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Structure of Child Protective Services

In Wisconsin

e Child Protective Services (CPS) is a key component of Wisconsin’s
Child Welfare System. Its purpose is to protect the health, safety, and
welfare of children by encouraging the reporting of suspected child
abuse and neglect.

« CPS agencies are responsible for identifying and addressing
conditions affecting child safety in the home. In Wisconsin, this
responsibility is met through a state-supervised, county-administered
system, with the exception of Milwaukee County.

 The Department directly operates child welfare services in Milwaukee
County through the Bureau of Milwaukee Child Welfare (BMCW).

» Alleged child maltreatment is reported to 71 county social or human
services departments in the state and to BMCW.

» Alleged child maltreatment involving tribal children is also reported to
county CPS agencies.
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Child Abuse and Neglect

Wisconsin State Statutes define child
abuse and neglect. These definitions
provide the basis for persons to report
suspected child maltreatment and guide
county agencies in their response.

The terms “child maltreatment” and “child
abuse and/or neglect” have the same
meaning and can be used
iInterchangeably.
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Child Abuse and Neglect: Definitions

Neglect: Defined as “failure, refusal or inability on the part of a parent,
guardian, legal custodian or other person exercising temporary or
permanent control over a child, for reasons other than poverty, to provide
necessary care, food, clothing, medical or dental care or shelter, so as to
seriously endanger the physical health of the child.” [Ref. s. 48.981(1)(d),
Stats.]

Physical Abuse: Defined as “physical injury inflicted on a child by other
than accidental means.” [Ref. s. 48.02(1)(a), Stats.] “Physical injury
includes, but is not limited to, lacerations, fractured bones, burns, internal
Injuries, severe or frequent bruising or great bodily harm, as defined in s.
039.22(14)."[Ref. s. 48.02(149), Stats.]

Emotional Abuse: Defined as “emotional damage for which the child’s
parent, guardian or legal custodian has neglected, refused or is unable for
reasons other than poverty to obtain the necessary treatment or to take
steps to ameliorate the symptoms.” [Ref. s. 48.02(1)(gm), Stats.]

A
i
R wisconsin department of

children & families



Child Abuse and Neglect: Definitions

o Sexual Abuse: Defined by cross-referencing several crimes in the Wisconsin
Criminal Code. In summary, sexual abuse includes, but is not limited to, the
following:

= Sexual intercourse or sexual contact with a child 15 years of age or less; [Ref.
S. 940.225, Stats., Sexual assault., s. 948.02, Stats., Sexual assault of a
child.]

= Sexual intercourse or sexual contact with a 16 or 17 year old child without his
or her consent; [Ref. s. 940.225. Stats., Sexual assault., s. 948.02 Stats.,
Sexual assault of a child.]

* |nducement of a child to engage in sexually explicit conduct in order to
videotape, photograph, etc., that child or videotaping, photographing, etc., a
child for such purposes, or producing, distributing, selling or otherwise
profiting from such videotape, photograph, etc.,; [Ref. s. 948.05, Stats.,
Sexual exploitation of a child.]
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Child Abuse and Neglect: Definitions

= Encouragement by or permission of a person responsible for a
child’s welfare for a child to engage in sexually explicit conduct for
the purpose of videotaping, photographing, etc.; [Ref. s. 948.05,
Stats., Sexual exploitation of a child.] [Ref. s. 48.02(1)(a), Stats.]

= Causing a child to view or listen to sexual activity; [Ref, s. 948.05,
Stats.], Sexual exploitation of a child; [Ref. s. 948.05, Stats.]
Causing a child to view or listen to sexual activity. [Ref. s.
48.02(1)(a), Stats.]

= EXposing genitals to a child; or permitting or encouraging a child to
engage Iin prostitution. [Ref. s. 944.30, Stats., Prostitution., Ref. s.
948.10., Exposing genitals or pubic area. [Ref. s. 48.02(1)(a), Stats.]
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Wisconsin Statute 48.981.:

Mandated Reporters

“Any of the following persons who
has reasonable cause to suspect
that a child seen by the person In
the course of professional duties
has been abused or neglected or
who has reason to believe that a
child seen by the person in the
course of professional duties has
been threatened with abuse or
neglect...”
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Mandated Reporters: Examples

« Physician, Coroner, Medical Examiner, Nurse, Dentist,
Chiropractor, Optometrist

 Mental Health Professional, Social Worker, Therapist,
Counselor, Public Assistance Worker

o School Teacher, Administrator, Counselor, All School
Employees (including bus drivers, maintenance staff,
clerical staff, coaches, etc), Child Care Professionals

* Physical/Occupational/Speech Therapist, Dietician,
Audiologist

* First Responders, Law Enforcement
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Mandated Reporting:
Legislative Histor

1929: Because Wisconsin state law did not forbid importation or
exportation of children, advocates promulgated The Children’s Code,
48.42.

1960s: Nationally, child abuse/neglect reporting requirements emerged in
response to heightened public concern about physical abuse to children.

1967: All states adopted child abuse statutes; The federal government
passed the Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA) which
“set the standard for state mandatory reporting laws”.

1967-1977: 48 states enacted statutes identifying persons required to
report child maltreatment and designated professions whose members
are mandated by law to report.

