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State of Wisconsin
Department of Health Services

Tony Evers, Governor
Kitsten L. Johnson, Secretary

January 23, 2024 JAN 2 3 2024
The Honorable Howard 1.. Marklein R AR L
Joint Committee on Finance Co-chair

Room 316 East State Capitol

Madison, WI 53707

The Honorable Mark Bom

Joint Commitiee on Finance Co-chair
Room 308 East State Capitol
Madison, WI 53708

Dear Senator Marklein and Representative Born:

As directed by Section 9119(2) of 2023 Wisconsin Act 19, the 2023-25 biennial budget, I am submitting a
plan for increasing licensing fees for assisted living facilities, outpatient menta) health clinics, and alcohol
and other drug abuse programs to cover the cost of staffing within the Bureau of Assisted Living (BAL)
necessary to ensure adequate protection of the health and well-being of vulnerable individuals,

‘The Department of Health Services is tasked under Wisconsin Statutes with licensing, certifying, and
regulating assisted living facilities in Wisconsin through its Division of Quality Assurance (DQA). These
facilities include community based residential facilities (CBRFs), three- to four-bed adult family homes
(AFHs), adult day cares (ADCs), and residential care apartment complexes (RCACs). DQA also certifies
outpatient mental health clinics and alcohol and other drug abuse (AODA) programs. Each provider in
these regulated settings pays license fees that are deposited into the appropriation under s. 20.435(6)(jm).

These providers serve the state’s most vulnerable individuals, including trait elders and people with
physical and intellectual disabilities who need assistance with daily living tasks, as well individuals who
need treatment for mental health and substance use conditions. An adequately staffed and funded
regulatory system is essential for ensuring the health and well-being of individuals in the care of these
providers.

Revenutes needed to support existing staff’

The Department is allocated 75.0 FTE to perform licensing and health and safety oversight for over 4,000
assisted living facilities, 570 mental outpatient mental health clinics, and 280 AODA clinics. Licensing
fees fund roughly 40% of position costs with the remainder supported with GPR and federal Medicaid
administration revenues.

The Department collected $2,247,227 in assisted living and mental health/substance use license fees in
FY 23, At the same time, the 2023-25 biennial budget assigns $3,405,100 in budgeted cost to the fee
revenues in FY 24. In addition, the program began FY 24 with a fee revenue deficit of $683,617. The
Department estimates that current fees would need to increase by 85% on average to cover annual
program costs, address the carryover deficit, and keep pace with future cost growth for current positions.
The Department estimates that an 85% increase to fees would increase revenues by approximately $1.9
million annually.
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The statutes set fee levels for CBRFs, AFHs, and ADCs and allow the Department to increase the fees
through the administrative rule process. In other words, increasing fees for these providers, which
represent the majority of revenue collected, requires some form of legislative approval. The statutes
allow the Department to set fee levels on its own for certified RCACs (under s. 50.034(1)) and mental
health and substance use programs (under s, 51.04).

Program costs have outpaced revenues primarily due to fees having remained at current levels since 2009,
while staffing costs have increased over that period. In addition, the Department has received a total of
12.0 FTE since 2015 to help keep up with assisted living regulatory workload. These positions include 6.0
FTE approved by the Committee through a s. 16.505 request and 6.0 FTE provided by the 2019-21
bienniat budget.

Assisted living providers continue to experience significant cost pressures due to the challenging labor
market for long-term care staff, growth in our state’s aging population, and the rising care needs of
residents. These providers serve significant numbers of Medicaid members under contract with Family
Care managed care organizations. Recent biennial budgets have provided $264.1 miltion All Funds to
increase support for the Family Care Direct Cate program for assisted living and other community living
providers and to continue a 5% Medicaid rate increase for these providers.

Given the cost pressures on providers, Governor Evers’ 2023-25 Biennial Budget recommended $750,000
GPR annually, in lieu of fee increases, to address the current shortfall in assisted living regulatory
activities.

Resources needed to address ongoing quality assurance workload

As the aging population in Wisconsin increases, the Department must continue its work to license assisted
living facilities and survey these settings to ensure complaints and safety concerns are addressed. As
noted above, the Department enforces these quality standards not only for state licensure, but also as a
key component of the quality assurance system for Family Care members and other Medicaid or long-
ferm care members receiving care in these settings.

In addition to the shortfall in fee revenues to support existing staff, the Department also lacks sufficient
staff to provide quality assurance for our elderly population and other vulnerable individuals as the
number of assisted living facilities and similar settings increases. Although the number of CBRFs and
ADCs have remained stable in the last five years, AFHs and RCACs have grown by 4% and 2%
respectively. The Governor’s 2023-25 Biennial Budget recommended adding 32.0 FTE at a cost of $2.3
million All Funds ($1.4 million GPR} annually to support the growing workload of quality assurance
surveys. These additional staff are needed to complete initial licensure and certification surveys, as well
as investigate complaints on behalf of our populations in these settings. To meet workload demands, the
Department in recent years has contracted with third-party surveyors to conduct additional surveys
beyond its FTE capacity. If the Legislature does not provide new GPR, fees would need to be nearly three
times higher than current levels to fund these additional positions and address existing revenue shortfalls.
The Department estimates that such a fee increase would generate approximately $4.3 million in
additional revenue per year compared to current fee levels.

