

STATE OF WISCONSIN JOINT LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Agenda

STUDY COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC DISCLOSURE AND OVERSIGHT OF CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT INCIDENTS

Representative Patrick Snyder, Chair, and Senator Kathy Bernier, Vice-Chair

September 23, 2020

- 1:00 p.m.
- 1:00 p.m.* CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL.
- 1:05 p.m. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES FROM THE AUGUST 27, 2020 MEETING.
- 1:10 p.m. DESCRIPTION OF MATERIALS DISTRIBUTED:
 - Memo No. 1, *Examples of Neighboring States' Laws Relating to Public Disclosure and Legislative Oversight of Critical Incidents of Child Abuse and Neglect* (September 16, 2020).
 - Memo No. 2, Background Information on the Systems Change Review Approach Adopted and Implemented by the Department of Children and Families for Conducting Practice Reviews (September 16, 2020).
- 1:15 p.m. PRESENTATION ON SAFETY SCIENCE AND THE COLLABORATIVE SAFETY MODEL FOR SYSTEMIC CRITICAL INCIDENT REVIEWS BY:
 - Noel Hengelbrok, M.Sc., Co-Founder, Collaborative Safety, LLC.
 - Dr. Scott J. Modell, Ph.D., Co-Founder, Collaborative Safety, LLC.

*All of the times listed in the agenda are approximations.

Supporting Effective Lawmaking Since 1947

One East Main Street, Suite 401, Madison, WI 53703-3382 (608) 266-1304 | Email: leg.council@legis.wisconsin.gov http://www.legis.wisconsin.gov/lc Co-Chairs Roger Roth | Senate Pre Legislative Council Staff Anne Sappenfield | Director

Roger Roth | Senate President Robert Brooks | Representative

- 2:00 p.m. PRESENTATION ON THE NATIONAL PARTNERSHIP FOR CHILD SAFETY BY:
 - Dr. Michael Cull, Associate Director, Safe Systems, University of Kentucky Center for Innovation in Population Health.
- 2:45 p.m. SUMMARY OF RECOMMENDATIONS BY THE DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILIES:
 - Wendy Henderson, Administrator, Division of Safety and Permanence.
 - Therese Durkin, General Counsel, Office of Legal Counsel.
 - Lisa Hankes, Section Manager, Bureau of Safety and Well-Being.
- 3:00 p.m. DISCUSSION OF COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENT.
- 4:05 p.m. PLANS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS.
- 4:10 p.m. ADJOURNMENT.

Other committee members: Sens. Jacque and Johnson; Rep. Subeck; and Public Members Cable, Coddington, Conwell, Easker, Reed, and Roberts.