

# Wisconsin Briefs

from the Legislative Reference Bureau

Brief 13–5 April 2013

## STATUTORY MISDEMEANORS IN WISCONSIN

Crimes in Wisconsin – conduct prohibited by state law and punishable by fine, imprisonment, or both – are classified as either felonies or misdemeanors. Generally, a misdemeanor is considered to be a less severe crime than a felony. This brief offers an introduction to identifying and classifying misdemeanors followed by an exhaustive listing of all statutory misdemeanors.

## Felony or Misdemeanor

Although both felonies and misdemeanors are punishable by fine or imprisonment, in Wisconsin they are distinguished by the term and place of imprisonment. If a crime is punishable by confinement in a state prison, it is a felony, while all other crimes are misdemeanors. Sentences of more than one year are served in a state prison and are therefore felonies. Sentences of less than one year are served in a county jail and are therefore misdemeanors.

Classification of sentences of exactly one year depends on whether the statute for the offense states a place of imprisonment. If a statute specifies that a one-year sentence should be served in a county jail, the crime is a misdemeanor. Alternatively, if a statute does not indicate a place of imprisonment for a one-year sentence, the Wisconsin Supreme Court has ruled that the crime is a felony [*State ex rel. McDonald v. Douglas County Circuit Ct.* 100 Wis. 2d 569, 302 N.W.2d 462 (1981)].

#### **Classes and Penalties**

Some misdemeanor offenses are located in the criminal code, Chapters 939 to 951 of the Statutes. These crimes are categorized into three classes, each with a corresponding maximum dollar fine and term of imprisonment:

Misdemeanor Class	Maximum Fine	Maximum Imprisonment
A	\$10,000	9 months
В	\$1,000	90 days
C	\$500	30 days

Misdemeanors outside the criminal code generally do not have an assigned class and instead may include stated minimum or maximum fines and terms of imprisonment. If no penalty is stated, a misdemeanant may be fined no more than \$500 or imprisoned no more than 30 days or both. Additionally, special circumstances may provide for increased penalties. For example, for certain violent misdemeanors committed in a school zone, the maximum term of imprisonment increases by three months.

Reference Desk: (608) 266-0341 Web Site: www.legis.wisconsin.gov/lrb -2- LRB-13-WB-5

### List of Misdemeanors

The table below comprises all misdemeanors in the 2011-12 Wisconsin Statutes. Each row represents one statutory unit describing a criminal offense that is explicitly labeled a misdemeanor or includes penalties descriptive of a misdemeanor.

There are 930 listed misdemeanors, although many apply to a broad range of statutes (subchapters, chapters, or multiple chapters), while others apply to only a single statute or subunit thereof. The table is presented in ascending statutory order and includes the penalty or class associated with each misdemeanor.

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
11.61 (1) (c)	Various campaign financing violations	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
12.03 and 12.60 (1) (b)	Electioneering on election day by certain persons at certain locations	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
12.05 and 12.60 (1) (b)	False representations affecting elections	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
12.07 and 12.60 (1) (b)	Election restrictions on employers	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
12.08 and 12.60 (1) (b)	Causing another to support a candidate by threatening to deny government benefits	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
12.13 (2) (b) 8. or (3) (b), (c), (d), (g), (i), (n) to (x), (ze), (zm) or (zn) and 12.60 (1) (b)	Certain acts of election fraud	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
12.60 (1) (bm)	Unauthorized release of records or investigatory information relating to elections	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
13.27 (2)	Contempt of the legislature	Max. \$200, 1 year
13.69 (3)	Falsified statements on a lobbying expense statement	Max. \$1,000, 1 year
16.009 (5) (b)	Discriminating against any person cooperating with the Board on Aging and Long-Term Care	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
16.845 (1)	Use of state facilities without a permit	Max. \$100, 30 days
16.846 (1) (a)	Violations of Department of Administration rules relating to the use, care, and preservation of property under department control	Max. \$100, 30 days
19.24	Refusal by a public officer to deliver to a successor money and other property belonging to the office	Max. \$100, 6 months
19.58 (1) (a)	Intentional violations of the code of ethics for public officials and employees	\$100-\$5,000; Max. 1 year
20.906 (3)	Improper use of a receipts form issued by or for a state agency collecting or receiving money for the state	
23.095 (3) (d) 2.	Intentional damage or attempt to damage an archaeological feature or natural resource	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
23.22 (8) (b) and (c)	Violations of Department of Natural Resources rules controlling invasive species	\$700-\$5,000; 6-9 months
23.24 (6) (b)	Violations relating to aquatic plant management (second offense within five years)	\$700-\$2,000; 6-9 months
23.33 (13) (b) 2.	Intoxicated operation of an all-terrain vehicle or utility terrain vehicle (second offense within five years)	\$300-\$1,100; 5 days-6 months
23.33 (13) (b) 3.	Intoxicated operation of an all-terrain vehicle or utility terrain vehicle (third or subsequent offense within five years)	\$600-\$2,000; 30 days-1 year

LRB-13-WB-5 -3-

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
23.33 (13) (c)	Intoxicated operation of an all-terrain vehicle or utility terrain vehicle causing injury	\$600-\$2,000; 30 days-1 year
26.14 (5)	Failure to totally extinguish a fire (second or subsequent offense)	Max. \$500, 30 days
26.14 (6)	Causing a forest fire	Max. \$1,000, 90 days
26.14 (7)	Setting a fire upon marsh or other land to drive out game birds or animals	Max. \$1,000, 90 days
26.19 (1)	Destruction of forest protection equipment or notices	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
26.20 (9) (b)	Willful violations by a corporation relating to fire protection devices	Max. \$1,000
26.985 (2)	Violations relating to the protection of forest lands and productivity (second or third offense within five years)	Max. \$100, 6 months
26.985 (3)	Violations relating to the protection of forest lands and productivity (fourth or subsequent offense within three years)	Max. \$2,000, 9 months
29.088 (2)	Taking, capturing, or killing wild animals with the aid of any explosive or poison gas	Max. \$300, 30 days
29.314 (7) (a)	Shining deer, elk, or bear while hunting or possessing weapons	\$1,000-\$2,000; Max. 6 months
29.331 (5) (b)	Tampering with lawfully placed animal traps	\$300-\$1,000; Max. 90 days
29.341 (2)	Failure to follow lawful procedures and duties following an accidental shooting while hunting	Max. \$5,000, 9 months (neglect) or 1 year (intentional)
29.501 (10)	Violations relating to fur dealers	Max. \$1,000, 9 months
29.601 (1) (b)	Use of explosives or stupefactives in state waters	Max. \$500, 90 days
29.601 (3) (c) 2.	Throwing or depositing deleterious substances in state waters	Max. \$200, 90 days
29.604 (5) (a) 1.	Intentionally taking, transporting, possessing, processing, or selling within the state an endangered or threatened wild animal	\$2,000-\$5,000; Max. 9 months
29.604 (5) (a) 2.	Intentional violations relating to endangered and threatened plant species	Max. \$1,000, 9 months
29.957	Tampering with Department of Natural Resources seals or tags attached to an animal, carcass, or object	Max. \$500, 90 days
29.964 (1)	Changing or altering a Department of Natural Resources approval	Max. \$200, 90 days
29.967 (1) (b)	Violations relating to a suspended or revoked Department of Natural Resources approval (second or subsequent offense within five years)	\$500-\$1,000
29.967 (3)	Obtaining a Department of Natural Resources approval during a period of time when that approval is revoked	Max. \$200, 90 days
29.971 (1) (b)	Violations relating to taking, transporting, acquiring, selling, purchasing, or possessing fish	\$1,000-\$5,000; Max. 30 days
29.971 (1m) (b)	Violations relating to possession of clams	Max. \$5,000, 30 days
29.971 (5)	Violations relating to the sale of wild animals	\$1,000-\$2,000; Max. 6 months
29.971 (5g)	Violations relating to serving game to guests of restaurants, clubs, hotels, boarding houses, taverns, or camps	Max. \$500, 90 days
29.971 (5m)	Illegally taking or possessing lake sturgeon	\$1,500; Max. 90 days
29.971 (7)	Hunting with the aid of an aircraft	Max. \$1,000 (1st offense) or \$2,000 (subsequent offenses), 90 days
29.971 (11)	Deer hunting violations	\$1,000-\$2,000; Max. 6 months
29.971 (11g) (a)	Elk hunting violations	\$1,000-\$15,000; Max. 6 months

-4- LRB-13-WB-5

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
29.971 (11m) (a)	Bear hunting violations	\$1,000-\$2,000 (1st offense) or \$10,000 (subsequent offenses); Max. 6 months (1st offense) or 9 months (subsequent offenses)
29.971 (11p) (a)	Entering the den of a hibernating black bear and harming the bear	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
29.974 (1)	Determination by a court following a conviction for a violation relating to wild animals and plants that the guilty person has a prior conviction within a period of five years	Max. \$100, 6 months
29.974 (2) (b)	Determination by a court following a conviction for a violation relating to wild animals and plants that the guilty person has three prior convictions within a period of three years	Max. \$2,000, 9 months
30.12 (5)	Unlawful structures and deposits in navigable waters	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
30.80 (2)	Reckless or negligent operation of a boat endangering life or property	Max. \$200, 6 months
30.80 (2g) (a)	Failure to render aid in a boat accident (if the accident did not involve death or injury to a person)	\$300-\$1,000; Max. 6 months
30.80 (2g) (b)	Failure to render aid in a boat accident (if the accident involved injury to a person but the person did not suffer great bodily harm)	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
30.80 (6) (a) 2.	Intoxicated boating (second offense within five years)	\$300-\$1,000; 5 days-6 months
30.80 (6) (a) 3.	Intoxicated boating (third offense within five years)	\$600-\$2,000; 30 days- 1 year
30.80 (6) (a) 4.	Intoxicated boating (fourth offense within five years)	\$600-\$2,000; 60 days-1 year
30.80 (6) (a) 5.	Intoxicated boating (fifth or subsequent offense within five years)	\$600-\$2,000; 6 months-1 year
30.80 (6) (b)	Intoxicated boating causing an injury	\$300-\$2,000; 30 days-1 year
31.34	Violations of water flow and dam regulations	\$50-\$1,000
32.29	False statements by an employee of a governmental entity with condemnation power to an owner of property concerning the condemnation of such property	\$50-\$1,000; Max. 1 year
34.11	Violations relating to public deposits	Max. \$500, 6 months
36.11 (1) (a)	Violations of rules promulgated by the Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System to protect the lives, health, and safety of persons or property under its jurisdiction	Max. \$500, 90 days
36.35 (3)	Entering campus property without permission following prior misconduct	Max. \$500, 3 months
38.50 (8) (i)	Soliciting of students	Max. \$200, 3 months
38.50 (13) (b)	Issuing or manufacturing a false academic credential	A
42.05 (3)	Unlawful auto racing without a properly equipped muffler	Max. \$200, 6 months
42.07 (2)	Ticket scalping for entry to an event under the auspices of the state fair park	\$10-\$100; Max. 60 days
44.47 (7) (a) 2.	Tampering with archaeological objects or data belonging to the state or intentionally interfering with related work	\$1,000-\$5,000
45.03 (16) (b)	False statements with the intent to secure veterans benefits	Max. \$500, 6 months
45.06 (2)	Withholding from a veteran any discharge paper, citation, warrant, medal, badge, or evidence that the veteran is entitled to certain rights	Max. \$100, 6 months
46.10 (14) (e) 4.	Denial of employment, discharge, or discipline of an employee by an employer based on an assignment of certain social services benefits	Max. \$500
46.90 (6) (d)	Requesting or obtaining confidential information relating to the elder abuse reporting system under false pretenses	Max. \$500, 1 year

LRB-13-WB-5 -5-

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
46.90 (9) (d)	Discriminating against any person for reporting in good faith under the elder abuse reporting system	Max. \$10,000, 6 months
46.90 (9) (e)	Failure to report under the elder abuse reporting system	Max. \$500, 6 months
47.02 (7) (c)	Violations relating to vocational rehabilitation	Max. \$500, 6 months
47.03 (3) (d)	Advertising, selling, or distributing a product as being blind-made when less than 75% of the labor involved in creating the product was performed by visually impaired persons	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
48.025 (6) (b)	Intentionally obtaining, using, or disclosing confidential information relating to a declaration of paternal interest in matters affecting children	Max. \$1,000, 90 days
48.42 (5)	False statements in the course of a proceeding for the termination of parental rights with an intent to prevent a person from receiving notice of such proceeding	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
48.658 (3) (a)	Transporting a child to or from a child care provider in a child care vehicle in which a child safety alarm has not been installed or is not in good working order	
48.60 and 48.76	Violations relating to child welfare agency licensing	Max. \$500, 1 year
48.62 and 48.76	Violations relating to foster home licensing	Max. \$500, 1 year
48.625 and 48.76	Violations relating to group home licensing	Max. \$500, 1 year
48.63 and 48.76	Violations relating to child placements in foster homes or group homes	Max. \$500, 1 year
48.65 and 48.76	Violations relating to child care center licensing	Max. \$500, 1 year
48.825 (5)	Unlawful adoption advertising	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
48.981 (6)	Failure to report abused or neglected children or abused unborn children	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
48.981 (7) (f)	Confidentiality violations of records concerning the reporting of abused or neglected children or abused unborn children	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
49.141 (7) (b)	False statements, concealment, or failure to disclose information relating to eligibility for a payment under Wisconsin Works	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
49.22 (4)	Unlawful use or disclosure of information obtained by the state location service assisting in locating parents	\$25-\$500; Max. 1 year
49.345 (14) (e) 4.	Denial of employment, discharge, or discipline of an employee by an employer based on an assignment of certain public assistance benefits	Max. \$500
49.45 (4m) (e)	Unlawful disclosure or retention of information relating to the financial record matching program by a financial institution	\$50-\$1,000; 10 days-1 year
49.45 (6m) (g)	Refusal by an intermediate care facility or skilled nursing facility to recover costs reimbursable for persons eligible for certain Medicare benefits or to obtain Medicare certification required by federal law	\$10/day-\$100/day
49.49 (1) (b) 2.	False statements or concealments relating to the acquisition of Medical Assistance benefits or payments	Max. \$10,000, 1 year
49.688 (9) (c)	Violations of Department of Health Services rules relating to prohibitions on Medical Assistance fraud	Max. \$10,000, 1 year
49.795 (8) (a) 1.	First food stamp offense (if the value of the food coupons does not exceed \$100)	Max. \$1,000, 1 year
49.795 (8) (b) 1.	Second food stamp offense (if the value of the food coupons does not exceed \$100)	Max. \$1,000, 1 year
49.83	Using or disclosing information concerning applicants to various public assistance programs for purposes not connected with the administration of the programs	\$25-\$500; 10 days-1 year
49.853 (3) (c)	Disclosure or retention of information unrelated to matching records by a financial institution participating in the financial institution matching option.	\$25-\$500; 10 days-1 year
49.853 (4) (d)	Unlawful request of information by a financial institution participating in the state matching option to the Department of Health Services	\$25-\$500; 10 days-1 year

