# **Assembly**

# **PUBLIC HEARING**

# Committee on Public Benefit Reform

The committee will hold a public hearing on the following items at the time specified below:

Tuesday, April 18, 2017 10:00 AM 412 East

#### **Assembly Bill 234**

Relating to: creating an Interagency Council on Homelessness and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Steineke, Pronschinske, Rodriguez, Snyder, Ballweg, Edming, Gannon, Genrich, Jagler, Katsma, Krug, Kulp, Loudenbeck, Mursau, Novak, Petryk, Ripp, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Spiros, Steffen, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, Tusler, VanderMeer, Subeck, Kitchens, Sinicki and E. Brooks; cosponsored by Senators Darling and Olsen.

# **Assembly Bill 235**

Relating to: housing grants.

By Representatives Snyder, Pronschinske, Rodriguez, Steineke, Ballweg, Bernier, Edming, Gannon, Horlacher, Jagler, Katsma, Kitchens, Krug, Kulp, Loudenbeck, Mursau, Novak, Petryk, Ripp, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Spiros, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tusler, VanderMeer, E. Brooks and R. Brooks; cosponsored by Senators Darling and Olsen.

## **Assembly Bill 236**

Relating to: waiting lists for housing choice vouchers.

By Representatives Pronschinske, Rodriguez, Snyder, Steineke, Ballweg, Bernier, E. Brooks, Edming, Gannon, Jagler, Katsma, Kitchens, Krug, Kulp, Loudenbeck, Mursau, Novak, Petryk, Ripp, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tusler and VanderMeer; cosponsored by Senators Darling and Olsen.

# **Assembly Bill 237**

Relating to: grants to municipalities to connect homeless individuals with permanent employment and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Rodriguez, Pronschinske, Snyder, Steineke, Ballweg, Genrich, Horlacher, Jagler, Katsma, Kitchens, Krug, Mursau, Novak, Petryk, Ripp, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tusler, VanderMeer, Sinicki and E. Brooks; cosponsored by Senators Darling and Olsen.

#### **Assembly Bill 238**

Relating to: work requirements for recipients of vouchers under the federal Housing Choice Voucher Program.

By Representatives Katsma, Schraa, Bernier, R. Brooks, Duchow, Gannon, Horlacher, Knodl, Kremer, Krug, Kulp, Murphy, Novak, Sanfelippo, Steffen, Thiesfeldt, Weatherston and E. Brooks; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Kapenga and Nass.

# **Assembly Bill 241**

Relating to: mitigating the benefit drop-off in Wisconsin Shares.

By Representatives Rodriguez, Riemer, Allen, Ballweg, Bernier, Born, Brandtjen, Duchow, Edming, Gannon, Kitchens, Knodl, Krug, Kulp, Loudenbeck, Quinn, Ripp, Sanfelippo, Tauchen, Thiesfeldt and Katsma; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Marklein, Stroebel, Vinehout, Wanggaard and Kapenga.

# **Assembly Bill 239**

Relating to: creating a refundable individual income tax credit to provide assistance to young adults and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Novak, Kitchens, Krug, Schraa, Tranel, Vorpagel, Ripp, Spiros and Katsma; cosponsored by Senators Olsen, L. Taylor and Darling.

#### **Assembly Bill 243**

Relating to: a study regarding offering mobility grants for unemployment insurance claimants.

By Representatives Gannon, Fields, Kitchens, R. Brooks, Tusler, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Macco, Schraa, Steffen, Weatherston, Snyder, Krug, Ballweg, Thiesfeldt, Crowley, Sinicki, Ripp, Petryk and Katsma.

## **Assembly Bill 240**

Relating to: the school attendance requirement under Learnfare.

By Representatives Sanfelippo, R. Brooks, Thiesfeldt, Skowronski, Gannon, Jagler, Krug and Ott; cosponsored by Senators Stroebel, Kapenga and Nass.

## **Assembly Bill 242**

Relating to: substance abuse screening, testing, and treatment requirements for certain work experience programs, providing an exemption from emergency rule-making procedures, and requiring the exercise of rule-making authority.

By Representatives Horlacher, Bernier, Brandtjen, Edming, Gannon, Jacque, Katsma, Knodl, Kremer, Petersen and Skowronski; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Kapenga and Nass.

The committee will hear testimony from invited speakers and the public. Depending on the number of registrants wishing to speak, the Chairman may find it necessary to utilize a time limit for each speaker. The time limit may be adjusted throughout the public hearing in order to accommodate the number of registrants. The committee will accept written testimony submitted at the committee hearing. The hearing will end no later than 6:00 PM.

Representative Scott Krug Chair