## State of Misconsin JOINT LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

*Co-Chairs* **ROGER ROTH Senate President** 

ROBERT BROOKS Assembly Assistant Majority Leader



LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF Terry C. Anderson Director Jessica Karls-Ruplinger Deputy Director

## TO: MEMBERS OF THE STUDY COMMITTEE ON VOLUNTEER FIREFIGHTER AND EMERGENCY MEDICAL TECHNICIAN SHORTAGES

FROM: Margit Kelley, Senior Staff Attorney, and Andrea Brauer, Staff Attorney

DATE: January 4, 2017

This letter is to notify you of the results of the mail ballot submitted to your committee:

- LRB-0246/1, relating to intravenous technician endorsement for emergency medical technicians, passed on a vote of Ayes, 10 (Sens. Nass and Bewley; Rep. Kremer; and Public Members Hillebrand, Michalek, Olson, Rickaby, Seager, Jr., Stoker, and Tousey); and Noes, 5 (Rep. Kolste; and Public Members Eich, Sechler, Small, and Wright).
- LRB-0247/1, relating to licensure or certificate renewal for certain emergency medical services personnel, passed on a vote of Ayes, 11 (Sens. Nass and Bewley; Rep. Kremer; and Public Members Hillebrand, Michalek, Olson, Rickaby, Seager, Jr., Stoker, Tousey, and Wright); and Noes, 4 (Rep. Kolste; and Public Members Eich, Sechler, and Small).
- LRB-0567/1, relating to authorizing the creation of a fire service district, authorizing a fire service district to levy a property tax, and authorizing a fire service district to impose special charges and issue debt, passed on a vote of Ayes, 10 (Sen. Nass; Reps. Kremer and Kolste; and Public Members Eich, Michalek, Seager, Jr., Sechler, Small, Stoker, and Wright); and Noes, 5 (Sen. Bewley; and Public Members Hillebrand, Olson, Rickaby, and Tousey).
- LRB-0589/1, relating to funding for first responder and emergency medical technician training and certification and making an appropriation, passed on a vote of Ayes, 15 (Sens. Nass and Bewley; Reps. Kremer and Kolste; and

Public Members Eich, Hillebrand, Michalek, Olson, Rickaby, Seager, Jr., Sechler, Small, Stoker, Tousey, and Wright); and Noes, 0.

- LRB-0595/1, relating to revising the length-of-service awards program in the Department of Administration for volunteer emergency response personnel, passed on a vote of Ayes, 14 (Sens. Nass and Bewley; Reps. Kremer and Kolste; and Public Members Eich, Hillebrand, Michalek, Rickaby, Seager, Jr., Sechler, Small, Stoker, Tousey, and Wright); and Noes, 1 (Public Member Olson).
- LRB-0596/1, relating to prohibiting local units of government from prohibiting their employees who are emergency responders from volunteering to serve in that same capacity in a different jurisdiction, failed on a vote of Ayes, 7 (Sen. Nass; Rep. Kremer; and Public Members Olson, Rickaby, Seager, Jr., Small, and Stoker); and Noes, 8 (Sen. Bewley; Rep. Kolste; and Public Members Eich, Hillebrand, Michalek, Sechler, Tousey, and Wright).
- LRB-0683/1, relating to creating a refundable individual income tax credit for emergency responders and making an appropriation, passed on a vote of Ayes, 15 (Sens. Nass and Bewley; Reps. Kremer and Kolste; and Public Members Eich, Hillebrand, Michalek, Olson, Rickaby, Seager, Jr., Sechler, Small, Stoker, Tousey, and Wright); and Noes, 0.
- LRB-0685/1, relating to creating an individual income tax credit for certain expenses incurred by an emergency responder and making an appropriation, passed on a vote of Ayes, 14 (Sens. Nass and Bewley; Reps. Kremer and Kolste; and Public Members Eich, Michalek, Olson, Rickaby, Seager, Jr., Sechler, Small, Stoker, Tousey, and Wright); and Noes, 1 (Public Member Hillebrand).
- Draft/2, Letter to the Wisconsin Technical College System and the Wisconsin Technical College District Boards Association, Inc., passed on a vote of Ayes, 15 (Sens. Nass and Bewley; Reps. Kremer and Kolste; and Public Members Eich, Hillebrand, Michalek, Olson, Rickaby, Seager, Jr., Sechler, Small, Stoker, Tousey, and Wright); and Noes, 0.
- Draft/2, Letter to Linda Seemeyer, Secretary, Department of Health Services, passed on a vote of Ayes, 15 (Sens. Nass and Bewley; Reps. Kremer and Kolste; and Public Members Eich, Hillebrand, Michalek, Olson, Rickaby, Seager, Jr., Sechler, Small, Stoker, Tousey, and Wright); and Noes, 0.

You will be notified when the Joint Legislative Council schedules a meeting to receive the report of your committee.

MSK:AB:jal