-6-LRB-13-WB-5

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
49.95 (1) (b)	Making false representations to secure certain public assistance (if the value of the assistance exceeds \$300 but does not exceed \$1,000)	Max. \$250, 6 months
49.95 (1) (c)	Making false representations to secure certain public assistance (if the value of the assistance exceeds \$1,000 but does not exceed \$2,000)	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
49.95 (2)	Willful interference with the proper administration of public assistance	\$10-\$100; 10-60 days
49.95 (4m)	Obtaining pecuniary advantage by sending, bringing, or advising another to secure certain public assistance benefits	Max. \$500, 30 days
50.03 (1)	Unlicensed operation of a community-based residential facility or nursing home	Max. \$500/day, 6 months
50.032 (6)	Uncertified operation of an adult family home	Max. \$500, 1 year
50.033 (6)	Unlicensed operation of an adult family home	Max. \$500, 1 year
50.07 (2)	Violations relating to uniform licensure	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
50.49 (8)	Unlicensed operation of a home health agency	Max. \$100 (1st offense), \$200 (2nd offense)
50.55 (2)	Actions intended to interfere with a Department of Health Services investigation of licensure violations by a rural medical center	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
51.30 (10) (a)	Intentionally unlawful violations relating to mental health records (if not for pecuniary gain)	Max. \$25,000, 9 months
51.61 (5) (d)	Intentional retaliation or discrimination against a mental health patient for contacting or providing information to a state protection and advocacy agency	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
51.61 (7m)	Intentionally depriving a mental health patient of the ability to seek redress for an alleged violation of rights	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
54.62 (8)	Willful or inexcusable failure by a guardian to file a guardian's account as required by law or ordered by a court	Max. \$250, 10 days
55.043 (9m) (d)	Retaliating or discriminating against a person for reporting an adult at risk in good faith	Max. \$10,000, 6 months
55.043 (9m) (e)	Failure to report an adult at risk	Max. \$500, 6 months
59.39	Violations relating to a coroner or medical examiner performing funeral services upon the body whose death is required to be investigated by such office	Max. \$50
59.66 (2) (c)	Violations relating to unclaimed funds in a county's public treasury	\$50-\$200; 30 days-6 months
59.74 (2) (e) 1.	Unlawful tampering with a landmark, monument of survey, corner post of government survey, survey made by the county surveyor, or survey of public record	Max. \$1,000, 1 year
59.76 (2)	Various violations by a register of deeds relating to registration of farms	\$5-\$25; 10-30 days
62.23 (8)	Unlawful structure	Max. \$500
63.17	Various county civil service system violations	\$50-\$1,000; 30 days-1 year
63.20	Violation of a subpoena issued by a board of city service commissioners	
63.52 (1)	Various first class city civil service system violations	\$50-\$1,000; Max. 6 months
66.0413 (1) (br) 2.	Renting, leasing, or occupying a building which has been condemned for human habitation, occupancy, or use	\$5/week-\$50/week; 30 days/week
66.0417 (5) (a)	Violations relating to local enforcement of certain food and health regulations	Max. \$10,000, 1 year
66.0417 (5) (b)	Obstructing a local inspector enforcing food and health regulation	Max. \$5,000, 1 year
66.0425 (9)	Violations relating to an obstruction or excavation beyond a lot line or within a highway	\$25-\$500; 10 days-6 months

LRB-13-WB-5 -7-

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
66.0903 (11) (b) 1.	Violations by a contractor, subcontractor, or agent relating to the municipal prevailing wage and hour scales	Max. \$200, 6 months
66.1207 (1) (a)	False representations to secure or assist in securing financial assistance for subsidized housing accommodations (if the financial assistance is more than \$1,000 but less than \$2,500)	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
69.24 (2)	Violations relating to the collection of vital statistics or documents	Max. \$1,000, 90 days
70.40 (2)	Willful failure or refusal by any person on whom an occupational iron ore concentrate tax is imposed to furnish a true list or statement of all iron ore concentrates received or handled	Max. \$1,000
70.41 (2)	Failure or refusal by an operator of a grain elevator or warehouse to furnish a true list or statement of all grain received or handled	Max. \$1,000
70.42 (2)	Failure or refusal by an operator of a coal dock to furnish a true list or statement of all coal received or handled	Max. \$1,000
70.421 (2)	Failure or refusal by an operator of a refinery to furnish a true list or statement of all crude oil and petroleum products refined	Max. \$1,000
70.47 (18) (b)	Intentional tampering with a public notice of a local board of review meeting before the expiration of the time for which the notice was posted	Max. \$200, 6 months
71.65 (6)	Willfully providing false information to the Department of Revenue by a construction contractor employer to evade income and franchise tax withholding requirements	\$25,000
71.66 (1) (e)	Willfully supplying an employer with false information regarding a withholding exemption	Max. \$200
71.83 (2) (a) 1.	Income and franchise tax violations: failure or refusal to make, render, sign, or verify a tax return on time; failure or refusal to make deposits of withheld taxes; false or fraudulent employer statements or deposit reports	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
71.83 (2) (a) 2.	Willfully making or subscribing false documents relating to income and franchise taxes	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
71.83 (2) (a) 3.	Divulging or circulating confidential information derived from income and franchise tax documents	\$100-\$500; 1-6 months
71.83 (2) (a) 3m.	Unlawful browsing of another's confidential information derived from income and franchise tax documents	\$100-\$500
71.83 (2) (a) 4.	Coercing an employee to prepay taxes	\$25-\$200
71.83 (2) (a) 5.	Supplying an employer with a false income and franchise tax withholding agreement	Max. \$500
71.83 (2) (a) 6.	Failure to file a surety bond with the Department of Revenue by a construction contractor	\$300-\$5,000
71.91 (8) (e)	Using information provided to a financial institution in the financial record matching program for purposes other than administration of the program	\$25-\$500; 10 days-1 year
75.375	Waste on lands subject to a tax certificate	Max. \$500, 90 days
77.27	Intentionally falsifying value on a return for the real estate transfer fee	Max. \$1,000, 1 year
77.52 (12)	Operating as a seller without a permit	
77.52 (16)	Sales tax evasion using a resale certificate	
77.52 (19)	Failure to comply with rules relating to permitting for persons temporarily engaged in selling	
77.53 (8)	Sales and use tax violations: failure to collect the tax from a purchaser, give a purchaser a receipt, or display the tax separately from the list price	
77.60 (6)	Failure to provide a required tax return or data to the Department of Revenue	
77.60 (7)	Sales and use tax evasion through false or fraudulent reporting or failure to furnish a report	

-8-LRB-13-WB-5

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
77.60 (10)	Assisting another in making any false or fraudulent return or statement relating to the sales and use tax	
77.61 (5) (g)	Various violations relating to administration of sales and use taxes	\$100-\$500; 1-6 months
77.61 (6) (d)	Inspection of a return or claim for sales and use taxes by an unauthorized person	\$100-\$500; 1-6 months
77.61 (9)	Failure to file, submit, prepare, or retain sales and use tax documents required by the Department of Revenue	
77.982 (4)	Failure to register with the Department of Revenue for the local food and beverage tax	
77.991 (4)	Failure to register with the Department of Revenue for the local rental car tax	
77.9951 (3)	Failure to register with the Department of Revenue for the state rental vehicle fee	
78.68 (6)	Failure to furnish a return or data relating to vehicle or general aviation fuel taxes required by the Department of Revenue	Max. \$500, 30 days
78.68 (7)	Making a false or fraudulent return or failure to furnish a return when due to evade vehicle or general aviation fuel taxes	Max. \$500, 30 days
78.68 (8)	Assisting another in evading vehicle or general aviation fuel taxes	Max. \$500, 30 days
78.73 (1)	Various violations relating to unlawful use or display of a license to sell vehicle or general aviation fuel	Max. \$500, 6 months
78.73 (2)	Selling vehicle or general aviation fuel without a license	Max. \$5,000, 1 year
78.73 (3)	Attempting to assign a license to sell vehicle or general aviation fuel or failure to display such license conspicuously at a place of business	Max. \$25, 10 days
78.73 (4)	Failure to make a report or payment relating to vehicle or general aviation fuel taxes	Max. \$5,000, 1 year
83.027 (12)	Driving a vehicle into or from a controlled-access county highway (if not through an opening provided for that purpose)	Max. \$100, 30 days
84.25 (12)	Driving a vehicle into or from a controlled-access state highway (if not through an opening provided for that purpose)	Max. \$100, 30 days
86.01	Unlawfully leaving materials in a highway	\$10-\$100
86.021 (2)	Highway damage by cultivation or a machine	\$10-\$50; 10-30 days
86.022	Obstructing a highway with an embankment or a ditch	\$10-\$100
86.025	Camping on highways or adjacent lands	Max. \$10, 30 days
86.03 (6)	Violations relating to trees or shrubs adjacent to a highway	\$25 per damaged tree or shrub
86.03 (7)	Cutting of veterans memorial trees	\$10-\$200; Max. 30 days
86.06 (2)	Unlawfully traveling beyond or tampering with a highway barrier	\$10-\$100; 10-60 days
86.07 (1)	Drawing, painting, printing, or pasting upon a culvert, bridge, or guard rail	\$10-\$200; Max. 30 days
86.07 (2)	Unlawfully disturbing or making an alteration to a highway	\$5-\$100; Max. 6 months
86.17 (2)	Interference with the free use of water running across highways	
86.19 (3)	Unlawfully erecting a sign on a public highway	\$10-\$100 (1st offense), \$10-\$500 (2nd offense)
86.191 (5)	Violations of highway advertisement prohibitions	\$25-\$100; Max. 30 days
86.192 (2)	Tampering with a sign, guide board, mile post, signal, or marker	\$25 (1st offense), \$100 (subsequent offenses); Max. 30 days (1st offense), 60 days (subsequent offenses)
87.17	Tampering with flood control improvements or personnel	Max. \$1,000, 1 year

LRB-13-WB-5 -9-

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
87.30 (2)	Placing or maintaining a building within a floodplain in violation of a zoning ordinance	Max. \$50
88.82 (6)	Tampering with a drain constructed by a drainage district	Max. \$100
88.91 (2)	Placing an obstruction in a lawfully constructed drainage ditch	Max. \$100
93.12 (6)	Operating a laboratory without a certificate of approval	\$100-\$1,000
93.21 (1)	Failure by a manufacturer of dairy products to furnish required information to the person from whom milk is purchased or received	Max. \$200, 6 months
93.21 (2) (a)	Obstructing an officer performing inspection duties	Max. \$1,000
93.21 (4)	Various violations for failing to obey orders relating to agriculture, trade, and consumer protection	Max. \$5,000, 1 year
93.21 (6) (a)	Fraudulent use of official seals of the Department of Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer Protection	Max. \$10,000, 1 year
93.23 (8)	Violations relating to local fairs	Max. \$200, 6 months
93.35 (15) (a)	Unlawful weather modification	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
94.46 (4) (b)	Various violations relating to seeds	Max. \$500, 6 months
94.64 (12) (a)	Willful violations of fertilizer regulations	\$250-\$5,000; Max. 1 year
94.65 (11) (b)	Soil and plant additive violations	Max. \$5,000, 1 year
94.71 (1) (a) 2.	Pesticide violations by a commercial applicator, dealer, or distributor	Max. \$5,000, 1 year
94.71 (1) (a) 2.	Pesticide violations by a private applicator	Max. \$1,000, 30 days
94.72 (14) (a)	Commercial animal feed violations	Max. \$200, 6 months
94.77 (1)	Various plant industry violations	Max. \$1,000 (1st offense), \$500-\$5,000 (subsequent offenses); Max. 6 months (subsequent offenses)
95.21 (10) (b)	Refusal by an animal owner to comply with an order or quarantine	\$100-\$1,000; Max. 60 days
95.68 (9)	Conducting animal market business after revocation of a license	\$500-\$1,000; Max. 6 months
95.69 (9)	Conducting animal dealer business after revocation of a license	\$500-\$1,000; Max. 6 months
95.71 (9)	Conducting animal trucking business after revocation of a license	\$500-\$1,000; Max. 6 months
95.99 (1)	Various animal health violations	Max. \$1,000 (1st offense), \$500-\$5,000 (subsequent offenses); Max. 6 months (subsequent offenses)
96.17 (3)	Intentional violation of a Department of Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer Protection marketing order or agreement	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
97.12 (2) (d) 1.	Violations relating to food regulation enforcement	Max. \$10,000
97.12 (4)	Interfering with or giving false information to a food inspector	Max. \$5,000, 1 year
97.18 (6)	Violations of oleomargarine regulations	\$100-\$500 (1st offense), \$500-\$1,000 (subsequent offenses); Max. 3 months (1st offense), 6 months-1 year (subsequent offenses)
97.42 (8)	Interfering with inspection of animals, poultry, and carcasses	Max. \$5,000, 1 year

- 10 - LRB-13-WB-5

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
97.46 (2)	Unlawful refreezing or selling of refrozen fruit containing sulfur dioxide or sulfites as anti-oxidants	\$100-\$500 (1st offense), \$500-\$1,000 (subsequent offenses); Max. 3 months (1st offense), 6 months-1 year (subsequent offenses)
97.72 (1)	Various food regulation violations	\$100-\$1,000 (1st offense), \$500-\$5,000 (subsequent offenses); Max. 6 months (1st offense), 30 days-1 year (subsequent offenses)
98.26 (1)	Various violations relating to weights and measures	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
99.07 (2)	Various violations relating to public warehouses	\$200-\$1,000; Max. 6 months
100.07 (5)	Milk payment violations	Max. \$200, 6 months
100.15 and 100.26 (3)	Use of trading stamps	\$25-\$5,000; Max. 1 year
100.18 (9) and 100.26 (5)	Deceptive advertising	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
100.182 and 100.26 (7)	Fraudulent drug advertising	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
100.19 and 100.26 (3)	Wasteful distribution methods and practices	\$25-\$5,000; Max. 1 year
100.195 (5m) (e)	Unfair billing for consumer goods or services	\$25-\$5,000; Max. 9 months
100.20 and 100.26 (3)	Violations relating to methods of competition and trade practices	\$25-\$5,000; Max. 1 year
100.2095 (6) (d)	Violations relating to labeling and materials of bedding	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
100.235 (11) (b)	Unfair trade practices in procurement of vegetable crops	\$100-\$10,000; Max. 1 year
100.26 (1)	Various marketing or trade practice violations	Max. \$200, 6 months
100.335 (4) (b)	Manufacturing or selling a child's container containing bisphenol A or failing to label a child's container as not containing bisphenol A	Max. \$5,000, 1 year
100.37 (8)	Violations of the hazardous substances act	Max. \$5,000, 1 year
100.38 (7)	Selling adulterated or misbranded antifreeze	\$50-\$500
100.383 (5)	Selling antifreeze without a bittering agent	Max. \$1,500, 90 days
100.48 (4) (a)	Tampering with an hour meter attached to farm equipment	Max. \$5,000, 1 year
100.48 (4) (c)	Tampering with an hour meter attached to a snowmobile, all-terrain vehicle, utility terrain vehicle, or boat	Max. \$5,000, 1 year
101.13 (7)	Use of an accessibility symbol in violation of standards	\$50
101.14 (4) (e)	Failure to install required fire detection, prevention, or suppression devices	\$100-\$500
101.149 (8) (c) 1.	Tampering with an installed carbon monoxide detector	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
101.16 (5) (am)	Unlawful filling, evacuating, or use of containers for liquefied petroleum gas; various violations relating to a failure to provide the Department of Safety and Professional Services with liquefied petroleum gas information	\$25-\$2,000; 30 days-6 months
101.16 (5) (cm)	Intentional violation by a retail supplier of liquefied petroleum gas of licensing and financial responsibility requirements	\$500-\$1,000 (1st offense), \$2,000-\$5,000 (subsequent offenses); 30 days-6 months
101.16 (5) (cn)	Intentional violation by a retail supplier of liquefied petroleum gas who only fills Department of Transportation cylinders and containers of licensing and financial responsibility requirements	\$200-\$400 (1st offense), \$800-\$2,000 (subsequent offenses); 30 days-6 months

