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Miscellaneous Taxes 
 
 
 
 
 Wisconsin imposes a number of taxes and fees 
collectively categorized as miscellaneous taxes. 
These taxes include the real estate transfer fee, 
court-related fees, a mining tax, an oil and gas sev-
erance tax, and occupational taxes on operators of 
coal docks and oil refineries. Most of these taxes 
and fees are collected at the county or municipal 
level, with the state receiving a statutorily deter-
mined share.  
 
 

Miscellaneous Tax Collections 

 
 Table 1 shows the state share of miscellaneous 
tax collections for fiscal years 2013-14 through 
2021-22. Certain occupational taxes that provide 
solely local revenues are not included in this table. 
As shown in Table 1, the total state share of mis-
cellaneous tax collections for fiscal year 2021-22 
was $135.5 million, which represented 0.66% of 
total general fund tax collections.  
 

 In fiscal year 2021-22, the real estate transfer 
fee represented 89.6% of total state miscellaneous 
tax receipts, court-related fees accounted for 
10.4%, and less than 0.1% was provided by the oc-
cupational tax on coal.  
 
 

 Summary of Miscellaneous Tax Provisions 

 
 A brief summary of each of the miscellaneous 
taxes levied in Wisconsin is presented in the 
following sections. 

Real Estate Transfer Fee 
 
 The Wisconsin real estate transfer fee is 
imposed upon the grantor of real estate at a rate of 
$3.00 per $1,000 of value. The determination of 
the "value" of real estate for purposes of the fee 
depends upon the type of transfer being con-
ducted. In the case of a sale of property, value 
equals the full amount of consideration paid or to 

  Table 1:  General Fund Share of Wisconsin Miscellaneous Tax Collections ($ in Millions) 
 
  Source of Revenue 2013-14 2014-15 2015-16 2016-17 2017-18 2018-19 2019-20 2020-21 2021-22 
 

  Real Estate Transfer Fee $51.18  $57.82  $65.13  $70.55 $76.60 $77.39 $77.43 $106.10 $121.38 
  % Change 6.59% 12.97% 12.65%  8.32%  8.57% 1.03% 0.05% 37.02% 14.41% 
 
  Court-Related Fees $14.60  $14.22 $14.49  $14.40 $14.80 $15.02 $14.26 $13.39 $14.13 
  % Change -1.86% -2.56% 1.87% -0.64% 2.76% 1.54% -5.06% -6.11% 5.53% 
 
  Occupational Tax--Coal* $0.07  $0.07  $0.07  $0.07 $0.05 $0.05 $0.00 $0.08 $0.03 
  % Change 5.97% 0.00% 2.82% 1.37% -32.43% -4.00% -100.00% N/A -65.48% 
 
  TOTAL $65.85  $72.11 $79.69 $85.02 $91.45 $92.46 $91.69 $119.57 $135.54 
  % Change 4.59% 9.52% 10.51% 6.69% 7.55% 1.11% -0.83% 30.41% 13.35% 
 
  Total as a Percentage of 
   General Fund Taxes     0.47% 0.50% 0.53% 0.55% 0.57% 0.53% 0.52% 0.61% 0.66% 
 
 *Revenues assessed in 2019-20 were received in the following fiscal year. Therefore, no revenues are listed for the coal tax in 2019-20, and 2020-21 
   revenues reflect two years of collections. 
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be paid, including any liens on the property. If the 
property is transferred as a gift, value is equal to 
the prevailing market value. 
 
 The real estate transfer fee was first established 
October 1, 1969, at a rate of $1.00 per $1,000 of 
value pursuant to Chapter 154, Laws of 1969. The 
county retained 50% of the revenues and remitted 
the remaining 50% to the state. Chapter 20, Laws 
of 1981, increased the fee to its current rate, effec-
tive for transfers occurring on or after July 1, 1982. 
Chapter 20 changed the distribution of transfer fee 
revenues such that the county retains 20% of reve-
nues and remits the remaining 80% to the state. 
Neither the fee rate nor the distribution of revenues 
has been altered since.  
 
 To pay the real estate transfer fee, a return is 
filed electronically and the fee is collected at the 
county level by the register of deeds when the deed 
or other instrument of conveyance is submitted for 
recording. Fiscal year 2021-22 collections totaled 
$151.7 million, of which $121.4 million accrued to 
the state. 
 
