The Forum for America's Idea

Wisconsin Legislative Council Study Committee on the Use of Police Body Cameras State Activity Addressing Police Body Cameras and Data Management Practices

National Conference of State Legislatures July 26th, 2018

National Conference of State Legislatures

- Non-profit, bi-partisan organization.
- Members are all 7,383 legislators and 30,000 legislative staff in 50 states, D.C. and U.S. territories.
- Offices in Denver and D.C.
- Among our goals To provide legislatures with information and research about policy issues, both state and federal.
- NCSL tracks state policy developments in all public policy areas.



Outline

Overview of legislative trends

Body camera data management legislation





Trends in Legislation

 Requiring use
Requiring Written Policies
Studies and Task Forces Body camera funding Eavesdropping laws Open Records implications



Requiring Use and Written Policies



Studies and Task Forces

California – pilot program

Colorado Body-Worn Camera Study Group <u>Report</u>

New Mexico – 2018 resolution

Studies and Task Forces

Washington Joint Legislative Task Force on **Body Worn Cameras Report** Purpose of body cameras Accountability Transparency Evidentiary Tool Enhancement to Public Safety



Body Camera Funding

13 states and Washington, C

Pilot programs

Grant programs

This Photo by Unknown Author is licensed under <u>CC BY-SA</u>

(





Data Management Legislation



Data Storage and Retention Best Practices

- Designate person to download data
- Procedures for when to download and how to tag/categorize
- Measures to prevent tampering, deletion, etc.
- Records of access/deletion retained permanently
- Specify data storage location
- Reputable third-party vendors if needed



Best Practices

Length of time to maintain recordings ■Non-evidentiary – minimum 60 days **2** years in specified instances Any length of time relevant to



Reasons for longer time periods
Arrest or detention
Use of Force
Filing of a complaint



Specifically enumerated

- Georgia generally 180 days, 30 months in certain instances
- Idaho 200 days if evidentiary value, 60 days if not
- Illinois 90 days without being altered, two years in certain instances



- Specifically enumerated
 - Indiana
 - State agencies: unaltered, unobscured law enforcement recordings for at least 280 days
 - Localities: 190 days
 - Minnesota
 - A subject may request additional 180 days
 - Oregon
 - Seven years for certain recordings
 - At least one year for all others

Incorporated in written policy

□Florida: "A law enforcement agency that permits its law enforcement officers to wear body cameras shall establish policies and procedures addressing the proper use, maintenance, and storage of body cameras and the data recorded by body cameras..." Nevada: Highway Patrol procedures



Governed by other statute or regulation Kentucky – governed by regulations of the **Department of Libraries and Archives** North Carolina – required to be retained pursuant to the Department of Natural and **Cultural Resources, Division of Archives and Records**

Open Records Implications

Subject to open records laws Range of exceptions Presence of minors Communication with undercover officers, informants Footage in location where expectation of

Not subject to open records requests

- Limited exceptions
 - Subject of video may view it
 - Court order
 - Public interest

privacy

Other Data Practices

- California, Oregon data is property of law enforcement agency
- Connecticut, Indiana, Utah prohibits editing, erasing, copying, sharing, etc.
- Minnesota requires agencies conduct biennial audits of their data by an independent agency

 Pennsylvania – comply with FBI's Criminal Justice Information Services Security
Policy NATIONAL CONFERENCE of STATE LEGISLATURES

NCSL Body-Worn Camera Laws



http://www.ncsl.org/research/civil-and-criminal-justice/body-worn-cameras-interactive-graphic.aspx

The Forum for America's Idea

Questions?

Amanda Essex Senior Policy Specialist Criminal Justice Amanda.Essex@ncsl.org