LRB-13-WB-5 -11 -

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
101.9209 (5) (b)	Intent to defraud during a transfer of interest in a manufactured home	Max. \$1,000, 30 days
101.937 (5) (b)	Rule violations relating to water and sewer service to manufactured home communities	\$25-\$5,000; Max. 1 year
101.94 (8) (b)	Violations by a corporation that threaten the health or safety of a purchaser of manufactured homes and mobile homes	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
101.951 (8)	Violations relating to manufactured home dealers	\$25-\$100
101.953 and 101.965 (1)	Violations relating to warranty and disclosure for manufactured homes	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
101.955 and 101.965 (1)	Violations relating to jurisdiction and venue over out-of-state manufacturers of manufactured homes	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
101.988 (3)	Violations relating to elevators, escalators, and other conveyances	Max. \$1,500, 30 days
102.07 (8) (d)	Misclassifying an employee by a construction contractor to evade worker's compensation	\$25,000
102.17 (3)	Willfully failing to testify or produce documents as required for a worker's compensation hearing	\$25-\$100; Max. 30 days
102.835 (18)	Discrimination by an employer against an employee whose earnings have been subject to a levy for delinquent uninsured employer payments	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
102.88 (1)	Second worker's compensation related offense in five years	Max. \$2,000, 90 days
102.88 (2)	Third or subsequent worker's compensation related offense in three years	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
103.13 (8)	Violations by an employer relating to records open to an employee	\$10-\$100
103.15 (2) or (3) and 103.20	Requiring an HIV test for employment	Max. \$100
103.16	Failure by an employer to provide seats for employees	\$10-\$30
103.165 (4)	Violations relating to an employee's cash bonds held in a trust	Amount of the bond; 10-60 days
103.17 and 103.20	Failure by a manufacturing employer to mutually forfeit	Max. \$100
103.18 and 103.20	Threatening to reduce wages or discharge employees to influence their votes	Max. \$100
103.19 and 103.20	Employing children in certain shows	Max. \$100
103.29 (1)	Violations relating to employment of minors in street trades	\$250-\$5,000; Max. 30 days
103.34 (12) (a)	Repeat offenses relating to traveling sales crews	\$250-\$5,000; Max. 30 days
103.37 (4)	Requiring an employee to pay for a medical examination as a condition of employment	Max. \$100
103.43 (2)	Fraudulent advertising for labor	Max. \$2,000, 1 year
103.45	Unlawful payments of wages with time checks	\$10-\$100
103.49 (6m) (am)	Violations by a contractor, subcontractor, or agent relating to wage rates on state work	Max. \$200, 6 months
103.50 (7) (a)	Violations by a contractor, subcontractor, or agent relating to wage rates and hours of labor for highway contracts	Max. \$200, 6 months
103.545 (5)	Recruiting strikebreakers	Max. \$2,000, 1 year
103.61	Contempt for violation of a restraining order or injunction issued by a court	Max. \$25, 10 days
103.75 (2)	False evidence of age to obtain an age certificate or altering an age certificate	Max. \$100, 3 months
103.82 (1) (a)	Repeat offenses of employing a minor for certain jobs	\$250-\$5,000; Max. 30 days

- 12 - LRB-13-WB-5

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
103.86 (1)	Failure by an employer to make required payments to employee welfare funds	Max. \$200
103.87	Disciplining an employee for testifying in a proceeding pertaining to a crime of the children's code or juvenile justice code	Max. \$200
104.10	Employer intimidation of a witness in a minimum wage investigation or proceeding	\$25
107.02	Violation of mining statement requirements	Min. \$100; Max. 3 months
107.15 (6) (a)	Violations of reporting requirements for mineral exploration	Max. \$50,000
107.15 (6) (c)	Violations of confidentiality requirements for mineral exploration	\$50-\$50,000; 1-6 months
108.16 (8) (m) 3.	False statements relating to determining the assignment of unemployment insurance contribution rates	
108.225 (18)	Discriminating terms and conditions of employment against an employ- ee whose earning have been subject to a levy for delinquent unemploy- ment insurance contributions	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
108.24 (1)	False statements to obtain unemployment insurance benefit payments	\$100-\$500; Max. 90 days
108.24 (2)	False statements or other information required by the Department of Workforce Development for unemployment insurance	\$100-\$500; Max. 90 days
108.24 (2m)	Misclassifying an employee by a construction contractor to evade unemployment insurance payments	\$25,000
108.24 (3) (a)	Violations relating to acts against an employee or former employee con- cerning unemployment insurance	\$100-\$1,000; Max. 90 days
108.24 (4)	Unlawful disclosure or inspection of unemployment insurance documents	\$100-\$500; Max. 1 year
109.11 (3)	Failure by an employer to pay wages due	Max. \$500, 1 year
111.14	Interfering with the Employment Relations Commission	Max. \$500, 1 year
111.327	Misclassifying an employee by a construction contractor to evade fair employment requirements	\$25,000
111.62	Strikes, work stoppages, slowdowns, and lockouts by employees of a public utility	
111.70 (7m) (c) 2.	Striking following an injunction against a strike	\$10
114.09 (2) (a) 2.	Intoxicated operation of an aircraft (if the number of prior convictions of causing injury from intoxicated operation of a vehicle plus the total number of other suspensions and revocations equals two)	\$350-\$1,100; 5 days-6 months
114.09 (2) (a) 3.	Intoxicated operation of an aircraft (if the number of prior convictions of causing injury from intoxicated operation of a vehicle plus the total number of other suspensions and revocations equals three)	\$600-\$2,000; 30 days-1 year
114.09 (2) (a) 4.	Intoxicated operation of an aircraft (if the number of prior convictions of causing injury from intoxicated operation of a vehicle plus the total number of other suspensions and revocations equals four)	\$600-\$2,000; 30 days-1 year
114.09 (2) (c) 2.	Two or more reckless flying convictions within four years	\$50-\$500; Max. 1 year
114.103 (3)	Failure by private security personnel to report to a law enforcement authority	Max. \$500, 30 days
114.27	Various violations relating to aeronautics and astronautics	Max. \$500, 90 days
115.31 (7)	Failure by a school administrator to report various crimes or acts committed by an employee of an educational agency to the state superintendent of public instruction	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
118.03 (4)	Unlawful textbook pricing	\$25-\$100
118.15 (5) (a) 1.a.	Compulsory school attendance violation (first offense)	Max. \$500, 30 days
118.15 (5) (a) 1.b.	Compulsory school attendance violation (second or subsequent offenses)	Max. \$1,000, 90 days

LRB-13-WB-5 -13 -

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
118.20 (5)	Discrimination against applicants for teaching or administrative positions	\$25-\$50; 5-30 days
120.13 (35) (b) 1.	Unlawful presence in school buildings that provokes a breach of peace	Max. \$10,000, 90 days
125.04 (13)	Selling or manufacturing alcoholic beverages without a required license or permit	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
125.07 (1) (b) 2.b.	Facilitating underage drinking (second offense within 30 months)	Max. \$500, 30 days
125.07 (1) (b) 2.c.	Facilitating underage drinking (third offense within 30 months)	Max. \$1,000, 90 days
125.07 (1) (b) 2.d.	Facilitating underage drinking (fourth or subsequent offense within 30 months)	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
125.07 (2) (b)	Selling alcohol to an intoxicated person	\$100-\$500; Max. 60 days
125.085 (3) (a) 1.	Falsification of proof of age to show that an underage person has attained the legal drinking age	\$300-\$1,250; 10-30 days
125.105 (2) (a)	Impersonating an inspector of the Department of Revenue or Department of Justice with the intent to mislead	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
125.11 (1)	Various violations relating to alcoholic beverages	Max. \$1,000, 90 days
125.28 (5) (d) 1.	Violations relating to fermented malt beverage wholesalers' permits	Max. \$10,000
125.315 (2)	Evading provisions of law by giving away fermented malt beverages	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
125.33 (7) (d)	Violations by fermented malt beverage retail licensees relating to retail purchase credit	Max. \$1,000
125.33 (9)	Campuses purchasing fermented malt beverages from anybody other than a licensed wholesaler	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
125.54 (7) (c) 1.	Violations of wholesaler requirements	Max. \$10,000
125.545 (7) (a)	Distributing wine directly to a retailer rather than a wholesaler by a winery	Max. \$10,000
125.545 (7) (b)	Preferential treatment to a Wisconsin winery or discrimination against an out-of-state winery by a cooperative wholesaler	Max. \$10,000
125.65 (9)	Violations relating to permits for wholesale sales for future delivery to solicit orders of intoxicating liquor	\$100-\$500; 30 days-6 months
125.66 (1)	Selling intoxicating liquor without a required license or permit	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
125.66 (4)	Selling of intoxicating liquor by a Class A liquor licensee to a Class B liquor licensee for resale	Max. \$100
125.67	Evading provisions of law by giving away intoxicating liquor	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
125.68 (8) (a)	Selling diluted intoxicating liquor as undiluted intoxicating liquor	\$150-\$500; 60 days-6 months
125.68 (9) (g)	Intoxicating liquor violations relating to labels, contents, and packaging	\$500-\$1,000; 3 months-1 year
125.69 (4) (d)	Violations by intoxicating liquor retail licensees relating to retail purchase credit	Max. \$1,000
125.69 (6) (b)	Campuses purchasing intoxicating liquor from anybody other than a licensed wholesaler (if the total volume of liquor in one month is more than 12 liters)	\$1,000-\$10,000
125.69 (6) (c)	Purchasing of intoxicating liquor by a Class B liquor licensee from a Class A liquor licensee for resale	Max. \$100
126.87 (2) (b)	Various violations relating to agricultural producer security	Max. \$10,000, 1 year
132.01 and 132.03	Violations relating to labeling marks	Max. \$10,000, 6 months
132.02 and 132.03	Violations relating to duplication or reproduction of labeling marks	Max. \$10,000, 6 months
132.032	Fraudulent labeling mark filing	Max. \$10,000, 6 months
132.07	Willfully and unlawfully converting a labeling mark to one's own use	Max. \$10,000, 6 months

- 14 - LRB-13-WB-5

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
132.13 (3)	Possession of unlabeled convict-made products for the purpose of sale	\$100-\$500; Max. 90 days
132.16 (7)	Unlawful use of registered organizations' insignia or names	Max. \$100, 60 days
132.17	Unauthorized wearing of certain badges	Max. \$20, 30 days
132.18 (5)	Unlawful use of gaseous compounds in containers	Max. \$1,000, 1 year
132.19	Use of a labeling mark without authority	Max. \$100, 3 months
133.04 (2)	Price discrimination with the intent to destroy competition	Max. \$25,000, 1 year
133.05 (3)	Unfair trade practices through secret rebates	Max. \$25,000, 1 year
134.01	Willfully or maliciously causing injury to the reputation or trade of a business	Max. \$500, 1 year
134.02 (1)	Blacklisting and coercion of employees	\$100-\$500
134.03	Preventing pursuit of work	Max. \$100, 6 months
134.04 (2)	Sale of certain merchandise by employers to employees	\$100-\$1,000 (1st offense), \$500-\$1,000 (subsequent offenses)
134.05 (4)	Bribery of an agent or employee with intent to influence business action	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
134.06	Bonus to chauffeurs for purchases	Max. \$25
134.10 (1)	Invading a right to choose an insurance agent or insurer by persons engaged in financing	\$50-\$200; Max. 6 months
134.11 (1)	Invading a right to choose an insurance agent or insurer by persons engaged in selling property	\$50-\$200; Max. 6 months
134.15 (1)	Issuing and using counterfeit money	Max. \$100, 6 months
134.17 (1)	Unlawful use of a corporate name with the intent to obtain credit	Max. \$1,000, 1 year
134.19	Fraud on exemption laws	\$10-\$50
134.21	Unauthorized presentation of dramatic plays	\$5-\$100; Max. 60 days
134.25 (1) (a)	Misbranding of gold articles	\$25-\$500; Max. 3 months
134.26 (1)	Misbranding of sterling silver articles	\$25-\$500; Max. 3 months
134.27 (1)	Misbranding of coin silver articles	\$25-\$500; Max. 3 months
134.28	Misbranding of base silver articles	\$25-\$500; Max. 3 months
134.30	Misbranding of gold-plated articles	\$25-\$500; Max. 3 months
134.31	Misbranding of silver-plated articles	\$25-\$500; Max. 3 months
134.33 (8)	Unlawful platinum stamping	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
134.35 (2)	Violation of endorsed time of filing on telegrams	
134.36	Unlawfully divulging a telegraph message or giving preference in the transmission of such messages	Max. \$500, 1 year
134.37	Unlawfully divulging a telegraph message or forging the name of the intended receiver	Max. \$500, 1 year
134.39	Fraudulent knowledge of a telegraph dispatch or injury or interference with wires	Max. \$1,000, 1 year
134.405 (5) (a) 1.	Violations relating to the purchase and sale of certain scrap material (first offense)	Max. \$1,000, 90 days
134.405 (5) (a) 2.	Violations relating to the purchase and sale of certain scrap material (second offense)	Max. \$10,000, 9 months

LRB-13-WB-5 - 15 -

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
134.41 (1)	Poles and wires on private property without the owner's consent	Max. \$25
134.45 (3) (a)	Entering into a contract to restrict days for exhibiting motion picture films	\$25-\$300 (1st offense), \$300-\$500 (subsequent offenses)
134.50 (3)	Violations relating to poultry dealing	\$10-\$100 (1st offense), \$25-\$500 (subsequent offenses)
134.50 (4)	Giving a false name or address to a poultry dealer by any person selling poultry	30 days-1 year
134.52 (4)	Unlawful shipment of chickens	\$10-\$50; 10-30 days
134.53 (4)	Transporting cattle without documents containing required information	Max. \$500, 3 months
134.57	Failure by an employer or its employed detective to submit facts of a case relating to settlement with an employee	\$100-\$500; 3 months-1 year
134.60	Unlawful cutting or transportation of evergreen trees	\$10-\$500
134.65 (5)	Violations relating to cigarette and tobacco products retailer licenses	\$25-\$100 (1st offense), \$25-\$300 (subsequent offenses)
134.69	Peddling finger alphabet cards	\$25-\$100; Max. 90 days
134.715 (3)	Selling certain merchandise without proof of ownership at a flea market	Max. \$500, 30 days
134.97 (4) (b)	Possession of a record that was disposed of by a financial institution, medical business, or tax preparation business	Max. \$1,000, 90 days
137.01 (1) (k)	Violations relating to actions of a notary public (first offense)	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
138.05 and 138.06 (2)	Violations relating to the maximum lending rate, prepayment, and disclosure	\$25-\$500; Max. 6 months
138.051 and 138.06 (2)	Violations relating to residential mortgage loans	\$25-\$500; Max. 6 months
138.052 and 138.06 (2)	Violations relating to residential mortgage loans	\$25-\$500; Max. 6 months
138.09 (10)	Violations relating to licensed lenders	Max. \$500, 6 months
138.10 (14)	Receiving interest or charges greater than permitted by a pawnbroker	Max. \$500, 1 year
138.12 (3) (a)	Engaging in the business of financing insurance premiums without a license	Max. \$200
138.14 (15) (a)	Violations relating to payday loans	Max. \$500, 6 months
138.20 (2)	Discrimination in granting credit or loans	Max. \$1,000
139.03 (5) (c)	Entering the state in unlawful possession of intoxicating liquor or wine	\$25-\$500 (1st offense), \$100-\$500 (subsequent offenses); Max. 90 days (1st offense), 6 months (subsequent offenses)
139.05 (7) (d)	Shipping into the state or knowingly receiving fermented malt beverages from a brewer without a valid license	
139.05 (7) (f)	Shipping into the state, receiving, or selling within the state fermented malt beverages produced in a state with laws discriminating against any production ingredient	
139.25 (6)	Failure to furnish data or returns relating to beverage taxes to the Department of Revenue	Max. \$500, 30 days
139.25 (7)	Evading beverage taxes through fraudulent reporting	Max. \$500, 30 days
139.25 (8)	Assisting another in evading beverage taxes through fraudulent reporting	Max. \$500, 30 days
139.25 (10)	Various violations relating to beverage taxes	\$50-\$500; 10-90 days
139.44 (2)	Assisting another in evading cigarette taxes through fraudulent reporting	Max. \$10,000, 9 months