 Certain conveyances of real property are ex-
empt from the real estate transfer fee. Counties, 
towns, cities, and villages may not impose their 
own fee on these exempt conveyances. For exam-
ple, transfers from federal, state, or local units of 
government and transfers by gift to federal, state, 
or local governments are not subject to the fee. 
Transfers of property valued at $1,000 or less and 
sales of real estate for delinquent taxes are also ex-
empt, as are transfers between a husband and wife, 
between domestic partners, or between a parent 
and child for little or no consideration.  
 
 Unless a specific exception applies, a transfer 
return claiming an exemption must be filed for 
exempt conveyances. More detailed information 
about exemptions from the real estate transfer fee 
is provided in the Appendix.  
 

Court-Related Fees  
 
 Wisconsin currently receives a percentage of 
various court fees charged at the municipal and cir-
cuit court levels. Prior to 1981, two separate fees 
were charged in court actions:  a clerk's fee, which 
was retained by the county or municipality in which 
the proceeding was held; and a state fee or suit tax, 
retained by the state. However, in an attempt to 
streamline and simplify Wisconsin's user fee struc-
ture and to have fees more accurately reflect the 
costs of operating the court system, the fee structure 
was revised under Chapter 317, Laws of 1981. Un-
der the fee structure established by this legislation, 
a single court fee was imposed, with fees split be-
tween the municipality or county and the state, as 
opposed to the imposition of separate fees as under 
prior law. Additionally, many of the previous fees 
were raised and some were abolished. 
 
 Since the enactment of the 1981 law, court fees 
have increased, in general, and a number of addi-
tional fees have been created. Current court-related 
fees vary widely, depending upon the type of action 
involved. Additionally, certain fees are retained en-
tirely by the municipality or county in which they 
are collected. A list of specific court fees is in-
cluded in the Legislative Fiscal Bureau's informa-
tional paper entitled, "Wisconsin Court System."  
 
 Court-related fees are collected by the 
municipal judge in a municipal action and by the 
clerk of courts in a circuit court proceeding. State 
receipts from these collections are deposited in the 
general fund. In the 2021-22 fiscal year, the state 
share of court-related fee collections totaled $14.1 
million. Certain court fees that are deposited to the 
general fund as departmental revenues, rather than 
tax receipts, are not included in this total. 
 
Occupational Taxes  
 
 Wisconsin levies occupational taxes, in lieu of 
personal property taxes, on various businesses for 
the privilege of operating in the state. Occupational 
taxes are intended to result in fairly predictable 
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levies, as opposed to the fluctuating property tax 
burdens that would otherwise result from changing 
inventory levels. 
 
 Generally, the occupational tax base is the vol-
ume of material handled by a specific business in 
a given year, such as coal tonnage handled by a 
dock operator. Materials subject to occupational 
taxes generally are exempted from property taxes. 
The occupational taxes are assessed and collected 
on the local level, as are property taxes. Proceeds 
are divided among the state, county, municipality, 
and special funds according to tax-specific formu-
las.  
 
 Occupational tax payments are due at the local 
level on January 31 of each year for activities dur-
ing the year ending on the December 31 which was 
two years prior to the payment due date (thus, the 
January, 2023, payment is for activity occurring 
during the 2021 calendar year). Revenues gener-
ally must be remitted to the state by the February 
15 following the payment due date. Persons or or-
ganizations subject to an occupational tax must 
provide annual statements to municipal assessors 
detailing the amounts and types of material han-
dled during the preceding year as a basis for deter-
mining the tax liability. Any taxpayer knowingly 
furnishing an incorrect or false statement is subject 
to a fine not to exceed $1,000.  
 
 Coal Tax. The coal occupational tax is im-
posed upon the operators of coal docks in the state 
at the rate of 5¢ per ton of bituminous and subbi-
tuminous (soft) coal and related products, and 7¢ 
per ton of anthracite (hard) coal and related prod-
ucts handled by the docks each year. An exemp-
tion is provided for docks that handle coal solely 
in connection with an individual industry. The tax 
is distributed among the state, county, and munic-
ipality, which respectively receive 10%, 20%, and 
70% of total annual collections. In fiscal year 
2021-22, the state share of coal tax collections was 
$29,500. 

