

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

AGENDA

STUDY COMMITTEE ON DIRECT PRIMARY CARE

Senator Alberta Darling, Chair Representative John Nygren, Vice-Chair

July 24, 2018

Room 412 East State Capitol Madison, WI

- 10:00 a.m. CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL.
- 10:05 a.m. OPENING REMARKS:
 - Representative Robert Brooks, Co-Chair, Joint Legislative Council.
 - Terry C. Anderson, Director, Legislative Council Staff.
- 10:15 a.m. REMARKS OF THE CHAIR:
 - Introductory Remarks Senator Alberta Darling, Chair.
- 10:20 a.m. OVERVIEW OF DIRECT PRIMARY CARE (DPC) MODEL BY DPC PROVIDER PANEL:
 - Dr. Steve Bondow (MD), DPC Physician, BondowMD Direct, Delafield, WI.
 - Dr. Philip Eskew (DO, JD, MBA), DPC Physician and Attorney, Corizon Health, DPC Frontier, Proactive MD, DPC Coalition, Torrington, WY.
 - Dr. Joshua Umbehr (MD), DPC Physician, Atlas MD Concierge Family Practice and Atlas CRM, LLC, Bel Aire, KS.

One East Main Street, Suite 401 • P.O. Box 2536 • Madison, WI 53701-2536 (608) 266-1304 • Fax: (608) 266-3830 • Email: leg.council@legis.wisconsin.gov http://www.legis.wisconsin.gov/lc

^{*}All of the times listed in the agenda are approximations.

11:20 a.m. OVERVIEW OF COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENT:

• Background Materials -- Brian Larson, Senior Staff Attorney, and Andrea Brauer, Staff Attorney, Legislative Council Staff.

12:00 p.m. LUNCH.

1:00 p.m. DPC AND HEALTH INSURANCE MARKET OVERVIEW:

- Donna Friedsam, Health Policy Programs Director, UW Population Health Institute and Distinguished Researcher, Population Health Sciences.
- Sam Austin, Evidence-Based Health Policy Project Managing Director and Health Policy Analyst, UW Population Health Institute.
- George Quinn, Executive Director, Wisconsin Council on Medical Education and Workforce.

2:00 p.m. PRESENTATION BY THE OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE (OCI):

- Elizabeth Hizmi, Legislative Liaison/Public Information Officer, OCI.
- Zach Bemis, Chief Legal Counsel, OCI.
- 2:30 p.m. COMMITTEE DISCUSSION AND PLANS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS:
 - Committee member remarks.
 - Discussion of topics for future meetings.

3:30 p.m. ADJOURNMENT.

*An orientation session for the committee's public members will begin one hour prior to the meeting. Legislative members are not required to attend.

Other committee members: Sens. Johnson and Tiffany; Reps. Felzkowski and Kolste; and Public Members Banaszynski, Dicus-Johnson, Gehl, McNally, Murray, Rakowski, Trowbridge, and Van Meeteren.