-16- LRB-13-WB-5

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
139.44 (3)	Failure to keep required records relating to cigarette and tobacco taxes	\$100-\$500; Max. 6 months
139.44 (4)	Refusal by a cigarette or tobacco retailer to permit a state inspector to examine records	Max. \$500, 90 days
139.44 (5)	Various violations relating to cigarette and tobacco taxes	\$100-\$1,000; 10-90 days
139.44 (6)	Various violations of Department of Revenue rules relating to cigarette and tobacco taxes	\$100-\$500; Max. 6 months
139.44 (8) (a)	Unlawful possession of cigarettes (if the number of cigarettes does not exceed 6,000)	Max. \$200, 6 months
139.44 (8) (b)	Unlawful possession of cigarettes (if the number of cigarettes exceeds 6,000 but does not exceed 36,000)	Max. \$1,000, 1 year
139.85 (1)	Violations relating to tobacco tax records or returns	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
139.95 (4)	Confidentiality violation by the Department of Revenue in administering the tax on controlled substances	Max. \$1,000, 60 days
145.12 (1)	Acting as a plumber or automatic fire sprinkler contractor without a license	\$100-\$500; 30 days
145.12 (2)	Various violations relating to plumbing, fire protection, or swimming pools	Max. \$500, 3 months
145.12 (3)	Falsely representing an apprentice to be a journeyman by a master plumber	Max. \$25, 30 days
145.26 (6)	Violations relating to public swimming pool plan reviews	\$100-\$5,000
146.085 (2)	Charging an admission fee to use a toilet	\$10-\$50
146.60 (9) (ag)	Failure to provide notice of a release of genetically engineered organisms into the environment (first offense)	\$100-\$20,000; Max. 1 year
146.60 (9) (am)	Failure to provide notice of a release of genetically engineered organisms into the environment (second and subsequent offenses)	Max. \$50,000, 90 months
146.60 (9) (b)	Confidentiality violation relating to records for notices of a release of genetically engineered organisms into the environment	\$50-\$50,000; 1-6 months
146.84 (2) (a)	Violations relating to patient health care records	Max. \$25,000, 9 months
153.45 (5) and 153.78 (1)	Unlawful release of certain health care information by the Department of Health Services	Max. \$15,000, 1 year
153.50 and 153.78 (1)	Patient confidentiality violations relating to health care information	Max. \$15,000, 1 year
153.75 (1) (a) and 153.78 (1)	Violations of Department of Health Services rules relating to certain health care information	Max. \$15,000, 1 year
154.15 (1)	Intentionally tampering with a declaration to physicians without the consent of the declarant	Max. \$500, 30 days
154.29 (1)	Willfully tampering with the do-not-resuscitate bracelet of another person without that person's consent	Max. \$500, 30 days
154.29 (3)	Intimidating another into signing a do-not-resuscitate order	Max. \$500, 30 days
154.30 (10)	Intentionally tampering with an authorization for final disposition of another without the declarant's consent	Max. \$500, 30 days
155.80 (1)	Intimidating another into executing a power of attorney for health care instrument	Max. \$500, 30 days
155.80 (2)	Intentionally tampering with a power of attorney for health care instrument	Max. \$500, 30 days
155.80 (3)	Falsifying a power of attorney for health care instrument	Max. \$1,000, 9 months
155.80 (4)	Intentionally withholding knowledge of the revocation of a power of attorney for health care or of the falsification of a power of attorney for health care instrument	Max. \$1,000, 9 months
155.80 (5)	Attempting to act as a health care agent based on a false power of attorney for health care	Max. \$1,000, 9 months

LRB-13-WB-5 -17 -

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
157.60	Making a public easement in a cemetery	Max. \$300, 1 year
157.64 (2)	Various violations relating to the disposition of human remains	Max. \$1,000, 90 days
157.70 (10) (e)	Disturbing a burial site for commercial gain not related to use of the land where a burial site is located	Max. 2x value gained or lost
165.55 (13)	Neglect by an officer to comply with certain arson investigation requirements	\$25-\$200
165.765 (1)	Failure to comply with a requirement to submit a biological specimen	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
165.77 (5)	Intentionally disseminating a biological specimen in an unauthorized manner	Max. \$500, 30 days
167.07 (5)	Violations relating to the manufacture, storage, or distribution of matches	\$5-\$25 (1st offense), \$25 (subsequent offenses)
167.10 (9) (a)	Violation of a court order enjoining the sale, use, storage, or handling of fireworks	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
167.151	Unlawful operation of corn shredders	\$25-\$100
167.18	Failure to cover or secure threshing machine joints	\$2-\$50
167.20 (2)	Failure to provide stairway guards	\$25-\$100; 30 days-6 months
167.25 (1)	Discarding or abandoning a refrigerator without its door removed	Max. \$50, 30 days
167.26 (6)	Leaving unguarded ice holes	Max. \$100, 6 months
167.27 (7)	Violations relating to capping and filling wells or similar structures	\$10-\$200; Max. 6 months
167.30 (1)	Use of firearms near a public park, square, or enclosure	\$1-\$25; Max. 60 days
167.31 (3) (c)	Unlawful transport of a firearm, bow, or crossbow on an aircraft	Max. \$1,000, 90 days
168.12 (6) (f)	Signing or verifying a fraudulent claim for aviation fuel allowance	Max. \$500, 30 days
168.12 (6) (g)	Assisting another in making a fraudulent claim for aviation fuel allowance	Max. \$500, 30 days
169.45 (2) (b)	Unlawfully selling or purchasing a live wild animal	\$100-\$2,000; Max. 6 months
169.45 (2) (d)	Unlawfully taking bear or deer from the wild	\$1,000-\$2,000; Max. 6 months
169.45 (2) (e)	Unlawfully taking a harmful wild animal from the wild	\$500-\$5,000; Max. 6 months
169.45 (2) (g)	Obtaining a license relating to captive wildlife during a period of revocation	Max. \$200, 90 days
169.45 (5) (a)	Repeat violations relating to captive wildlife within a period of five years	Max. \$100, 6 months
169.45 (8) (a) 2.	Engaging in activity authorized by a captive wildlife license during a period of revocation or suspension	\$500-\$1,000
172.015	Permitting livestock on highways	Max. \$200
173.41 (15) (a)	Operating an animal shelter or dog dealer without a license	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
174.15	Violations relating to dogs	Max. \$500, 60 days
175.05 (2) (b)	Willfully entering upon certain posted premises without permission	Max. \$50, 30 days
175.05 (5)	Going upon closed or restricted highways	Max. \$50, 10 days
175.09 (3)	Failure to use standard time in a place of business	\$25-\$500; 10-30 days
175.10 (2)	Sale of certain merchandise to employees by state agencies or any political subdivision thereof	\$100-\$500; 30-90 days
175.15 (2)	Attending an endurance contest lasting more than 16 hours in any 24 hour period over a period of more than six days in one month	\$5-\$25; Max. 10 days
175.15 (3)	Operating an endurance contest lasting more than 16 hours in any 24 hour period over a period of more than six days in one month	\$100-\$500; 10 days-1 year

- 18 - LRB-13-WB-5

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
175.20 (3)	Operating an amusement place without a required license	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
175.25 (5)	Violations relating to the storage of junk automobiles	\$10-\$50; Max. 30 days
175.35 (3)	Intentional violations relating to waiting periods for the purchase of handguns	\$500-\$10,000; Max. 9 months
175.37 (2)	Failure to provide to the buyer of a firearm a written warning before transferring the firearm	Max. \$500, 30 days
175.60 (17) (ag)	Violations relating to the maintenance, use and publication of records relating to licenses to carry a concealed weapon	Max. \$500, 30 days
175.60 (17) (ar)	Use of excessive force by a law enforcement officer based solely on an individual's status as a licensee to carry a concealed weapon	Max. \$500, 30 days
175.60 (17) (b)	Carrying a concealed weapon in certain places	Max. \$500, 30 days
175.60 (17) (e)	Failure to relinquish or deliver a revoked or suspended license to carry a concealed weapon	Max. \$500, 30 days
177.34 (4)	Willfully refusing, after written demand by an administrator, to pay or deliver property	\$100-\$5,000; Max. 9 months
182.0175 (3) (b)	Damage to transmission facilities	Max. \$500, 30 days
185.94 (2)	Improper use of the term "cooperative"	Max. \$100
186.03 (4)	Improper use of the term "credit union"	Max. \$5,000
191.13 (6)	Falsely representing a temporary railroad to be something other than a temporary railroad	Max. \$500, 6 months
192.292	Trains obstructing highways	Max. \$500, 15 days
192.327 (8)	Violation by a railroad company to comply with an order from the Office of the Commissioner of Railroads relating to transport of railroad workers by motor vehicle	Max. \$500
193.105 (2)	Misuse of the term "cooperative"	Max. \$250
193.311 (6) (c)	Agricultural product and commodity marketing contract interference	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
195.286 (6)	Interference with advance warning signs for railroad highway crossings	Max. \$25
196.171 (3)	Obstructing an officer performing inspections duties for meters, pipes, fittings, wires, and works	Max. \$25
196.525 (3)	Unlawful loans to officers or directors of a public utility and loans to and investments in securities of holding companies	Max. \$10,000
196.60 (1) (b)	Discrimination in services or charges by an officer of a public utility	\$50-\$5,000
196.604	Unlawful rebates, concessions, and discriminations from a public utility service	\$50-\$5,000
196.65 (1)	Violations by an officer or agent of a public utility relating to information and records	\$100-\$5,000
196.65 (3) (b)	Violations by telecommunications workers relating to information and records	\$100-\$25,000
196.65 (3) (c)	Violations relating to information and records under the direction of a telecommunications provider	\$500-\$25,000
196.67 (3)	Failure by a public utility to place warning signs near certain overhead electrical supply lines	\$50-\$5,000
196.69 (1)	Interference with Public Service Commission equipment	Max. \$5,000, 30 days
199.105 (3)	Interfering with the utility service of another who contributes to the Citizens Utility Board	Max. \$1,000
199.14 (3)	Corrupt practices and conflicts of interest with the Citizen Utility Board	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
200.35 (6) (b)	Failure to comply with a requirement by the Metropolitan Sewerage District Commission to remove obstructions	\$100
213.15	Offering for sale nonstandard hose couplings, fittings, or apparatus fittings for fire hoses	\$100-\$500

LRB-13-WB-5 - 19 -

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
215.11 (7)	Failure to furnish a surety bond	\$10
215.21 (23)	False statement in a loan application	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
215.26 (6)	Acting on behalf of any unauthorized savings and loan association	\$100-\$500
216.03	Business with or for an unauthorized investment association	\$100-\$1,000; 3 months-1 year
217.16	Various violations relating to a seller of checks	Max. \$500, 6 months
218.0147 (3)	Unlawful sale of a motor vehicle to a minor	Max. \$200, 6 months
218.02 (10)	Violations relating to adjustment service companies	Max. \$500, 90 days
218.04 (12)	Violations relating to collection agencies	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
218.05 (15)	Violations relating to community currency exchanges	Max. \$2,000, 9 months
218.11 (5m)	Violations relating to recreational vehicle dealers	\$25-\$100
218.205 (1)	Conducting the business of a motor vehicle salvage dealer without a license	\$500-\$5,000; Max. 60 days
218.23 (3)	Violations relating to the sale of a vehicle to motor vehicle salvage dealers and maintenance of records	\$25-\$200; Max. 60 days
218.24 (4)	Failure to lawfully display a salvage dealer license number on trucks and truck-tractors	\$25-\$200; Max. 60 days
218.305	Auctioning motor vehicles at wholesale without a license	\$25-\$200; Max. 60 days
218.33 (3)	Violations relating to conducting the business of a motor vehicle auction dealer	\$25-\$200; Max. 60 days
218.43	Violations relating to moped dealers	\$25-\$100
218.53	Violations relating to motor vehicle salvage pools and buyer identification	\$1,000-\$10,000; Max. 90 days
220.06 (3) (b)	Redisclosure of information in examination reports possessed by a bank	\$100-\$1,000; Max. 6 months
221.053	Failure to comply with certification requirements for the transfer of shares of stock	Max. \$100
221.0610 (5) (c)	False entries in the minute book for meetings of the board of directors of a bank	\$100-\$500; 30 days-6 months
223.08	Unlawful use of the word "trust"	\$300-\$1,000; 60 days-1 year
224.03	Unlawful banking without a charter	\$300-\$1,000; 60 days-1 year
224.06 (7)	Violations relating to fidelity bonds for bank officers and employees	\$100
224.07	Violation of requirements to clear checks at par	
224.80 (1)	Various violations relating to mortgage bankers, loan originators, and mortgage brokers	Max. \$25,000, 9 months
230.43	Obstruction or falsifications of civil service examinations	\$50-\$1,000; Max. 1 year
231.02 (6) (a)	Conflicts of interest for members of the Wisconsin Health and Educational Facilities Authority	\$50-\$1,000; Max. 30 days
236.31 (1)	Transfer of lots without a recorded plat	Max. \$500, 6 months
236.32	Disturbing or not placing monuments	Max. \$250, 1 year
236.33	Unlawfully dividing land into small parcels in cities of the first class	\$100-\$500; Max. 6 months
236.35 (2)	Sale of lands abutting on a private way outside the corporate limits of a municipality	Max. \$200, 30 days
241.025	Contracts for employment	
250.04 (7)	Violations of Department of Health Services rules governing the duties of local health officers	\$10-\$100

- 20 - LRB-13-WB-5

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
250.045 (5) (a)	Violations relating to pharmaceutical drugs and order authority of the Department of Health Services	Max. \$10,000, 1 year
250.045 (5) (b)	Obstructing a Department of Health Services employee in performing duties relating to pharmaceutical drugs	Max. \$5,000, 1 year
252.06 (4) (b) 2.	Unauthorized entrance into isolation or quarantine premises	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
252.15 (9)	Unlawful disclosure of the results of an HIV test causing bodily or psychological harm	Max. \$50,000, 90 months
252.25	Various violations relating to communicable diseases	Max. \$500, 30 days
254.30 (2) (b)	Various violations relating to toxic substances and environmental health	\$100-\$5,000
254.47 (3)	Violations relating to recreational sanitation permits and fees	\$25-\$250
254.59 (2)	Maintaining certain human health hazards	Max. \$300, 90 days
254.59 (4)	Refusal to allow a local health officer to enter into and examine a place to ascertain health conditions	\$10-\$100
254.59 (5)	Maintaining certain human health hazards	Max. \$300, 90 days
254.76 (1)	Causing fires by tobacco smoking	\$50-\$250; 10 days-6 months
254.83 (1)	Failure to post hotel rates or changing rates	\$50-\$100
254.83 (2) (d)	Failure to post a notice of special hotel rates	\$50-\$100
254.84 (6)	Violations relating to motel rates	Max. \$300, 6 months
254.85 (5) (a)	Violations relating to enforcement of food and lodging protections	Max. \$10,000, 1 year
254.85 (5) (b)	Obstructing a state officer in the performance of duties relating to food and lodging protections	Max. \$5,000, 1 year
254.88	Various violations relating to food and lodging protections	\$100-\$1,000
254.92 (2m) (b)	Purchasing tobacco products for a minor (second offense within 30 months)	Max. \$500, 30 days
254.92 (2m) (c)	Purchasing tobacco products for a minor (third offense within 30 months)	Max. \$1,000, 90 days
254.92 (2m) (d)	Purchasing tobacco products for a minor (fourth or subsequent offenses within 30 months)	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
255.04 (10) (a)	Unlawful use of information from cancer reporting	Max. \$15,000, 1 year
256.30 (7)	Refusal or delay of emergency service	Max. \$1,000
256.35 (10) (a)	Unlawfully dialing "911"	\$100-\$600; Max. 90 days
256.35 (10) (b)	Unlawful use of information from emergency medical services	Max. \$10,000
280.97	Various violations relating to pure drinking water	\$10-\$100; Max. 30 days
283.91 (3)	Various violations relating to pollution discharge	\$10-\$25,000 (1st offense), \$10-\$50,000 (subsequent offenses); Max. 6 months (1st offense), 1 year (subsequent offenses)
283.91 (4)	False statements in pollution discharge elimination documents	\$10-\$10,000; Max. 6 months
285.87 (2) (a)	Various violations relating to air pollution	Max. \$25,000, 6 months
291.97 (2) (a)	False statements or tampering with hazardous waste management documents	\$100-\$20,000; Max. 1 year
293.87 (2)	False statements in a metallic mining application	\$1,000-\$5,000
295.37 (1)	False statements in an application relating to oil and gas	\$1,000-\$5,000
299.53 (4) (c) 2.	False statements in a use oil fuel notification	Max. \$25,000, 1 year