 Oil Refinery Tax. Operators of Wisconsin 

crude oil refineries are charged an occupational tax 
of 5¢ per ton of all oil handled annually. The tax is 
retained entirely by the municipalities in which it is 
collected. In April, 2018, Wisconsin's only oil refin-
ery, located in the City of Superior, suffered an ex-
plosion. Since that time, the refinery has been under 
reconstruction, and is scheduled to reopen in early 
2023. As a result, no oil refinery taxes were due on 
January 31, 2022. 
 
Metalliferous Mining Tax 
 
 Wisconsin imposes a net proceeds occupational 
tax on state metalliferous mining operations. Be-
cause the tax is based on net proceeds rather than 
on the amount of material handled, it is considered 
distinct from the other occupational taxes for pur-
poses of this paper. The mining tax is imposed us-
ing a progressive, bracket-based rate structure (to 
which fixed rates apply in statute) that is indexed to 
the annual change in the gross national product de-
flator for June of the current year compared to June 
of the previous year, subject to a maximum yearly 
increase of 10%. Persons mining metalliferous 
minerals must file a report with, and remit taxes to, 
the Department of Revenue on or before June 15 
reflecting net proceeds and metalliferous mining 
taxes due for the prior calendar year. Table 2 shows 
the tax rates and bracket structure for 2021 mining 
activity, payable in fiscal year 2021-22. 
 

Table 2: Mining Tax Rate Structure 
 
 Net Proceeds 
 Brackets for 2021-22 Rate 
 
 $0 to   $626,500  0% 
 626,501 to 12,533,400  3  
 12,533,401 to 25,066,400  7  
 25,066,401 to 37,600,200 10  
 37,600,201 to 50,133,900 13  
 50,133,901 to 62,666,700 14  
  62,666,701 or more 15 

 
 The tax base is determined by adding together 
the gross proceeds from mining and subtracting al-
lowable deductions. Allowable deductions include 
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the actual costs of labor and supplies in mining, 
costs of extracting and processing the ore, costs of 
mining related services, federal and state taxes 
paid, and site reclamation and restoration costs. 
Proceeds from the mining tax are first deposited in 
the Investment and Local Impact Fund (ILIF). How-
ever, 40% of mining tax revenues generated in ex-
cess of certain statutory payment amounts are de-
posited into the general fund. The ILIF was estab-
lished in 1977 to provide financial assistance to lo-
cal units of government experiencing social, educa-
tional, environmental, or economic impacts associ-
ated with metalliferous mining. The most recent 
mining operation in the state was the Flambeau 
mine in Rusk County. As a result of this mining ac-
tivity, the state collected net proceeds taxes of $0.44 
million in 1993-94, $6.13 million in 1994-95, $6.41 
million in 1995-96, $1.07 million in 1996-97, and 
$0.30 million in 1997-98. The mine closed its oper-
ations in 1997 and the mine site was reclaimed in 
1998. Consequently, no revenues were generated 
from this mine after 1997-98. 
 
Oil and Gas Severance Tax 
 
 The state imposes a severance tax upon each 
producer who severs oil or gas from the soil or wa-
ter in this state. The tax is imposed at a rate of 7% 
of the market value of the total production of oil or 
gas. If more than one producer severs oil or gas at 
the same location, the tax owed by each producer is 
proportionate to each producer's ownership inter-
est. However, the person in charge of production is 
liable for the entire amount of the tax due, but can 
withhold the amount of tax imposed on each pro-
ducer. Proceeds from the tax are deposited into the 
general fund. 
 
 The tax was established January 1, 1992, pursu-
ant to 1991 Act 262. Since that time, no oil or gas 
wells have been operated in this state; therefore, no 
revenues have been generated from the tax. 

Estate Tax 

 
 The Wisconsin statutes imposed an estate tax 
upon the transfer of all property that was subject to 
a federal estate tax and that had a taxable situs in 
this state. The Wisconsin estate tax was equal to the 
federal credit for state death taxes allowed under 
the federal estate tax. This type of tax is known as 
a "gap" or "pick-up" tax because it allows the state 
to "pick-up" a share of taxes that would otherwise 
be paid to the federal government, without increas-
ing the estate's overall tax liability. Wisconsin had 
generally used this method of estate taxation since 
1992. However, beginning with deaths occurring 
on January 1, 2008, Wisconsin no longer collects 
an estate tax because federal law does not allow a 
credit for state death taxes. In addition, 2013 Act 20 
specified that the estate tax does not apply to deaths 
occurring after December 31, 2012, unless the fed-
eral estate tax law is modified to provide a federal 
estate tax credit for state death taxes.  
 