Surrounding states, namely Towa, Illinois, and Minnesota, impose licensing fees on assisted living
providers, but comparisons are difficult to make because fee structures vary among the states, and
provider types are defined differently in each state. Hlinois and Minnesota assess a unit fee as well as a
facility fee. lowa only assigns a facility fee. The assisted living application fee in Illinois is $2,000, with
an additional charge of $20 per licensed unit on an annual basis. Minnesota charges an initial application
fee of $2,000 plus $75 per resident or $3,000 plus $100 per resident if providing dementia care.
Minnesota charges a renewal fee based on the proportion of residents receiving home and community-



based waiver services. lowa charges an initial application fee of $750 and facilities must pay a biennial
renewal of $1,000. By comparison, an eight-bed CBRF in Wisconsin currently pays a biennial license fee
of $791 with no initial application fee.

The new fee schedule provided in Attachment A would resclve the current fee revenue deficit. The fee
schedule in Attachment B would both resolve current shortfalls and provide funding sufficient to support
32.0 additional FTE to assist with maintaining the Department’s quality assurance efforts given sustained
increases to our aging population and the significant care needs of individuals in these settings. The
Department projects that the fee schedule in Attachment A would generate approximately $1.9 million in
revenue over the existing fee schedule. The fee schedule in Attachment B is projected to generate an
additional $4.3 million in revenue over the existing fee schedule.

Because the fee increases would be substantial, and given cost pressures currently facing assisted fiving
providers, the Department continues to support new GPR to fully fund assisted living licensing and
quality assurance operations, consistent with the Governor’s 2023-25 biennial budget.

Please contact me with any questions.
Sincerely,

/&Q&m g;}ﬁvhw—mM'

Kirsten Johnson
Secretary-designee



Attachment A: Comparison of Current Assisted Living Facility and Outpatient Mental Health/ AODA
Facility and Program Fees to Fee Levels Needed to Cover Program Costs

Current Fee Levels to Cover Program
Costs
Assisted Living Facility | Unit Fee Facility | New Unit
Facility Fees Fee Fee Fee
CBRFs (Biennial) $389 | $50.25 per $720 | $93 per
licensed licensed
bed bed
AFHs (Biennial) $171 | None $316 | None
ADCs (Biennial) $127 | None $235 | None
RCACs $445 1 $7.60 per $823 | $14 per
apartment apartment
Mental Current Fee Levels to Cover Program
Health/ AODA fees Costs
Services/Programs Fee | Branch Amount Fee | Branch New
Office Office Amount
i $550 | Tier 1 $200 $1,018 | Tier | $370
2 $800 | Tier2 $500 $1,480 | Tier 2 $925
3 £1,000 $1,850
4 $1,175 $2,174
5 $1,350 $2,498
Each additional $100 $185
DHS 40 and DHS Current Fee Levels to Cover Program
50 fees Costs
Services/Programs | Amount Amount
i $E100 $2,035
2 $1,600 $2,960
3 $2,000 $3,700
4 $2,350 $4,348
5 $2,700 34,995
Each additional $200 $370




Attachment B: Comparison of Cumrent Assisted Living Facility and Outpatient Mental Health/AODA
Facility and Program Fees to Fee Levels Needed to Cover Program Costs and Fund 32.0 Additiona) FTE

Current Fee Levels to Cover Program
Costs and Fund 32.0 FTE
Assisted Living Facility | Unit Fee Facility | New Unit Fee
Facility Fees Fee Fee
CBRFs {Biennial) $389 | $50.25 per $1,128 | $146 per
licensed licensed
bed bed
AFHs {Biennial) $171 | None $496 | None
ADCs (Biennial) $127 | None 368 | None
RCACs 3445 | $7.60 per $1,291 | $22 per
apartment apartment
Mental Current Fee Levels to Cover Program
Health/AODA fees Costs and Fund 32.0 FTE
Services/Programs Fee | Branch Amount Fee | Branch New
Office Office Amount
1 550 | Tiert $260 $1,595 | Tier 1 $580
2 $800 | Tier2 $500 $2,320 | Tier2 $1,450
3 $1,000 $2,900
4 $1,175 $3,408
5 31,350 $3,915
Each additional $100 $290
DHS 40 and DHS Current Fee Levels to Cover Program
50 fees Costs and Fund 32.0 FTE
Services/Programs | Amount Amount
1 $1,100 $3,190
2 $1,600 $4,640
3 $2,000 $5,800
4 $2,350 356,815
5 $2,700 37,830
Each additional $200 $580