LRB-13-WB-5 -21 -

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
299.62 (3) (b)	Second violation relating to unlawful transport of oil or hazardous material in bulk on certain waterways	\$10,000-\$25,000; Max. 6 months
299.83 (10)	False statements relating to the Green Tier Program	\$10-\$10,000; Max. 6 months
299.85 (10)	False statements relating to the Environmental Compliance Audit Program	\$10-\$10,000; Max. 6 months
301.12 (14) (e) 4.	Using an assignment of child support to discriminate against an employee	Max. \$500
301.45 (6) (a) 2.	Failure to provide information for sex offender registration	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
301.45 (6) (ag) 2.	Unlawful establishment or change of residence by a sex offender	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
301.45 (6) (am)	Failure to keep confidential information relating to sex offender registration	Max. \$500, 30 days
301.47 (3) (b)	Sex offender name changes	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
302.07	Failure to obey commands to maintain order in a prison	Max. \$500, 1 year
302.375 (1m)	Selling or giving a prisoner liquor or dangerous drugs	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
302.375 (2)	Use of intoxicating liquor by a prisoner	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
302.375 (3) (a)	Allowing prisoners of different sexes to participate together in treatment or activities	Max. \$500, 6 months
321.62 (5) (d)	Making or using a false affidavit relating to service members civil relief	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
321.62 (11) (c)	Taking part in the eviction of family of a service member during a period of state active duty	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
321.62 (12) (c) 2.	Causing a foreclosure, sale, or seizure of property for any breach of terms occurring within 90 days after a service member's period of active duty	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
321.62 (14) (e)	Seizing or retaining personal property belonging to a service member who lawfully terminates a lease	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
321.62 (15) (c)	Enforcing a lien for storage of household goods or furniture of a service member during a period of state active duty	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
322.048	Contempt before a military judge	\$100
323.60 (11) (d)	Releasing certain trade secrets relating to hazardous substances entitled to protection	\$100-\$20,000; Max. 1 year
341.45 (6) (a)	False information in a form relating to the regulation of importation in vehicle tanks	Max. \$500, 6 months
341.45 (6) (b)	Failure or refusal to make a report or payment relating to the regulation of importation in vehicle tanks	Max. \$5,000, 1 year
341.60	Fraudulent application for a vehicle registration or license	Max. \$200, 6 months
342.15 (5m) (b)	Fraud relating to a transfer of interest in a vehicle	Max. \$5,000
342.15 (6) (b)	Failure to apply for a new certificate of title immediately upon transfer of a vehicle with intent to defraud	Max. \$1,000, 30 days
342.16 (4) (b)	Transferring a motor vehicle without disclosing certain information with intent to defraud	Max. \$5,000
343.05 (5) (am) 1.	Unlawful motor vehicle operation or licensing (first offense)	\$200-\$600; Max. 6 months
343.05 (5) (am) 2.	Unlawful motor vehicle operation or licensing (second offense within three years)	\$300-\$1,000; 5 days-6 months
343.05 (5) (am) 3.	Unlawful motor vehicle operation or licensing (third or subsequent offenses within three years)	\$1,000-\$2,000; 10 days-6 months

- 22 - LRB-13-WB-5

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
343.05 (5) (b) 1.	Operating a non-commercial motor vehicle without a required license	Max. \$300 (2nd offense), \$500 (subsequent offenses); Max. 30 days (2nd offense), 6 months (subsequent offenses)
343.12 (9) (a)	Operating a school bus without authorization (first offense)	\$200-\$600; Max. 6 months
343.12 (9) (b)	Operating a school bus without authorization (second offense within three years)	\$300-\$1,000; 5 days-6 months
343.12 (9) (c)	Operating a school bus without authorization (third or subsequent of- fenses within three years)	\$1,000-\$2,000; 10 days-6 months
343.14 (9)	Committing fraud in an application for a motor vehicle license or identification card	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
343.16 (7) (a)	Securing the services of another person to take an examination for a vehicle license	\$100-\$200; Max. 6 months
343.16 (7) (b)	Taking an examination for a vehicle license in the place of another person	\$100-\$200 (1st offense), \$200-\$500 (subsequent offenses); Max. 6 months (1st offense), 1 year (subsequent of- fenses)
343.19 (4)	False statements relating to duplicate motor vehicle licenses or identification cards	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
343.245 (4) (b)	Allowing certain unauthorized employees to operate a commercial motor vehicle	\$2,750-\$25,000; Max. 90 days
343.28 (4)	Failure to comply with requirements for courts to forward records of convictions to the Department of Transportation	Max. \$100, 6 months
343.315 (1m)	Employers allowing drivers to operate a commercial motor vehicle during a period of disqualification	Max. \$5,000, 90 days
343.43 (3) (a)	Unlawful use of a motor vehicle license (first offense)	\$200-\$600; Max. 6 months
343.43 (3) (b)	Unlawful use of a motor vehicle license (second offense within three years)	\$300-\$1,000; 5 days-6 months
343.43 (3) (c)	Unlawful use of a motor vehicle license (third of subsequent offenses within three years)	\$1,000-\$2,000; 10 days-6 months
343.43 (3m)	Violations relating to operating a "Class D" or "Class M" vehicle	Max. \$300 (2nd offense), \$500 (subsequent offenses); Max. 30 days (2nd offense), 6 months (subsequent offenses)
343.44 (2) (ar) 2.	Operating a vehicle while revoked (if the revocation did not result from causing bodily harm)	Max. \$2,500, 1 year
343.44 (2) (ar) 3.	Operating a vehicle while revoked (if the operator causes great bodily harm to another person and does not know his or her operating privileges had been revoked)	\$5,000-\$7,500; Max. 1 year
343.44 (2) (ar) 4.	Operating a vehicle while revoked (if the operator causes the death of another person and does not know his or her operating privileges had been revoked)	\$7,500-\$10,000; Max. 1 year
343.44 (2) (br)	Operating a vehicle while disqualified	Max. \$2,500, 1 year
344.48 (2)	Forged proof relating to financial responsibility of a vehicle	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
345.37 (6)	Failure to forward records of convictions to the Department of Transportation	Max. \$100
346.17 (2t)	Knowingly resisting a traffic officer by failing to stop a vehicle after receiving a visible or audible signal to stop	Max. \$10,000, 9 months

LRB-13-WB-5 -23 -

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
346.65 (1) (b)	Two or more reckless driving convictions within a four-year period	\$50-\$500; Max. 1 year
346.65 (2) (am) 2.	Operating a vehicle under the influence of an intoxicant or other drug (if the number of prior convictions of causing injury from intoxicated operation of a vehicle plus the total number of other suspensions and revocations equals two)	\$350-\$1,100; 5 days-6 months
346.65 (2) (am) 3.	Operating a vehicle under the influence of an intoxicant or other drug (if the number of prior convictions of causing injury from intoxicated operation of a vehicle plus the total number of other suspensions and revocations equals three)	\$600-\$2,000; 30 days-1 year
346.65 (2) (am) 4.	Operating a vehicle under the influence of an intoxicant or other drug (if the number of prior convictions of causing injury from intoxicated operation of a vehicle plus the total number of other suspensions and revocations equals four)	\$600-\$2,000; 60 days-1 year
346.65 (2) (f) 1.	Operating a vehicle under the influence of an intoxicant or other drug (if there was a minor passenger in the motor vehicle at the time of the violation)	\$350-\$1,100; 5 days-6 months
346.65 (2j) (am) 2.	Operating a vehicle with an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or more but less than 0.08 (if the number of prior convictions of causing injury from intoxicated operation of a vehicle plus the total number of other suspensions and revocations equals two)	\$300-\$1,000; 5 days-6 months
346.65 (2j) (am) 3.	Operating a vehicle with an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or more but less than 0.08 (if the number of prior convictions of causing injury from intoxicated operation of a vehicle plus the total number of other suspensions and revocations equals three or more)	\$600-\$2,000; 30 days-1 year
346.65 (2q)	Operation of a vehicle by a person who has not attained the legal drinking age with an alcohol concentration of more than 0.0 but less than 0.08 (if accompanied by a minor under 16 years of age)	\$400
346.65 (3)	Causing bodily harm to another by the negligent operation of a vehicle	\$300-\$2,000; 30 days-1 year
346.65 (3m)	Causing injury to another by operating a vehicle under the influence of an intoxicant or other drug (if the driver has a prohibited alcohol concentration under 0.08 or detectable controlled substance in his or her blood)	\$300-\$2,000; 30 days-1 year
346.65 (4)	Employment of drunken operators	\$50-\$500; Max. 6 months
346.74 (5) (a)	Failure to fulfill a required duty upon striking a person or an occupied vehicle (if the accident did not involve death or injury to a person)	\$300-\$1,000; Max. 6 months
346.74 (5) (b)	Failure to fulfill a required duty upon striking a person or an occupied vehicle (if the accident involved injury but not great bodily harm)	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
347.50 (1m)	Operating a vehicle equipped with a transmitter emitting a signal to activate an emergency preemption device	Max. \$10,000, 1 year
347.50 (1s)	Tampering with an ignition interlock device or immobilization device	\$150-\$600 (1st offense), \$300-\$1,000 (subsequent offenses); Max. 6 months
347.50 (2)	Tampering with an odometer or airbag	Max. \$5,000, 1 year
349.25 (1)	Operating a vehicle for hayrack, sleigh, boxsled, or bobsled rides without a license	Max. \$100, 30 days
350.11 (3) (a) 2.	Intoxicated snowmobiling (second offense within five years)	\$300-\$1,000; 5 days-6 months
350.11 (3) (a) 3.	Intoxicated snowmobiling (third offense within five years)	\$600-\$2,000; 30 days-1 year
350.11 (3) (b)	Causing injury to another by intoxicated snowmobiling; refusal to stop for a law enforcement officer	\$300-\$2,000; 30 days-1 year
351.08	Operation of a motor vehicle by a habitual traffic offender or repeat habitual traffic offender	Max. \$5,000, 180 days
425.401 (1)	Various violations relating to consumer transactions	Max. \$2,000

- 24 - LRB-13-WB-5

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
425.401 (2)	Intentional violation of requirements to notice law enforcement about repossessing certain motor vehicle collateral or goods	Max. \$500
440.03 (14) (f)	Violations relating to practicing certain therapies	Max. \$200, 6 months
440.032 (9)	Violations relating to sign language interpreting	Max. \$200, 6 months
440.21 (4) (b)	Violating a temporary restraining order or injunction issued by a court relating to engaging in a practice without a credential required by the Department of Safety and Professional Services	\$25-\$5,000; Max. 1 year
440.26 (8)	Acting as a private detective, investigator, or private security person without a license or permit	\$100-\$500; 3-6 months
440.311 (2)	Using the title "behavior analyst" without a license	Max. \$250, 3 months
440.86 (1)	Various violations relating to crematory authorities	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
440.95 (1)	Knowing failure by a cemetery authority to be licensed	Max. \$100
440.95 (2)	Failure by a cemetery salesperson to register with the Department of Safety and Professional Services	\$25-\$200; Max. 6 months
440.95 (3)	Violations relating to cemetery authorities and cemetery salespersons	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
440.95 (4)	Violations relating to cemetery preneed sellers	Max. \$1,000, 90 days
440.968 (2)	Using the title "Wisconsin registered interior designer" without being registered	\$100-\$500; Max. 3 months
440.981 (2)	Using the title "licensed midwife" without a license	Max. \$250, 3 months
440.997	Violations by an athlete agent intending to induce a student athlete to enter into an agency contract	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
441.13 (1)	Various violations relating to nursing regulation	Max. \$250, 1 year
442.11	Violations relating to practicing as a certified public accountant without the required credentials	Max. \$500, 1 year
443.18 (1) (a)	Violations relating to practicing as an architect or engineer without the required credentials	\$100-\$500; Max. 3 months
443.18 (3)	Various violations relating to architects, engineers, designers, and surveyors	Max. \$500, 3 months
444.16 (1)	Violations relating to boxing and mixed martial arts fighting	
445.15 (1)	Various violations relating to funeral directors	Max. \$5,000; 30 days-3 months
445.15 (1m)	Requirements by a funeral director or operator for a client who enters into a burial agreement to purchase a life insurance policy used to fund the agreement from a specified insurance intermediary	Max. \$5,000
446.07	Various violations relating to the practice of chiropractic	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
447.09	Various violations relating to the practice of dentistry	Max. \$1,000, 1 year
448.09 (1)	Billing a patient for a test performed by the state laboratory of hygiene by a Medical Examining Board licensee	Max. \$250
448.09 (1)	Various violations by any person relating to the Medical Examining Board	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
448.09 (1m)	Various violations by a physician relating to the Medical Examining Board	Max. \$25,000, 9 months
448.59	Various violations relating to the Physical Therapy Examining Board	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
448.69 (1) (a)	Various violations relating to the Podiatry Affiliated Credentialing Board	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
448.69 (1) (b)	Billing a patient for a test performed by the state laboratory of hygiene by a Podiatry Affiliated Credentialing Board licensee	Max. \$250
448.94	Various violations relating to the Dietitians Affiliated Credentialing Board	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
448.959	Various violations relating to the Athletic Trainers Affiliated Credentialing Board	Max. \$10,000, 9 months

LRB-13-WB-5 - 25 -

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
448.970 (1)	Various violations relating to the Occupational Therapists Affiliated Credentialing Board	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
449.11	Various violations relating to the Optometry Examining Board	\$50-\$200 (1st offense), \$200-\$500 (subsequent offenses); Max. 3 months (1st offense), 3-6 months (subsequent offenses)
450.11 (9) (a)	Violations relating to prescription drugs and devices	Max. \$500, 6 months
450.155 (2) (b)	Exhibition, display, or advertisement of certain vending machines by use of material harmful to minors	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
450.16 (3)	Sale of contraceptives in a public school	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
450.18	Various violations relating to the Pharmacy Examining Board	\$50-\$100; 30-90 days
451.16	Various violations relating to acupuncture	\$100-\$1,000; Max. 90 days
452.17 (1)	Acting as a broker or salesperson without a license	Max. \$1,000
452.17 (2)	Acting as a time-share salesperson without being registered	\$25-\$200; 10 days-6 months
452.17 (3)	Various violations relating to real estate practice	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
453.05 (3)	Violations relating to veterinary practice	Max. \$1,000 (1st offense) or \$3,000 (2nd offense within 3 years)
454.16	Various violations relating to the Cosmetology Examining Board	\$100-\$5,000; 10-90 days
454.295	Various violations relating to barbering	\$100-\$5,000; 10-90 days
455.11	Various violations relating to the Psychology Examining Board	Max. \$200, 6 months
456.09 (2)	Violations relating to nursing home administration	Max. \$1,000, 1 year
458.30	Various violations relating to the Real Estate Appraisers Board	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
470.09 (2)	Various violations relating to the Examining Board of Professional Geologists, Hydrologists, and Soil Scientists	Max. \$10,000
480.26 (1)	Various violations relating to the Auctioneer Board	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
562.025 and 562.13 (2) (c)	Conflicts of interest relating to racing and pari-mutuel wagering	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
562.05 (1) and 562.13 (2) (c)	Engaging in racing or pari-mutuel wagering activities without a license	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
562.06 (5) and 562.13 (2) (c)	Accepting a wager or making a payout on a wager to a minor	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
562.11 (1) and 562.13 (2) (c)	Violations relating to certain racing or pari-mutuel wagering activities	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
562.13 (2)	False statements in an application for a license relating to racing and pari-mutuel wagering	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
563.73 (1)	Violations relating to restrictions on the conduct of bingo	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
563.73 (2)	Various violations relating to bingo and raffle control	Max. \$5,000, 90 days
563.99 (1)	Various violations relating to raffles	Max. \$1,000, 30 days
565.02 (2m) and 565.50 (1)	False statements in applications for positions administering state lottery operations	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
565.05 and 565.50 (1)	Conflicts of interest for employees administering the state lottery	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
565.10 (3m) and 565.50 (1)	False statements by retailers applying for a state lottery retail contract	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
565.17 and 565.50 (1)	Violations relating to limitations on state lottery ticket and share sales and purchases	Max. \$10,000, 9 months

