

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Legislative Council Study Committee on Rural Broadband

Chair Howard Marklein, Senator S11665 Soeldner Road Spring Green, WI 53588

Scott Behn, Chief Executive Officer Mosaic Telecom P.O. Box 664 Cameron, WI 54822

Jim Costello, General Manager LYNXX Lemonweir Valley Telcom 127 State Hwy. 12 & 16 Camp Douglas, WI 54618

Mike Hill, Senior Government Relations Manager Charter Communications 1201 McCann Dr. Altoona, WI 54720

Michelle Olson, Town Supervisor Town of Harrison, Grant County 6676 Platte Rd. Platteville, WI 53818

Ben Rivard, Realtor Coldwell Bankers, Brenizer Realtors Rice Lake, WI 54868

Mark Spreitzer, Representative 1718 Henderson Ave. Beloit, WI 53511 Vice Chair Warren Petryk, Representative S 9840 Hwy 93 Eleva, WI 54738

Ronald Brisbois, Executive Director Grant County Economic Development Corp. 23759 CTH NN Richland Center, WI 53581

Philip Hejtmanek 8443 Little Horsehead Hill Road Harshaw, WI 54529

Beth Meyers, Representative 36505 Aiken Rd. Bayfield, WI 54814

Jean Pauk, State Government Affairs Mgr. TDS Telecom 525 Junction Road Madison, WI 53717

Kelly Shipley, General Manager-Southern & Eastern WI Frontier Communications 100 Communications Drive Sun Prairie, WI 53590

<u>STUDY ASSIGNMENT</u>: The Study Committee is directed to review the Wisconsin Broadband Expansion Grant Program and the extent to which it has encouraged construction of broadband infrastructure in areas of the state with few broadband service providers. The committee shall discuss the criteria used to evaluate applications and award grants, consider alternatives for determining eligibility and prioritizing proposed projects, consider alternative methods for encouraging construction of broadband infrastructure, and identify options to recommend.

13 MEMBERS: 3 Representatives; 1 Senator; and 9 Public Members.

<u>LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF</u>: Larry Konopacki, Principal Attorney; Zach Ramirez and Julia Norsetter, Staff Attorneys; and Julie Learned, Support Staff.