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" Background

Over the past 4 years, Milwaukee County has accounted for 33% of all Emergency Detentions
(ED) in the State, totaling approximately 8,000/year. Milwaukee County accounts for 17% of the
overall state population.

In all Wisconsin counties, probable cause hearings must be held within 72 hours of an emergency
detention to determine if a chapter 51 commitment is required.

Only Milwaukee County has an additional requirement to provide a Treatment Director
Stipulation (TDS) within the first 24 hours. (The TDS only applies to counties having a
population of greater than 500,000, which currently is only Milwaukee County.) The TDS
requirement is that a Behavioral Health Division medical staff sees an individual within the first
24 hours of a detention.

The primary concern with TDS is if a patient requires also medical clearance from a hospital
before entering BHD’s Psychiatric Crisis Service, the 24 hour TDS time period has likely expired
— again - due to either a pre-existing medical condition or as a result of physical harm they have
done to themselves that led to the ED. This can result in some of the most serious cases being
dismissed that otherwise could have been addressed.

Requiring Milwaukee County to complete a TDS is redundant and reduces the amount of time the
County has to work the cases and secure witnesses to testify at hearings. The cases do not begin
the process toward preparation for a hearing until the TDS is completed giving Milwaukee
County significantly less time to prepare a case for hearing.

Proposed Change

Eliminate the Treatment Director Supplement Requirement (TDS) that applies only to Milwaukee County
from the Wisconsin Statutes as follows: '

Under Wis. Stats. 51.15(4)(b), “Upon delivery of the individual the treatment director of the facility, or
his or her designee shall determine within 24 hours whether the individual shall be detained, or shall be

- detained, evaluated, diagnosed and treated.” This section of the statute only applies to counties having a
population of greater than 500,000 people (Milwaukee County).
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