- 26 - LRB-13-WB-5

565.50 (1)         state lottery           565.32 (1) (2) (1)         violations relating to advertising and ticket and share contents for the state lottery         Max. \$10,000, 9 months for state lottery           565.50 (2)         Possessing an altered or forged lottery ticket with intent to defraud         Max. \$10,000, 9 months for mo	2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
(3) and 565.50 (1) state lottery 565.50 (3) Possessing an altered or forged lottery ticket with intent to defraud Max. \$10,000, 9 months 610.70 (7) (a) Willfully obtaining information about an individual from an insurer under false pretenses Max. \$25,000 under false pretenses Max. \$10,000, 9 months 708.03 Designation of an attorney by a lender for a mortgagor Max. \$100 Max. \$200 Max. \$100 Max. \$200 Max.	565.25 (3m) and 565.50 (1)		Max. \$10,000, 9 months
willfully obtaining information about an individual from an insurer under false pretenses  Various violations relating to continuing care contracts  Max. \$10,000, 9 months  Designation of an attorney by a lender for a mortgagor  Max. \$100  T57.2055  Use of jury duty service by an employer for a discriminatory action  Max. \$200  T57.225 (5)  Judges acting as an attorney or attorneys having office with a judge  Max. \$100  Max. \$200  Max.	565.32 (1), (2) (b), or (3) and 565.50 (1)		Max. \$10,000, 9 months
under false pretenses  Max. \$10,000, 9 months  708.03 Designation of an attorney by a lender for a mortgagor Max. \$100  756.255 Use of jury duty service by an employer for a discriminatory action Max. \$200  757.22 (5) Judges acting as an attorney or attorneys having office with a judge Max. \$100  757.29 (1) Practicing law without a license \$50-\$500; Max. 1 year  757.30 (1) Practicing law without a license \$50-\$500; Max. 1 year  757.30 (1) Marriage outside the state to circumvent laws Max. \$500, 6 months  765.30 (2) False statements in applying for a marriage license Max. \$10,000, 9 months  765.30 (2) False statements in applying for a marriage license Max. \$10,000, 9 months  765.30 (3) Unlawful solemnization of marriage \$100-\$500; Max. 6  765.30 (4) Unlawful solemnization of marriage y the parties to the marriage \$10-\$500; Max. 6  765.30 (5) Various violations relating to marriage \$10-\$50  766.75 (6) (c) Use of a child or family support assignment by an employer to discriminate against an employee or applicant  768.07 Various violations relating to the abolishment of actions for breach of promise, allenation of affection, or criminal conversation  778.16 Neglect by a treasurer of a municipality to perform forfeiture collection duties  778.30 (4) Use by an employer of an order assigning an employee's income to pay forfeitures to discriminate against the employee  779.02 (7) Wrongful use of materials by a contractor Max. \$300, 3 months  778.23 (4) Use by an employer of an order assigning an employee's income to pay forfeitures to discriminate against the employee  779.49 (2) Unlawful sale, disposal, or mortgage of a dam (animal) Max. \$10,00, 6 months  782.28 Reimprisonment Max. \$1,000, 6 months  782.29 Concealment of a person entitled to a writ of habeas corpus Max. \$1,000, 6 months  782.39 Concealment of a person entitled to a writ of habeas corpus Max. \$1,000, 6 months  782.30 (2) Contempt of court in a summary procedure Max. \$5,000, 1 year  785.04 (2) (a) Contempt of court in a summary procedure Max. \$5,000, 1	565.50 (3)	Possessing an altered or forged lottery ticket with intent to defraud	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
Designation of an attorney by a lender for a mortgagor Max. \$100 Max. \$200 Max. \$100 Max. \$200 Max. \$100 Max. \$200 Max. \$100 Max. \$100 Max. \$100 Max. \$500, 6 months Max. \$10,000, 9 month	610.70 (7) (a)		Max. \$25,000
725.255Use of jury duty service by an employer for a discriminatory actionMax. \$2007257.22 (5)Judges acting as an attorney or attorneys having office with a judgeMax. \$1007257.25 (4)BarratryMax. \$500, 6 months7257.30 (1)Practicing law without a license\$50-\$500; Max. 1 year7257.45Sharing of compensation by attorneysMax. \$10,000, 9 months7257.45Marriage outside the state to circumvent lawsMax. \$10,000, 9 months7258.30 (2)False statements in applying for a marriage licenseMax. \$10,000, 9 months7258.30 (3)Unlawful solemnization of marriage\$100-\$500; Max. 6 months7258.30 (3)Unlawful solemnization of marriage by the parties to the marriage\$10-\$500; Max. 3 months7265.30 (5)Various violations relating to marriage by the parties to the marriage\$10-\$5007267.75 (6) (c)Use of a child or family support assignment by an employer to discriminate against an employee or applicantMax. \$5007268.07Various violations relating to the abolishment of actions for breach of promise, alienation of affection, or criminal conversationMax. \$10,000, 9 months7278.16Neglect by a treasurer of a municipality to perform forfeiture collection duties\$50-\$300; 3-6 months7278.30 (4)Use by an employer of an order assigning an employee's income to pay forfeitures to discriminate against the employeeMax. \$5007279.42Obtaining a mechanic's services by misrepresentation of interest in personal propertyMax. \$10,00, 6 months728.23Contempt of court in a nonsummary procedureMax. \$1,000, 6 months </td <td>647.07</td> <td>Various violations relating to continuing care contracts</td> <td>Max. \$10,000, 9 months</td>	647.07	Various violations relating to continuing care contracts	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
775.22 (5) Judges acting as an attorney or attorneys having office with a judge Max. \$100 7757.295 (4) Barratry Max. \$500, 6 months 7757.30 (1) Practicing law without a license \$50-\$500; Max. 1 year 7757.45 Sharing of compensation by attorneys Max. \$500, 6 months 7757.45 Sharing of compensation by attorneys Max. \$10,000, 9 months 7757.45 Sharing of compensation by attorneys Max. \$10,000, 9 months 7757.45 Sharing of compensation of marriage was \$100.000, 9 months 7757.45 False statements in applying for a marriage license Max. \$10,000, 9 months 7756.30 (2) False statements in applying for a marriage license Max. \$10,000, 9 months 7757.30 (3) Unlawful solemnization of marriage \$100-\$500; Max. 6 months 7756.30 (3) Unlawful solemnization of marriage by the parties to the marriage \$100-\$500; Max. 3 months 7757.30 (4) Use of a child or family support assignment by an employer to discriminate against an employee or applicant 7768.07 Various violations relating to the abolishment of actions for breach of promise, alienation of affection, or criminal conversation 7778.16 Neglect by a treasurer of a municipality to perform forfeiture collection duties 7778.30 (4) Use by an employer of an order assigning an employee's income to pay forfeitures to discriminate against the employee 779.02 (7) Wrongful use of materials by a contractor Max. \$500, 3 months 779.42 Obtaining a mechanic's services by misrepresentation of interest in personal property 779.49 (2) Unlawful sale, disposal, or mortgage of a dam (animal) Max. \$10,00, 6 months 7782.38 Reimprisonment Max. \$1,000, 6 months 7785.04 (2) (a) Contempt of court in a nonsummary procedure Max. \$5,000, 1 year 7785.04 (2) (a) Contempt of court in a summary procedure Max. \$5,000, 1 year 7785.04 (2) (b) Contempt of court in a summary procedure Max. \$5,000, 30 days 782.39 Concealment of a person entitled to a writ of habeas corpus Max. \$1,000, 6 months 780.0095 (1) (c) 11. Use by an employee of an assignment for failure to pay a monetary judgment to discriminate against the employee	708.03	Designation of an attorney by a lender for a mortgagor	Max. \$100
757.295 (4) Barratry Max. \$500, 6 months 757.30 (1) Practicing law without a license \$50-\$500; Max. 1 year 757.45 Sharing of compensation by attorneys Max. \$500, 6 months 765.30 (1) Marriage outside the state to circumvent laws Max. \$10,000, 9 months 765.30 (2) False statements in applying for a marriage license Max. \$10,000, 9 months 765.30 (3) Unlawful solemnization of marriage \$100-\$500; Max. 6 months 765.30 (4) Unlawful solemnization of marriage by the parties to the marriage \$100-\$500; Max. 3 months 765.30 (5) Various violations relating to marriage \$10-\$50 767.75 (6) (c) Use of a child or family support assignment by an employer to discriminate against an employee or applicant 768.07 Various violations relating to the abolishment of actions for breach of promise, alienation of affection, or criminal conversation 778.16 Neglect by a treasurer of a municipality to perform forfeiture collection dutties 778.30 (4) Use by an employer of an order assigning an employee's income to pay forfeitures to discriminate against the employee 779.02 (7) Wrongful use of materials by a contractor Max. \$300, 3 months 779.42 Obtaining a mechanic's services by misrepresentation of interest in personal property 779.49 (2) Unlawful sale, disposal, or mortgage of a dam (animal) Max. \$10,00, 6 months 782.39 Concealment of a person entitled to a writ of habeas corpus Max. \$1,000, 6 months 785.04 (2) (a) Contempt of court in a nonsummary procedure Max. \$500, 3 days 785.04 (2) (b) Contempt of court in a summary procedure 785.04 (2) (b) Contempt of court in a summary procedure 785.04 (2) (b) Contempt of court in a summary procedure 785.04 (2) (b) Contempt of court in a summary procedure 785.04 (2) (b) Contempt of court in a summary procedure 785.04 (2) (b) Contempt of court in a summary procedure 785.04 (2) (b) Contempt of court in a summary procedure 785.04 (2) (b) Contempt of court in a summary procedure 785.04 (2) (b) Contempt of court in a summary procedure 785.04 (2) (b) Contempt of court in summary procedure 785.04 (2) (b) Conte	756.255	Use of jury duty service by an employer for a discriminatory action	Max. \$200
757.30 (1) Practicing law without a license \$50-\$500; Max. 1 year 757.45 Sharing of compensation by attorneys Max. \$500, 6 months 765.30 (1) Marriage outside the state to circumvent laws Max. \$10,000, 9 months 765.30 (2) False statements in applying for a marriage license Max. \$10,000, 9 months 765.30 (3) Unlawful solemnization of marriage \$10-\$500; Max. 6 months 765.30 (4) Unlawful solemnization of marriage by the parties to the marriage \$10-\$50 (Max. 3 months 765.30 (5) Various violations relating to marriage \$10-\$50 Use of a child or family support assignment by an employer to discriminate against an employee or applicant Various violations relating to the abolishment of actions for breach of promise, allenation of affection, or criminal conversation Max. \$10,000, 9 months 778.16 Neglect by a treasurer of a municipality to perform forfeiture collection duties  778.30 (4) Use by an employer of an order assigning an employee's income to pay forfeitures to discriminate against the employee Max. \$500  779.02 (7) Wrongful use of materials by a contractor Max. \$300, 3 months 779.42 Obtaining a mechanic's services by misrepresentation of interest in personal property  779.49 (2) Unlawful sale, disposal, or mortgage of a dam (animal) Max. \$10,00 6 months 785.04 (2) (a) Contempt of court in a nonsummary procedure Max. \$5,000, 1 year 785.04 (2) (a) Contempt of court in a summary procedure Max. \$500, 3 od days 785.04 (2) (b) Contempt of court in a summary procedure Max. \$500, 3 od days 785.04 (2) (b) Contempt of court in a summary procedure Max. \$500, 3 od days 785.04 (2) (b) Contempt of court in a summary procedure Max. \$500, 3 od days 785.04 (2) (b) Contempt of court in a summary procedure Max. \$500, 3 od days 785.04 (2) (b) Contempt of court in a summary procedure Max. \$500, 3 od days 785.04 (2) (b) Contempt of court in a summary procedure Max. \$500, 3 od days 785.04 (2) (b) Contempt of court in a summary procedure Max. \$500, 3 od days 785.04 (2) (a) Contempt of court in a summary procedure Max. \$500, 3 od days 785.	757.22 (5)	Judges acting as an attorney or attorneys having office with a judge	Max. \$100
Sharing of compensation by attorneys   Max. \$500, 6 months	757.295 (4)	Barratry	Max. \$500, 6 months
765.30 (1) Marriage outside the state to circumvent laws Max. \$10,000, 9 months 765.30 (2) False statements in applying for a marriage license Max. \$10,000, 9 months 765.30 (3) Unlawful solemnization of marriage \$10-\$500; Max. 6 months 765.30 (4) Unlawful solemnization of marriage by the parties to the marriage \$10-\$200; Max. 3 months 765.30 (5) Various violations relating to marriage \$10-\$50 Max. \$500 Max. \$10,000, 9 months 765.30 (6) Use of a child or family support assignment by an employer to discriminate against an employee or applicant Max. \$500 Max. \$500 Max. \$500 Max. \$10,000, 9 months 768.07 Various violations relating to the abolishment of actions for breach of promise, alienation of affection, or criminal conversation Max. \$10,000, 9 months 778.16 Neglect by a treasurer of a municipality to perform forfeiture collection duties Max. \$500; 3-6 months 778.30 (4) Use by an employer of an order assigning an employee's income to pay forfeitures to discriminate against the employee Max. \$300, 3 months 779.42 Obtaining a mechanic's services by misrepresentation of interest in personal property Unlawful sale, disposal, or mortgage of a dam (animal) Max. \$10, 60 days 782.38 Reimprisonment Max. \$1,000, 6 months 782.39 Concealment of a person entitled to a writ of habeas corpus Max. \$1,000, 6 months 785.04 (2) (a) Contempt of court in a nonsummary procedure Max. \$500, 1 year 785.04 (2) (b) Contempt of court in a summary procedure Max. \$500, 30 days 782.38 Reimprisonment Court in a summary procedure Max. \$500, 30 days 782.39 Concealment of a person entitled to a writ of habeas corpus Max. \$1,000, 6 months 785.04 (2) (a) Contempt of court in a summary procedure Max. \$500, 30 days 785.04 (2) (b) Contempt of court in a summary procedure Max. \$500, 30 days 785.04 (2) (a) Contempt of court in a summary procedure Max. \$500, 30 days 785.04 (2) (a) Contempt of court in a summary procedure Max. \$500, 30 days 74 days 75	757.30 (1)	Practicing law without a license	\$50-\$500; Max. 1 year
False statements in applying for a marriage license  Max. \$10,000, 9 months  765.30 (3)  Unlawful solemnization of marriage  \$100-\$500; Max. 6 months  765.30 (4)  Unlawful solemnization of marriage by the parties to the marriage  \$10-\$200; Max. 3 months  765.30 (5)  Various violations relating to marriage  \$10-\$50  Max. \$500  767.75 (6) (c)  Use of a child or family support assignment by an employer to discriminate against an employee or applicant  Various violations relating to the abolishment of actions for breach of promise, allenation of affection, or criminal conversation  Max. \$10,000, 9 months  promise, allenation of affection, or criminal conversation  Neglect by a treasurer of a municipality to perform forfeiture collection duties  Warned a marriage to discriminate against the employee sincome to pay forfeitures to discriminate against the employee sincome to pay forfeitures to discriminate against the employee sincome to pay forfeiture sonal property  Warned use of materials by a contractor  Max. \$300, 3 months  Max. \$200, 6 months  Max. \$200, 6 months  Max. \$10,00 days  Reimprisonment  Max. \$10,00 days  Reimprisonment  Max. \$10,00 days  Max. \$200, 1 year  Max. \$200, 1 year  Max. \$200, 2 months  Max. \$200, 3 days  Max. \$200, 3 days  Max. \$200, 4 months  Max. \$200, 5 months  Max. \$200, 6 mo	757.45	Sharing of compensation by attorneys	Max. \$500, 6 months
Unlawful solemnization of marriage  \$100-\$500; Max. 6 months  \$765.30 (4)  Unlawful solemnization of marriage by the parties to the marriage  \$10-\$200; Max. 3 months  \$765.30 (5)  Various violations relating to marriage  \$10-\$50  \$767.75 (6) (c)  Use of a child or family support assignment by an employer to discriminate against an employee or applicant  Various violations relating to the abolishment of actions for breach of promise, alienation of affection, or criminal conversation  Neglect by a treasurer of a municipality to perform forfeiture collection duties  Neglect by a remployer of an order assigning an employee's income to pay forfeitures to discriminate against the employee  Max. \$500  Wrongful use of materials by a contractor  Max. \$300, 3 months  Obtaining a mechanic's services by misrepresentation of interest in personal property  Unlawful sale, disposal, or mortgage of a dam (animal)  Max. \$10,60 days  Reimprisonment  Max. \$1,000, 6 months  Reimprisonment  Concealment of a person entitled to a writ of habeas corpus  Max. \$1,000, 6 months  Concealment of court in a nonsummary procedure  Max. \$500, 30 days  Max. \$500, 30 days  Max. \$500, 30 days  Contempt of court in a summary procedure  Max. \$500, 30 days  Max. \$500, 30 days  Contempt of court in a summary procedure  Contempt of court including misconduct in the presence of the court or the refusal of a witness to appear	765.30 (1)	Marriage outside the state to circumvent laws	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
months 765.30 (4) Unlawful solemnization of marriage by the parties to the marriage \$10-\$200; Max. 3 months 765.30 (5) Various violations relating to marriage \$10-\$50 767.75 (6) (c) Use of a child or family support assignment by an employer to discriminate against an employee or applicant 768.07 Various violations relating to the abolishment of actions for breach of promise, alienation of affection, or criminal conversation 778.16 Neglect by a treasurer of a municipality to perform forfeiture collection duties 778.30 (4) Use by an employer of an order assigning an employee's income to pay forfeitures to discriminate against the employee 779.02 (7) Wrongful use of materials by a contractor Max. \$300, 3 months 779.42 Obtaining a mechanic's services by misrepresentation of interest in personal property 779.49 (2) Unlawful sale, disposal, or mortgage of a dam (animal) Max. \$200, 6 months 782.38 Reimprisonment Max. \$1,000, 6 months 782.39 Concealment of a person entitled to a writ of habeas corpus Max. \$1,000, 6 months 785.04 (2) (a) Contempt of court in a nonsummary procedure Max. \$5,000, 1 year 785.04 (2) (b) Contempt of court in a summary procedure Max. \$500, 30 days 780.095 (1) (c) 11. Use by an employer of an assignment for failure to pay a monetary judgment to discriminate against the employee 780.012 (3) Violation of a temporary domestic abuse restraining order or injunction Max. \$1,000, 9 months 781.122 (11) Violation of a temporary child abuse restraining order or injunction Max. \$1,000, 9 months	765.30 (2)	False statements in applying for a marriage license	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
months 765.30 (5) Various violations relating to marriage \$10-\$50 767.75 (6) (c) Use of a child or family support assignment by an employer to discriminate against an employee or applicant 768.07 Various violations relating to the abolishment of actions for breach of promise, alienation of affection, or criminal conversation 778.16 Neglect by a treasurer of a municipality to perform forfeiture collection duties 778.30 (4) Use by an employer of an order assigning an employee's income to pay forfeitures to discriminate against the employee 779.02 (7) Wrongful use of materials by a contractor Max. \$300, 3 months 779.42 Obtaining a mechanic's services by misrepresentation of interest in personal property 779.49 (2) Unlawful sale, disposal, or mortgage of a dam (animal) Max. \$10,60 days 782.38 Reimprisonment Max. \$1,000, 6 months 785.04 (2) (a) Concealment of a person entitled to a writ of habeas corpus Max. \$1,000, 6 months 785.04 (2) (a) Contempt of court in a nonsummary procedure Max. \$5,000, 1 year 785.04 (2) (b) Contempt of court in a summary procedure Max. \$500, 30 days 780.095 (1) (c) 11. Use by an employer of an assignment for failure to pay a monetary judgment to discriminate against the employee 780.012 (3) Contempt of court in a luminary procedure Max. \$500 780.012 (3) Violation of a temporary domestic abuse restraining order or injunction Max. \$1,000, 9 months 781.122 (11) Violation of a temporary child abuse restraining order or injunction Max. \$1,000, 9 months	765.30 (3)	Unlawful solemnization of marriage	
To the first of the second property of the se	765.30 (4)	Unlawful solemnization of marriage by the parties to the marriage	
Neglect by a treasurer of a municipality to perform forfeiture collection duties  Neglect by a treasurer of a municipality to perform forfeiture collection duties  Werns, alienation of affection, or criminal conversation  Neglect by a treasurer of a municipality to perform forfeiture collection duties  Wespect by an employer of an order assigning an employee's income to pay forfeitures to discriminate against the employee  Wernsgful use of materials by a contractor  Max. \$500  Max. \$500  Max. \$500  Max. \$500  Max. \$500  Max. \$500  Wongful use of materials by a contractor  Max. \$200, 6 months sonal property  Unlawful sale, disposal, or mortgage of a dam (animal)  Max. \$10,60 days  Reimprisonment  Max. \$1,000, 6 months  Concealment of a person entitled to a writ of habeas corpus  Max. \$1,000, 6 months  Contempt of court in a nonsummary procedure  Max. \$5,000, 1 year  Max. \$500, 30 days  Contempt of court in a summary procedure  Max. \$500, 30 days  Contempt of court in a summary procedure  Max. \$500, 30 days  Contempt of court in a summary procedure  Max. \$500  Max. \$70  Max. \$1,000, 9 months  Max. \$1,000, 9 months	765.30 (5)	Various violations relating to marriage	\$10-\$50
promise, alienation of affection, or criminal conversation  Neglect by a treasurer of a municipality to perform forfeiture collection duties  T78.30 (4)  Use by an employer of an order assigning an employee's income to pay forfeitures to discriminate against the employee  Max. \$500  Max. \$500  Max. \$300, 3 months  Obtaining a mechanic's services by misrepresentation of interest in personal property  Unlawful sale, disposal, or mortgage of a dam (animal)  Max. \$10, 60 days  Reimprisonment  Max. \$1,000, 6 months  Concealment of a person entitled to a writ of habeas corpus  Max. \$1,000, 6 months  Concealment of court in a nonsummary procedure  Max. \$500, 30 days  Contempt of court in a summary procedure  Max. \$500, 30 days  Concealment to discriminate against the employee  Max. \$500  Max. \$7 days  Max. 7 days	767.75 (6) (c)	Use of a child or family support assignment by an employer to discriminate against an employee or applicant	Max. \$500
duties  778.30 (4) Use by an employer of an order assigning an employee's income to pay forfeitures to discriminate against the employee  779.02 (7) Wrongful use of materials by a contractor Max. \$300, 3 months  779.42 Obtaining a mechanic's services by misrepresentation of interest in personal property  779.49 (2) Unlawful sale, disposal, or mortgage of a dam (animal) Max. \$10, 60 days  782.38 Reimprisonment Max. \$1,000, 6 months  782.39 Concealment of a person entitled to a writ of habeas corpus Max. \$1,000, 6 months  785.04 (2) (a) Contempt of court in a nonsummary procedure Max. \$5,000, 1 year  785.04 (2) (b) Contempt of court in a summary procedure Max. \$500, 30 days  800.095 (1) (c) 11. Use by an employer of an assignment for failure to pay a monetary judgment to discriminate against the employee  800.12 (3) Contempt of court including misconduct in the presence of the court or the refusal of a witness to appear  813.12 (8) (a) Violation of a temporary domestic abuse restraining order or injunction Max. \$1,000, 9 months  813.122 (11) Violation of a temporary child abuse restraining order or injunction Max. \$1,000, 9 months	768.07	Various violations relating to the abolishment of actions for breach of promise, alienation of affection, or criminal conversation	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
forfeitures to discriminate against the employee  Wrongful use of materials by a contractor  Max. \$300, 3 months  Obtaining a mechanic's services by misrepresentation of interest in personal property  Max. \$200, 6 months  Max. \$10, 60 days  Reimprisonment  Max. \$1,000, 6 months  Concealment of a person entitled to a writ of habeas corpus  Max. \$1,000, 6 months  Concealment of court in a nonsummary procedure  Max. \$5,000, 1 year  Max. \$500, 30 days  Contempt of court in a summary procedure  Max. \$500, 30 days  Contempt of court in a signment for failure to pay a monetary judgment to discriminate against the employee  Contempt of court including misconduct in the presence of the court or the refusal of a witness to appear  Violation of a temporary domestic abuse restraining order or injunction  Max. \$1,000, 9 months  Max. \$1,000, 9 months  Max. \$1,000, 9 months	778.16		\$50-\$300; 3-6 months
Obtaining a mechanic's services by misrepresentation of interest in personal property  Unlawful sale, disposal, or mortgage of a dam (animal)  Max. \$10, 60 days  Reimprisonment  Max. \$1,000, 6 months  Concealment of a person entitled to a writ of habeas corpus  Contempt of court in a nonsummary procedure  Max. \$5,000, 1 year  Max. \$5,000, 1 year  Max. \$500, 30 days  Contempt of court in a summary procedure  Max. \$500, 30 days  Contempt of court in a signment for failure to pay a monetary judgment to discriminate against the employee  Contempt of court including misconduct in the presence of the court or the refusal of a witness to appear  Violation of a temporary domestic abuse restraining order or injunction  Max. \$1,000, 9 months  Max. \$7 days	778.30 (4)	Use by an employer of an order assigning an employee's income to pay forfeitures to discriminate against the employee	Max. \$500
sonal property  779.49 (2) Unlawful sale, disposal, or mortgage of a dam (animal) Max. \$10, 60 days  Reimprisonment Max. \$1,000, 6 months  782.39 Concealment of a person entitled to a writ of habeas corpus Max. \$1,000, 6 months  785.04 (2) (a) Contempt of court in a nonsummary procedure Max. \$5,000, 1 year  785.04 (2) (b) Contempt of court in a summary procedure Max. \$500, 30 days  800.095 (1) (c) 11. Use by an employer of an assignment for failure to pay a monetary judgment to discriminate against the employee  800.12 (3) Contempt of court including misconduct in the presence of the court or the refusal of a witness to appear  813.12 (8) (a) Violation of a temporary domestic abuse restraining order or injunction Max. \$1,000, 9 months  813.122 (11) Violation of a temporary child abuse restraining order or injunction Max. \$1,000, 9 months	779.02 (7)	Wrongful use of materials by a contractor	Max. \$300, 3 months
Reimprisonment Max. \$1,000, 6 months  Concealment of a person entitled to a writ of habeas corpus Max. \$1,000, 6 months  Contempt of court in a nonsummary procedure Max. \$5,000, 1 year  Contempt of court in a summary procedure Max. \$500, 30 days  Contempt of court in a summary procedure Max. \$500, 30 days  Use by an employer of an assignment for failure to pay a monetary judgment to discriminate against the employee  Contempt of court including misconduct in the presence of the court or the refusal of a witness to appear  Violation of a temporary domestic abuse restraining order or injunction Max. \$1,000, 9 months  Violation of a temporary child abuse restraining order or injunction Max. \$1,000, 9 months	779.42		Max. \$200, 6 months
Concealment of a person entitled to a writ of habeas corpus  Max. \$1,000, 6 months  782.39  Contempt of court in a nonsummary procedure  Max. \$5,000, 1 year  Max. \$500, 30 days  Contempt of court in a summary procedure  Max. \$500, 30 days  Max. \$500, 30 days  Max. \$500, 30 days  Contempt of court including misconduct in the presence of the court or the refusal of a witness to appear  Nax. \$500  Max. \$500, 30 days  Max. \$500  Max. \$500  Max. \$500  Max. \$500  Max. \$7 days  Max. 7 days  Violation of a temporary domestic abuse restraining order or injunction  Max. \$1,000, 9 months  Violation of a temporary child abuse restraining order or injunction  Max. \$1,000, 9 months	779.49 (2)	Unlawful sale, disposal, or mortgage of a dam (animal)	Max. \$10, 60 days
785.04 (2) (a) Contempt of court in a nonsummary procedure Max. \$5,000, 1 year 785.04 (2) (b) Contempt of court in a summary procedure Max. \$500, 30 days 800.095 (1) (c) 11. Use by an employer of an assignment for failure to pay a monetary judgment to discriminate against the employee 800.12 (3) Contempt of court including misconduct in the presence of the court or the refusal of a witness to appear 813.12 (8) (a) Violation of a temporary domestic abuse restraining order or injunction Max. \$1,000, 9 months 813.122 (11) Violation of a temporary child abuse restraining order or injunction Max. \$1,000, 9 months	782.38	Reimprisonment	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
785.04 (2) (b) Contempt of court in a summary procedure Max. \$500, 30 days 800.095 (1) (c) 11. Use by an employer of an assignment for failure to pay a monetary judgment to discriminate against the employee  800.12 (3) Contempt of court including misconduct in the presence of the court or the refusal of a witness to appear  813.12 (8) (a) Violation of a temporary domestic abuse restraining order or injunction Max. \$1,000, 9 months  813.122 (11) Violation of a temporary child abuse restraining order or injunction Max. \$1,000, 9 months	782.39	Concealment of a person entitled to a writ of habeas corpus	Max. \$1,000, 6 months
800.095 (1) (c) 11. Use by an employer of an assignment for failure to pay a monetary judgment to discriminate against the employee  800.12 (3) Contempt of court including misconduct in the presence of the court or the refusal of a witness to appear  813.12 (8) (a) Violation of a temporary domestic abuse restraining order or injunction Max. \$1,000, 9 months  813.122 (11) Violation of a temporary child abuse restraining order or injunction Max. \$1,000, 9 months	785.04 (2) (a)	Contempt of court in a nonsummary procedure	Max. \$5,000, 1 year
ment to discriminate against the employee  Contempt of court including misconduct in the presence of the court or the refusal of a witness to appear  Violation of a temporary domestic abuse restraining order or injunction Max. \$1,000, 9 months  Violation of a temporary child abuse restraining order or injunction Max. \$1,000, 9 months	785.04 (2) (b)	Contempt of court in a summary procedure	Max. \$500, 30 days
the refusal of a witness to appear  813.12 (8) (a) Violation of a temporary domestic abuse restraining order or injunction Max. \$1,000, 9 months  813.122 (11) Violation of a temporary child abuse restraining order or injunction Max. \$1,000, 9 months	800.095 (1) (c) 11.		Max. \$500
Violation of a temporary child abuse restraining order or injunction Max. \$1,000, 9 months	800.12 (3)		Max. 7 days
	813.12 (8) (a)	Violation of a temporary domestic abuse restraining order or injunction	Max. \$1,000, 9 months
Violation of a temporary restraining order or injunction for individuals Max. \$1,000, 9 months	813.122 (11)	Violation of a temporary child abuse restraining order or injunction	Max. \$1,000, 9 months
at risk	813.123 (10)		Max. \$1,000, 9 months
813.125 (7) Violation of a temporary harassment restraining order or injunction Max. \$1,000, 9 months	813.125 (7)	Violation of a temporary harassment restraining order or injunction	Max. \$1,000, 9 months
813.128 (2) Violation of a condition of a foreign protection order Max. \$1,000, 9 months	813.128 (2)	Violation of a condition of a foreign protection order	Max. \$1,000, 9 months
Violation of various injunctions relating to nuisances \$200-\$1,000; 3-6 months	823.12	Violation of various injunctions relating to nuisances	\$200-\$1,000; 3-6 months

