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PRELIMINARY DRAFT - NOT READY FOR INTRODUCTION

AN ACT to repeal 969.035 (3) (b) and 969.035 (6) (c); to amend 969.035 (3)

(intro.), 969.035 (4), 969.035 (8) and 969.035 (9); and to create 969.035 (6) (cm)

of the statutes; relating to: pretrial detention.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

This bill is explained in the NOTES provided by the Joint Legislative Council in
the bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

JOINT LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL PREFATORY NOTE:  This bill was prepared for the Joint
Legislative Council's Study Committee on Bail and Conditions of Pretrial Release.  Under
current law, a court may deny release to a defendant prior to trial under a procedure
prescribed by statute if the defendant is accused of committing one of certain specified
crimes or is accused of committing a violent crime, as defined by statute, and has
previously been convicted of a violent crime.  The statutory pretrial detention procedure
is authorized by Article I, Section 8 (3) of the Wisconsin Constitution, which also
prescribes many of the requirements that a statutory pretrial detention procedure must
contain.  This bill modifies certain portions of the pretrial detention procedure that are
not prescribed by the Wisconsin Constitution.  These changes are described below.

Initiating pretrial detention procedure

Under current law, to initiate the statutory pretrial detention procedure, a district
attorney is required to make certain allegations to the court and file a copy of the
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complaint charging commission of a crime that qualifies the defendant for pretrial
detention.  This bill allows a district attorney to initiate the pretrial detention procedure
by making an oral motion to the court.  It also removes the requirement that a district
attorney file a copy of the complaint charging commission of a qualifying crime when
moving the court to detain the defendant.

Rules governing the pretrial detention hearing

Current law specifies that in a pretrial hearing “the evidence shall be presented in
open court with the right of confrontation, right to call witnesses, right to
cross-examination and right to representation of counsel.”  This bill removes this
provision and replaces it with a provision that provides that the defendant has the right
to be represented by counsel and shall be afforded an opportunity to testify, to present
witnesses, to cross-examine witnesses, and to present information by proffer or
otherwise.

Current law also provides that the rules of evidence in criminal trials govern the
admissibility of evidence at a pretrial detention hearing. This bill provides that the rules
concerning admissibility of evidence in criminal trials do not apply to the presentation
and consideration of information at a pretrial detention hearing.

Determining whether delay is caused by defendant

Current law allows a court to detain a defendant for 10 days prior to a pretrial
detention hearing if the district attorney has met the requirements for initiating the
pretrial detention process and for 60 days following a pretrial detention hearing if the
state proves, by clear and convincing evidence, both of the following:  (a) that the
defendant committed a qualifying crime or attempted to commit a violent crime after a
prior violent crime conviction; and (b) that available conditions of release will not
adequately protect the public from serious bodily harm or prevent the intimidation of
witnesses.  In computing the 10-day and 60-day periods, the court shall omit any period
of time found by the court to result from a delay caused by the defendant or a continuance
granted which was initiated by the defendant.

Current law provides that delay is caused by the defendant only if the delay is
“expressly requested” by the defendant. The bill removes the provision providing that
delay is caused by the defendant only if the delay is expressly requested by the defendant.

SECTION 1.  969.035 (3) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

969.035 (3) (intro.)  A court may proceed under this section upon oral motion

by the district attorney if the district attorney alleges to the court and provides the

court with documents as follows:

SECTION 2.  969.035 (3) (b) of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 3.  969.035 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:

969.035 (4)  If the court determines that the district attorney has complied with

sub. (3), the court may order that the detention of a person who is currently in custody

be continued or may issue a warrant commanding any law enforcement officer to
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SECTION 3

bring the defendant without unnecessary delay before the court.  When the

defendant is brought before the court, he or she shall be given a copy of the documents

specified in sub. (3) and informed of his or her rights under this section and s. 970.02

(1) and (6).

SECTION 4.  969.035 (6) (c) of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 5.  969.035 (6) (cm) of the statutes is created to read:

969.035 (6) (cm)  The defendant has the right to be represented by counsel.  The

defendant shall be afforded an opportunity to testify, to present witnesses, to

cross-examine witnesses who appear at the hearing, and to present information by

proffer or otherwise.  The rules concerning admissibility of evidence in criminal trials

do not apply to the presentation and consideration of information at the hearing.

NOTE:  This section is modeled on similar provisions in New Jersey's and the
District of Columbia's pretrial detention statutes.  This section removes the “right to
confrontation” and gives the defendant the opportunity to present witnesses and to
cross-examine witnesses rather than the right to call witnesses and cross examination.

****NOTE:  Does this language convey the intent of the committee?

SECTION 6.  969.035 (8) of the statutes is amended to read:

969.035 (8)  If the court makes the findings under sub. (6) (a) and (b), the court

may deny bail release to the defendant for an additional period not to exceed 60 days

following the hearing.  If the time period passes and the defendant is otherwise

eligible, he or she shall be released from custody with or without conditions in

accordance with s. 969.03.

SECTION 7.  969.035 (9) of the statutes is amended to read:

969.035 (9)  In computing the 10-day periods under sub. (5) and the 60-day

period under sub. (8), the court shall omit any period of time found by the court to

result from a delay caused by the defendant or a continuance granted which was

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21



- 4 -2019 - 2020  Legislature LRB-0509/P3
MLJ:kjf

SECTION 7

initiated by the defendant.  Delay is caused by the defendant only if the delay is

expressly requested by the defendant.

(END)
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