Special Committee on Reporting of Child Abuse & Neglect



September 6, 2012
Nic Dibble, LSSW, CISW
Education Consultant
School Social Work Services
Department of Public Instruction



Overview

- DPI's work prior to WI Act 81
- WI Act 81 changes for schools
- DPI's support to implement WI Act 81
- Feedback from Wisconsin school officials
- Questions



DPI's Work prior to WI Act 81

Publications

- —Reporting Requirements for Sexually Active Adolescents: Suggested Procedures for Educators http://www.dpi.wi.gov/sspw/pdf/rrfsaa.pdf
- —The School's Role in Preventing Child Abuse & Neglect http://www.dpi.wi.gov/sspw/sswchildabuse.html

Webcast



Prior to Act 81 ...

- Mandated reporters in schools included school teachers, counselors, administrators & most other professional employees
- Mandated reporters could not be dismissed for making a report for suspected child maltreatment, as required by law



WI Act 81 Changes for Schools

All school district employees are now mandated reporters

Prohibition against disciplining or discriminating against people reporting in good faith



WI Act 81 Changes for Schools

- School districts must require every employee to receive DPI training
 - —Identification of children who have been abused or neglected
 - —Laws & procedures for reporting suspected child abuse or neglect
 - —Within 6 months of initial employment & at least every 5 years thereafter



DPI Interpretations of Act 81

 "every employee" construed broadly (i.e., anyone receiving an annual wage statement from the school district)

 WI Act 81 became effective 12/09/11, so initial training was to be completed within 6 months (no later than 6/09/12)



- Developed training alternatives for educators
 - —Webcast #1 to meet training requirement
 - Definitions of child abuse & neglect
 - Warning signs
 - How to report
 - How to get more information
 - —Webcast #2 recommended for school administrators & pupil services professionals
 - Guidelines for talking with students
 - Cooperating with CPS assessment
 - Possible outcomes of a report
 - Special circumstances



- Developed training alternatives for educators
 - PowerPoint presentations from webcasts available to be delivered locally by school or county officials
 - Speaker notes provided
 - OK to supplement but not supplant content
 - Electronic completion certificate



 DPI publication The School's Role in Preventing Child Abuse & Neglect was updated to include new requirements & information from WI Act 81



- Established new home page on child abuse & neglect http://www.dpi.wi.gov/sspw/can.html
 - —Description of WI Act 81 requirements
 - —Links to:
 - Both webcasts
 - Both PowerPoint presentations used in the webcasts
 - DPI publications
 - Wisconsin public & private, non-profit agencies



Feedback from WI School Officials

- Issues surrounding ...
 - —Part-time employees
 - Coaches
 - Substitute teachers
 - —Employees who are minors
 - Casual employees
 - People who take tickets at athletic events
 - —School board members
 - —Contracted personnel
 - Bus drivers



Feedback from WI School Officials

- Some law enforcement officials who receive reports for suspected child abuse or neglect have disclosed police reports, upon request, including the name of the reporter
 - —Prohibited by Wis. Stat. sec. 48.981(7)
 - —Penalty for disclosure is up to \$1,000 & up to 6 months in jail