LRB-13-WB-5 -27 -

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
846.40 (10) (d) 1.	Fraud relating to foreclosure reconveyances	Max. \$50,000, 1 year
846.45 (6) (e)	Violations relating to foreclosure consultants	\$25-\$10,000; Max. 1 year
856.05 (3)	Failure to deliver a will or suppression of a will	Max. \$500, 1 year
885.11 (3)	Inexcusable failure by a witness to attend a court of record	Max. \$200
939.32 (1) (bm)	Attempt to commit a Class I felony	A
939.615 (7) (b) 1.	Violation of a condition of lifetime supervision	A
940.19 (1)	Battery	A
940.195 (1)	Battery to an unborn child	A
940.22 (3) (d)	Failure by a therapist to report sexual exploitation by another therapist	A
940.22 (4) (d)	Failure to maintain confidentiality of reports and records relating to sexual exploitation by a therapist	A
940.225 (3m)	Fourth degree sexual assault	A
940.285 (2) (b) 4.	Subjecting an individual at risk to abuse under circumstances causing bodily harm	A
940.285 (2) (b) 5.	Subjecting an individual at risk to abuse under circumstances not causing bodily harm	В
940.291 (1)	Failure by a law enforcement officer to render first aid	A
940.291 (2)	Law enforcement officer permitting another to fail to render first aid	A
940.295 (3) (b) 4.	Reckless abuse or neglect of patients or residents at community residential facilities under circumstances causing bodily harm	A
940.295 (3) (b) 5.	Reckless abuse or neglect of patients or residents at community residential facilities under circumstances not causing bodily harm	В
940.34 (1) (a)	Failure to summon law enforcement for a victim of a crime causing bodily harm	С
940.34 (1) (b)	Failure by a private detective to notify law enforcement of a crime	С
940.34 (1) (c)	Failure by a private security person to notify law enforcement of a crime	С
940.42	Intimidation of witnesses	A
940.44	Intimidation of victims	A
941.01 (1)	Negligent operation of a vehicle endangering another's safety	A
941.10 (1)	Negligent handling of burning material	A
941.12 (2)	Interfering with fire fighting	A
941.12 (3)	Interfering with accessibility to a fire hydrant	С
941.13	False alarms	A
941.20 (1)	Endangering safety by use of a dangerous weapon	A
941.23 (2)	Unqualified carrying of a concealed weapon	A
941.235 (1)	Unqualified carrying of a firearm in a public building	A
941.237 (2)	Carrying a handgun where alcoholic beverages may be sold and consumed	A
941.24 (1)	Possession of a switchblade knife	A
941.26 (2) (c)	Possession of a bomb	A
941.26 (4) (b)	Intentional use of pepper spray to cause bodily harm	A
941.26 (4) (h)	Selling pepper spray where customers have direct access to it	A
941.26 (4) (i) 1.	Selling pepper spray that does not meet state requirements	A
941.26 (4) (j) 1.	Selling pepper spray without adequate labeling	A
941.26 (4) (L)	Possession of pepper spray by a felon	A

