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AN ACT to amend 40.02 (48r), 40.23 (4) (c) and 40.23 (4) (e) 2. of the statutes;

relating to: changes required by the federal SECURE Act (suggested as

remedial legislation by the Department of Employee Trust Funds).

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

Under federal law, a qualified governmental retirement plan is required to
begin minimum distributions to participants in the plan upon the participants
reaching a specific age.  The federal Setting Every Community Up for Retirement
Enhancement (SECURE) Act of 2019 changed the age of the required minimum
distribution (RMD) age.  The Wisconsin Retirement System is a qualified
governmental retirement plan and is required to comply with this change in federal
law.  This bill changes the RMD references in Wisconsin law.

For further information, see the NOTES provided by the Law Revision
Committee of the Joint Legislative Council.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

LAW REVISION COMMITTEE PREFATORY NOTE:  This bill is a remedial legislation
proposal, requested by the Department of Employee Trust Funds and introduced by the
Law Revision Committee under s. 13.83 (1) (c) 4. and 5., stats.  After careful consideration
of the various provisions of the bill, the Law Revision Committee has determined that this
bill makes changes to statutes or session laws that the Law Revision Committee
determined to be in need of revision.
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SECTION 1

SECTION 1.  40.02 (48r) of the statutes is amended to read:

40.02 (48r)  “Required beginning date" means the later of April 1 of the calendar

year following the calendar year in which a participant attains the age of 70.5 years

set under section 401 (a) (9) of the Internal Revenue Code or April 1 of the calendar

year following the calendar year in which a participating employee retires.

NOTE:  SECTIONS 1 to 3 bring state law into compliance with federal law changes to
the required minimum distributions beginning age made by the Setting Every
Community Up for Retirement Enhancement (SECURE) Act of 2019.  These SECTIONS

replace specified ages with a reference to the ages set under the relevant Internal
Revenue Code section, so that future federal changes will be automatically reflected in
state law.

SECTION 2.  40.23 (4) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

40.23 (4) (c)  If a participant during the calendar year in which before the year

he or she attains 69.5 years the age set under section 401 (a) (9) of the Internal

Revenue Code, or the alternate payee during the calendar year before the year in

which the participant attains 69.5 years the age set under section 401 (a) (9) of the

Internal Revenue Code, does not apply before December 31 in that year for a

distribution of the amount that is credited to the account of a participant under the

Wisconsin retirement system, the department shall begin, effective the following

January 1, an automatic distribution to the participant or alternate payee in the

form of an annuity specified under s. 40.24 (1) (c) or as determined by the department

by rule.  If the department makes an automatic distribution under this paragraph,

the beneficiary designation filed with the department before the date on which the

department begins the automatic distribution is no longer applicable under ss. 40.71

and 40.73.  Unless the participant or alternate payee files a subsequent beneficiary

designation with the department after the date on which the department begins the

automatic distribution, the department shall pay any death benefit as provided

under s. 40.02 (8) (a) 2.
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SECTION 3

SECTION 3.  40.23 (4) (e) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:

40.23 (4) (e) 2.  Subject to section 401 (a) (9) of the Internal Revenue Code, if the

spouse or domestic partner files a subsequent beneficiary designation with the

department, the payment of the distribution may be deferred until the January 1 of

the year in which the participant would have attained the age of 70.5 years set under

section 401 (a) (9) of the Internal Revenue Code.

(END)
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