

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

AGENDA

SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON STATE-TRIBAL RELATIONS

(Representative Jeffrey Mursau, Chair) (Senator Kathleen Vinehout, Vice-Chair)

November 9, 2012

Thornberry Creek at Oneida Hawk's Crest East Room 4470 North Pine Tree Road Oneida, WI

10:30 a.m.* CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL.

10:35 a.m. WELCOME:

- Paul Ninham, Councilman, Oneida Nation of Wisconsin.
- Melinda Danforth, Councilwoman, Oneida Nation of Wisconsin.

10:40 a.m. OPENING REMARKS AND INTRODUCTIONS.

10:45 a.m. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF THE SEPTEMBER 25, 2012 MEETING.

10:50 a.m. TRIBALLY-ISSUED MOTOR VEHICLE LICENSE PLATES; BRIEFING:

- Mitchell Warren, Director, Bureau of Vehicle Services, and Reed McGinn, Legislative Liaison, Division of Motor Vehicles, Department of Transportation.
- Walt Neverman, Director, Crime Information Bureau, Department of Justice.

One East Main Street, Suite 401 • P.O. Box 2536 • Madison, WI 53701-2536 (608) 266-1304 • Fax: (608) 266-3830 • Email: leg.council@legis.state.wi.us/lc http://www.legis.state.wi.us/lc

*All of the times listed in the agenda are approximations.

11:30 a.m. LOCAL GOVERNMENT PROPERTY INSURANCE FUND:

• WLC: 0025/1, relating to allowing American Indian tribes and bands to insure governmental facilities under the local government property insurance fund.

12:00 p.m. LUNCH BREAK.

1:00 p.m. INTOXICATED DRIVER PROGRAM:

• WLC: 0029/1, an amendment to WLC: 0005/2, relating to tribal facilities' participation in the intoxicated driver program.

1:30 p.m. TRANSPORT OF GAME:

• WLC: 0002/2, relating to the transportation in this state of game taken in another state or on Indian land.

2:15 p.m. POWERS OF TRIBAL CONSERVATION WARDENS:

• Memo No. 3, Authorizing Tribal Conservation Wardens to Enforce State Conservation Laws on Reservations and on Off-Reservation Trust Lands (November 2, 2012).

2:50 p.m. OTHER BUSINESS.

2:55 p.m. PLANS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS.

3:00 p.m. ADJOURNMENT.

Other committee members: Sens. Holperin and Schultz; Reps. Bewley, Milroy, Rivard, Steineke, and Stroebel; and Public Members Besaw, Danforth, Defoe, Duffek, Greendeer, Martinson, Mayo, McGeshick, and Morrow.