 Since January 1, 2008, Wisconsin has still col-
lected a small amount of estate tax reflecting reve-
nues associated with lawsuits, audits, and amended 
returns attributed to deaths occurring prior to the 
elimination of the federal credit for state death 
taxes. Table 3 shows estate tax collections since 
2011-12. In fiscal year 2021-22, the state collected 
$2,600 in estate tax revenue. 

Table 3:  Estate Tax Collections ($ in Millions) 
 

    Fiscal  
     Year Amount 

 

 2011-12 $0.33 
 2012-13 0.31 
 2013-14 -0.08 
 2014-15 -0.11 
 2015-16 1.75 
 2016-17 0.43 
 2017-18 -0.03 
 2018-19 0.01 
 2019-20 0.04 
 2020-21 <0.01 
 2021-22 <0.01 
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APPENDIX 
 

Exemptions From the Real Estate Transfer Fee 
 

 
The following conveyances of real property are exempt from the real estate transfer fee: 

 

• Transfers from federal, state, or local units of government 

• Transfers by gift to units of federal, state, or local government 

• Dedications of land for certain public purposes and transfers to governmental units for the purpose 
of a road, street, or highway 

• Transfers for little or no consideration that correct or reform a previously recorded transfer 

• Sales of real estate for delinquent taxes or assessments 

• Transfers on partition 

• Transfers made pursuant to a merger of two or more corporations, nonstock corporations, limited 
liability companies (LLCs), limited partnerships (LPs), or other entities, or any combination thereof 

• Transfers pursuant to a partnership filing (or canceling) a statement of qualification to become a 
limited liability partnership 

• Transfers pursuant to an interest exchange for the acquisition of all of one or more classes or series 
of interests of an entity by a domestic partnership, LP, corporation, or LLC 

• Transfers pursuant to the conversion of a business entity to another form of business entity if, after 
the conversion, the ownership interests in the new entity are identical with the ownership interests 
in the original entity immediately preceding the conversion  

• Transfers from a subsidiary corporation to its parent corporation for little or no consideration 

• Transfers made pursuant to domestication of a domestic partnership, LP, corporation, or LLC as a 
non-U.S. entity or a non-U.S. entity as a domestic partnership, LP, corporation, or LLC 

• Transfers between a parent and child, stepparent and stepchild, parent and son-in-law, or parent and 
daughter-in-law for little or no consideration 

• Transfers between husband and wife 

• Transfers between domestic partners 

• Transfers between an agent and principal or from a trustee to a beneficiary without actual 
consideration 

• Transfers made in order to provide or release security for a debt if the debt was not incurred as the 
result of a conveyance 

• Transfers made solely to designate a transfer-on-death (TOD) beneficiary 
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• Transfers by will, descent, or survivorship 

• Nonprobate transfers on death to TOD beneficiaries 

• Transfers made pursuant to, or in lieu of, condemnation 

• Transfers of property valued at $1,000 or less 

• Transfers under a foreclosure, or a deed in lieu of foreclosure, to a mortgage holder or to a seller 
under a land contract 

• Certain transfers between family-owned corporations, partnerships, or LLCs and their respective 
shareholders, partners, or members. Such transfers must be for: (a) no consideration except the 
assumption of debt or stock of the corporation; or (b) the assumption of debt or an interest in the 
partnership or LLC 

• Transfers to a trust if a transfer from the grantor to the beneficiary of the trust would be exempt 

• Transfers of a deed executed in fulfillment of a land contract if the proper fee was paid when the 
land contract was recorded 

• Transfers to a local exposition district 

• Transfers from a fiduciary for a nonprofit association to convey the vested estate or interest to the 
nonprofit association in its own name 

• Certain transfers of transmission facilities or land rights to an electric transmission company (as 
defined in the statutes concerning public utility regulation) in exchange for securities 

 