- 28 - LRB-13-WB-5

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
941.299 (3) (a)	Directing a laser pointer at law enforcement	В
941.315 (2)	Possession or inhalation of nitrous oxide	A
941.316 (2)	Possession or abuse of hazardous substances	A
941.318 (2)	Manufacture, distribution, or delivery of salvinorin A with intent that it be consumed	Max. \$10,000
941.36 (1)	Fraudulent tapping of electric wires, gas, water, meters, or pipes	С
941.37 (2)	Obstructing emergency or rescue personnel	A
941.38 (3)	Violation of a court order to refrain from contacting a criminal gang member	A
941.39 (2)	Violation of a court order prohibiting contact with victims	A
941.40 (1)	Disturbing telecommunications or electricity lines by affecting a structure	В
941.40 (2)	Intentional disturbance of telecommunications or electricity lines	В
941.40 (3)	Intentionally causing an electrical connection with telecommunications or electricity lines	A
942.01 (1)	Defamation	A
942.03	Giving false information for publication	A
942.05	Opening letters	A
942.06 (3)	Use of polygraphs and similar tests	В
942.07 (4)	Use of genetics tests	В
942.08 (2)	Invasion of privacy	A
942.09 (5) (a)	Capturing a representation of a nude person in a locker room	В
942.09 (5) (b) 1.	Capturing and distributing a representation of a nude person in a locker room	A
943.01 (1)	Damage to physical property	A
943.014 (2)	Demolition of a historic building without authorization	A
943.017 (1)	Graffiti	A
943.07 (3)	Throwing or shooting at railroads	В
943.07 (4)	Depositing dangerous debris on a railroad track	В
943.11	Entry into a locked vehicle	A
943.125 (1)	Entry into a locked coin box	A
943.125 (2)	Possession of a device intended for breaking into a coin box	A
943.14	Criminal trespass to dwellings	A
943.145 (2)	Criminal trespass to a medical facility	В
943.15 (1)	Entry onto a construction site or into a locked building, dwelling, or room	A
943.20 (3) (a)	Theft (if the value of the property does not exceed \$2,500)	A
943.207 (3m) (a)	Unlawful transfer of recorded sounds (if involving fewer than 1,000 recordings that do not exceed \$2,500 in value)	A
943.208 (2) (a)	Recording a performance without the consent of the performance owner (if involving fewer than 1,000 sound recordings or 100 audiovisual recordings during a 180-day period and the value of the recordings does not exceed \$2,500)	A
943.209 (2) (a)	Failure to disclose the manufacturer of a recording (if involving fewer than 100 recordings during a 180-day period and the value of the recordings does not exceed \$2,500)	A
943.21 (3) (am) 1.	Fraud on a hotel or restaurant keeper, recreational attraction, taxicab operator, or gas station (if the value of the service is \$2,500 or less)	A

LRB-13-WB-5 - 29 -

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
943.215 (1)	Absconding without paying rent	A
943.23 (3m)	Operating a vehicle without the owner's consent for less than 24 hours	A
943.23 (4m)	Riding as a passenger in a vehicle operated without the owner's consent	A
943.23 (5)	Removal of minor parts of a vehicle without the owner's consent	A
943.24 (1)	Issuing worthless checks for \$2,500 or less	A
943.26 (1)	Removing or damaging encumbered real property	A
943.34 (1) (a)	Receiving stolen property (if the value of the property does not exceed \$2,500)	A
943.37	Alteration of property identification marks	A
943.38 (3)	Forgery; falsely making or altering objects and certain writings or documents	A
943.392	Fraudulent data alteration	A
943.395 (2) (a)	Fraudulent insurance and employee benefit program claims (if the value of the claim does not exceed \$2,500)	A
943.41 (8) (a)	Making false statements to procure a financial transaction card; theft by taking a card or signing another's card	A
943.41 (8) (c)	Fraudulent use of a financial transaction card (if the value of the money, goods, services, or property does not exceed \$2,500)	A
943.45 (3) (b)	Theft of telecommunications service (second or subsequent offenses)	В
943.45 (3) (c)	Theft of telecommunications service (for direct or indirect commercial advantage or private financial gain)	A
943.455 (4) (b)	Theft of commercial mobile service (second or subsequent offenses)	В
943.455 (4) (c)	Theft of commercial mobile service (for direct or indirect commercial advantage or private financial gain)	A
943.46 (4) (b)	Theft of cable television service (second or subsequent offenses)	В
943.46 (4) (c)	Theft of cable television service (for direct or indirect commercial advantage or private financial gain)	A
943.47 (3) (b)	Theft of satellite cable programming (second or subsequent offenses)	В
943.47 (3) (c)	Theft of satellite cable programming (for direct or indirect commercial advantage or private financial gain)	A
943.49 (2) (b) 1.	Use of a recording device in a movie theater without written consent	A
943.50 (4) (a)	Retail theft (if the value of the merchandise does not exceed \$500)	A
943.61 (5) (a)	Theft of library material (if the value of the library materials does not exceed \$2,500)	A
943.62 (4) (a)	Unlawful receipt of payments to obtain a loan for another (if the value of the payment does not exceed \$2,500)	A
943.70 (2) (b) 1.	Computer crimes; offenses against computer data and programs	A
943.70 (3) (b) 1.	Computer crimes; offenses against computers, computer equipment, or supplies	A
943.74 (3) (a)	Theft of farm-raised fish	A
943.75 (2)	Unauthorized release of animals	C (first offense), A (second offense)
943.76 (3) (a)	Infecting livestock with a contagious disease through reckless conduct	A
943.76 (3) (b)	Infecting wild deer with a contagious disease through reckless conduct	A
943.81 and 943.91 (1)	Theft from a financial institution (if the value of the money, funds, credits, assets, securities, or property does not exceed \$500)	A
943.82 (1) and 943.91 (1)	Fraud against a financial institution (if the value of the money, funds, credits, assets, securities, or property does not exceed \$500)	A
943.83 and 943.91 (1)	Loan fraud (if the value of the loan does not exceed \$500)	A

-30 - LRB-13-WB-5

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
943.84 and 943.91 (1)	Transfer of encumbered property (if the value of the property does not exceed \$500)	A
944.15 (2)	Public fornication	A
944.17 (2)	Sexual gratification	A
944.20 (1)	Lewd or lascivious behavior	A
944.21 (5) (b)	Obscenity (if the person has one prior obscenity conviction)	A
944.23	Making lewd, obscene, or indecent drawings in public	С
944.25 (2)	Sending obscene or sexually explicit electronic messages	A
944.30	Prostitution	A
944.31	Patronizing prostitutes	A
944.33 (1)	Pandering	A
944.36	Solicitation of drinks by an entertainer or employee of a licensee, permittee, or bartender of a retail alcohol beverage establishment	В
945.02	Gambling	В
945.04 (1m)	Permitting premises to be used for commercial gambling	A
945.07 (1)	Gambling by participants in a contest	A
945.08 (2)	Agreeing to being bribed as a participant in a contest	A
946.06 (1)	Improper use of the flag	A
946.15 (2)	Public construction contracts at less than full rate (kickbacks)	С
946.15 (4)	Public construction contracts at less than full rate (targeting)	С
946.16	Judicial officer collecting claims	В
946.17	Corrupt means to influence legislation; disclosure of interest	A
946.32 (2)	False swearing	A
946.40 (1)	Refusing to aid an officer	С
946.41 (1)	Resisting or obstructing an officer	A
946.42 (2)	Escape from custody	A
946.425 (1m) (a)	Failure to report to jail (for a person who receives a stay of execution of imprisonment of less than 10 days)	A
946.425 (1r) (a)	Failure to report to jail (for a person who is subject to a confinement order as the result of a conviction for a misdemeanor)	A
946.45 (1)	Negligently allowing escape	В
946.46	Encouraging a violation of probation, extended supervision, or parole	A
946.49 (1) (a)	Bail jumping (if the offense with which the person is charged is a misdemeanor)	A
946.495	Violation of a nonsecure custody order	A
946.50 (6)	Absconding (if the person was adjudicated delinquent for committing a misdemeanor if committed by an adult)	A
946.67 (1)	Compounding crime	A
946.70 (1) (a)	Impersonating a peace officer with intent to mislead others	A
946.70 (1) (b)	Impersonating a fire fighter with intent to mislead others	A
946.70 (1) (c)	Impersonating an emergency medical technician with intent to mislead others	A
946.70 (1) (d)	Impersonating a first responder with intent to mislead others	A
946.71 (2)	Unlawful use of a license for carrying concealed weapons	A
946.72 (2)	Tampering with public notices	В

LRB-13-WB-5 -31 -

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
946.73	Violation of laws governing state fair park or any state or county charitable, curative, reformatory, or penal institution while within the same grounds	С
946.74 (1)	Aiding escape from mental institutions	A
946.75	Denial of right of counsel	A
947.01 (1)	Disorderly conduct	В
947.011 (3) (a)	Disrupting a funeral or memorial service	A
947.012 (1)	Unlawful use of a telephone	В
947.0125 (2)	Unlawful use of computerized communication systems	В
947.013 (1r)	Harassment accompanied by a credible threat that places the victim in reasonable fear of death or great bodily harm	A
947.02	Vagrancy	С
947.04 (1)	Drinking in common carriers	С
947.06 (3)	Intentional failure or refusal to withdraw from an unlawful assembly which the person knows has been ordered to disperse	A
947.07 (2)	Causing violence or a breach of peace by damaging or destroying a U.S. flag	A
948.09	Sexual intercourse with a child age 16 or older	A
948.10 (1) (b)	Exposing genitals or pubic area to a child, or causing a child to expose genitals or pubic area, for purposes of sexual arousal or sexual gratification (when the actor is a child)	A
948.11 (2) (b)	Intent to expose a child to harmful material	A
948.21 (1) (a)	Neglecting a child (when no bodily harm is a consequence)	A
948.22 (3)	Failure to provide spousal, grandchild, or child support (for less than 120 consecutive days)	A
948.23 (3) (c) 1.	Failure to report the disappearance of a child (when no bodily harm is a consequence)	A
948.40 (4)	Contributing to the delinquency of a child	A
948.45 (1)	Contributing to truancy	С
948.50 (3)	Strip search of a pupil by a school employee	В
948.51 (3) (a)	Hazing (if the act results in or is likely to result in bodily harm to another)	A
948.53 (2) (b) 1.	Child left unattended in a child care vehicle (when no bodily harm is a consequence)	A
948.55 (2)	Leaving or storing a loaded firearm within the reach or easy access of a child (if the child discharges the firearm causing bodily harm)	A
948.55 (3)	Leaving or storing a loaded firearm within the reach or easy access of a child (if the child possesses or exhibits the firearm in a public place)	С
948.60 (2) (a)	Possession of a dangerous weapon by a person under 18	A
948.61 (2) (a)	Possession of a dangerous weapon other than a firearm on school premises	A
948.62 (1) (a)	Receiving stolen property from a child (if the value of the property does not exceed \$500)	A
948.63	Receiving property from a child	A
949.165 (14)	Violations relating to payment to and establishment of escrow accounts	Max. \$500, 30 days
949.17 (2)	Misrepresentation associated with the crime victim compensation program	Max. \$500, 6 months
949.37 (2)	Misrepresentation associated with awards for sexual assault forensic examination compensation	Max. \$500, 6 months

- 32 - LRB-13-WB-5

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
951.02 and 951.18 (1)	Mistreating animals	A
951.025 and 951.18 (1)	Killing an animal by means of decompression	A
951.03 and 951.18 (1)	Dognapping and catnapping	A
951.04 and 951.18 (1)	Leading an animal upon a highway from a motor vehicle	A
951.05 and 951.18 (1)	Transportation of animals in a cruel manner	A
951.06 and 951.18 (1)	Exposing a domestic animal to poisonous or controlled substances	A
951.07 and 951.18 (1)	Using certain devices on animals to ready them for an exhibition, competition, rodeo, circus, or other performance	A
951.08 (2m) and 951.18 (2)	Owning an animal within 5 years of conviction for instigating fights between animals	A
951.08 (3) and 951.18 (2)	Spectating a cockfight, dog fight, bullfight, or other fight between animals	A
951.09 and 951.18 (1)	Shooting at caged or staked animals	A
951.095 and 951.19 (2m)	Harassment of police and fire animals (when no injury is a consequence)	A
951.097 (1) (b) 1. or (2) (a) and 951.18 (2s)	Reckless harassment of service dogs	В
951.097 (1) (b) 2., (2) (b), or (3) (a) and 951.18 (2s)	Intentional harassment of service dogs or recklessly injuring a service dog	A
951.10 and 951.18 (1)	Unlawful sale of baby rabbits, chicks, and other fowl	A
951.11 and 951.18 (1)	Artificially coloring animals	A
951.13 and 951.18 (1)	Failure to provide proper food and drink to confined animals	A
951.14 and 951.18 (1)	Failure to provide proper shelter to confined animals	A
951.15 and 951.18 (1)	Abandoning animals	A
961.41 (3g) (b)	Possession of a controlled substance not included in schedule I or II that is a narcotic drug	
961.41 (4) (bm)	Manufacture, delivery, distribution, or dispensation of imitation controlled substances	Max. \$500, 6 months
961.435	Use or prescription by a practitioner of a controlled substance in schedule I, II, III, or IV	Max. \$500, 30 days
961.573 (1)	Possession of drug paraphernalia	Max. \$500, 30 days
961.574 (1)	Manufacture or delivery of drug paraphernalia	Max. \$1,000, 90 days
961.575 (1)	Delivery of drug paraphernalia to a minor	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
961.576	Advertisement of drug paraphernalia	Max. \$500, 30 days
968.075 (5) (a) 2.	Contact with an alleged victim immediately following an arrest for a domestic abuse incident	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
968.255 (4)	Intentional violation of strip search requirements	Max. \$1,000, 90 days
968.34 (3)	Unlawful use of a pen register or trap and trace device	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
968.49	Failure to attend as a grand juror after being lawfully summoned without a sufficient excuse	Max. \$40
973.05 (5) (g)	Use by an employer of an assignment for an employee's failure to pay certain fines, surcharges, costs, or fees to discriminate against the employee	Max. \$500
973.07	Failure to pay a fine, fees, surcharges, or costs or to comply with certain community service work	Max. 6 months
976.03 (11)	Officer delivering a person in custody to an extradition agent of another state	Max. \$1,000, 6 months

LRB-13-WB-5 -33 -

2011 Statute Section	Summary of Misdemeanor	Penalty or Class
979.01 (2)	Violations relating to reporting deaths	Max. \$1,000, 90 days
979.10 (4)	Unlawful cremation without a permit	Max. \$10,000, 9 months
985.03 (2)	Causing a legal notice to be published in an ineligible newspaper or failure to cause such legal notice in any newspaper	Max. \$100
995.67 (2) (b)	Disclosure by a domestic abuse services organization of the location of certain people	Max. \$500, 30 days

Note: Penalties are presented as a fine, imprisonment, or both.