.

Senate Bill 17

Relating to: increased penalties for crimes against elder persons; restraining orders for elder persons; freezing assets of a defendant charged with financial exploitation of an elder person; sexual assault of an elder person; physical abuse of an elder person; and providing a penalty.

By Senators Testin, Carpenter, Ballweg, Felzkowski, Feyen, Nass and L. Taylor; cosponsored by Representatives Macco, Wittke, Armstrong, Callahan, Dittrich, Edming, Horlacher, Kerkman, Kuglitsch, Magnafici, Milroy, Petryk, Snyder, Steffen, Summerfield, Zimmerman, Ramthun, Skowronski and James.

Senate Bill 18

Relating to: expediting criminal proceedings when a victim or witness is an elder person and preserving the testimony of a crime victim or witness who is an elder person.

By Senators Testin, Carpenter, Ballweg, Felzkowski, Feyen and L. Taylor; cosponsored by Representatives Macco, Wittke, Armstrong, Callahan, Dittrich, Edming, Horlacher, Kerkman, Kuglitsch, Magnafici, Milroy, Petryk, Ramthun, Skowronski, Snyder, Steffen, Summerfield, Zimmerman, Gundrum and James.

Senate Bill 28

Relating to: battery by a person detained while awaiting trial as a sexually violent person and providing a penalty.

By Senator Marklein; cosponsored by Representative Kurtz.

Senate Bill 26

Relating to: prostitution crime surcharge and making an appropriation. By Senators Jacque, Wanggaard, L. Taylor, Carpenter, Darling, Felzkowski and Larson; cosponsored by Representatives Brandtjen, Callahan, Dittrich, Drake, Gundrum, Horlacher, Milroy, Moses, Murphy, Mursau, Ortiz-Velez, Ramthun, Rozar, Sanfelippo, Steffen, Tittl, Wichgers, Zimmerman and Subeck.

Senate Bill 53

Relating to: entering certain places with intent to commit battery and providing a penalty.

By Senators Jacque, Wanggaard, Felzkowski, Marklein and Nass; cosponsored by Representatives Cabral-Guevara, Spiros, Armstrong, Brandtjen, Callahan, Dittrich, Edming, Knodl, Moses, Murphy, Rozar, Wichgers and Zimmerman.

Senate Bill 62

Relating to: merit pay raises for state public defenders.

By Senators Petrowski, Wanggaard, L. Taylor, Carpenter, Feyen, Ringhand, Jacque, Felzkowski, Roys, Darling, Testin, Larson and Pfaff; cosponsored by Representatives Loudenbeck, Born, Schraa, Ramthun, Tauchen, Novak, Snyder, Skowronski, Rozar, Zimmerman, Edming, Mursau, Knodl, James, Doyle, Cabrera, Summerfield, VanderMeer, Dittrich, Sinicki, Milroy, Spiros, Moses, Neubauer, Hong, Duchow, Drake, Tranel, Riemer, Bowen, Andraca, Spreitzer, B. Meyers, Subeck and Brostoff.

Deadline for responding: 12:00 PM on Friday, February 12, 2021.

Senator Van Wanggaard Chair