1977: Wisconsin Children’s Code was revised to promote enforcement of
laws protecting developmentally disabled children, delinquent children,
children in need of protection, and children born out of wedlock, and to act
In the best interests of those children in cooperation with child welfare
agencies and delinguency services.
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Mandated Reporting:
Legislative History Continued

1983: Wisconsin Act 172 was an expansion of allied health
providers as mandatory reporters.

2005: Wisconsin Act 232 eliminated the requirement that CPS
agencies complete a CPS initial assessment in situations where
the alleged maltreater is not a “caregiver” as defined in s. 48.981
(1)(am), Stats.

2011: Wisconsin Act 81 extends the requirement to report
suspected child abuse or neglect to any school employee.

2011: Governor Walker signed Executive Order #54 to expand
mandatory reporting requirements of child abuse and neglect to
Include all University of Wisconsin System (UWS) professors,
administrators, coaches, and employees.
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Mandated Reporting:

Wisconsin Statutes

* Wisconsin State Statutes (s.48.981(8)), requires the
Department of Children and Families, Bureau of Milwaukee
Child Welfare and county departments, to the extent
feasible, to provide continuing education and training for a
range of professionals in the child welfare field, including
persons and officials required to report, the general public,
and others as appropriate.

« State law directs the training to cover the encouragement of
reporting child abuse and neglect and of unborn child abuse;
encouragement of self-reporting; voluntary acceptance of
services; and to improve communication, cooperation and
coordination in the identification, prevention and treatment of
child abuse and neglect of unborn child abuse.
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Training for Mandated Reporters

Two methods are utilized to deliver training to mandated
reporters:

 Group Training: facilitated by a trainer with group
participation and hand delivered materials.

 On-line training: participants are able to access the
material and complete the training at their own pace
through self-directed, independent learning.
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Training for Mandated Reporters

Suspected Child Abuse and Neglect — Mandated Reporter Training
(SCAN-MT ) consists of an online curriculum and materials for use In
training mandated reporters on child abuse and neglect. Topics covered
In the training are:

» Scope of the problem of child abuse and neglect (nationally and statewide);

* Long-term consequences of abuse and neglect;

» Different types of abuse and neglect including definitions, examples and signs;
« Wisconsin reporting law and what the law requires;

 How to respond when a child discloses abuse and/or neglect;

When, how, and what to report;

» The role of child protective services;

» Risk factors related to child maltreatment;

* The process of child protective services assessment; and

 Prevention of child maltreatment.
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Referrals by Reporter Type:

Referrals (Screened-in and Screened out) by Reporter’s Relationship
to the Alleged Child Victim, 2010

Reporter Count of Referrals Percent of Total Referrals

Educational Personnel 10,183 16%
Legal/Law Enforcement 9,809 16%
Social Service Worker 9,305 15%
Parent of Child Victim 6,905 11%
Anonymous/Not Documented 5,729 9%
Mental Health Professional 4,385 7%
Relative 4,308 7%
Other 4,017 7%
Medical Personnel 3,175 5%
Neighbor/Friend 2,444 4%
Child Care Provider 809 1%
Other Caregiver of Child Victim 404 1%
Child Victim 265 < 1%
Maltreater 25 < 1%
State Total 61,763 100%
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Overview of Child Protective

Services Process
Child Protective Services (CPS) Access:

« Agency receives a referral from reporter.

« Agency determines if allegation constitutes an

allegation of threatened harm as defined by Wisconsin
statutes.

 When allegations constitute threatened harm, the
report moves to next stage in process.

* Reports containing information not meeting the criteria
as defined In statute are screened out.
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Child Protective Services

Process Continued

CPS Initial Assessment:

« Agency designates response time (from immediate

response to five days) by which face-to-face contact
with the child/family must occur.

 Interviews with child, family, other individuals close to
family are completed.

* Information gathered is used to determine whether
abuse occurred and to make safety determinations.
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CPS Process for Traditional Res

APPENDIX C

An Overview of the CPS Process for Traditional Response Cases

CPS Access

CPS receives a report of alleged
child abuse and/or neglect from a
source.

l—| Screening Decision |ﬁ

Screened-in: CPS determines
that at least one allegation

meets statutory requirements for
child abuse and/or neglect.

Screened-out: CPS determines

that all allegations do not meet

statutory requirements for abuse|
and/or neglect.

1

CPS case closed. Family may still be
offered/referred services.

Initial Assessment

CPS assesses:
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Is the child safe?
Are risk conditions present?

Did maltreatment occur?

Maltreatment Finding:

Substantiated or Unsubstantiated. and/or
Abuse Likely or Not Likely to Occur. or

Not Able to Locate Sources/Report Subjects -
Unsubstantiated.

Safety Decision

v

Yes:

CPS case opened. and

family offered voluntary CPS
services. or

family assigned court-ordered CPS
services.

Can the child safelv remain in the home?

No:
Child removed and placed in OHC:

services provided to child and family.

H Are services needed to ensure child safety? l |

No:

CPS case closed. and/or

family referred to community
services. or

family offered voluntary CPS
services.

v

Yes:
Child remains in home; services
provided to child and family.




Screen-in Rate Data

Statewide Referrals and Screening Decisions, 2010

Number Screened- Percent  Screened-  Percent

of out Screened- In Screened-
Referrals  Referrals out Referrals In
State 61,763 35,469 57% 26,294 43%

Total

A

R

W  wisconsin department of
children & families



Volume of Referrals

Total Number of CPS Reports Statewide
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Wisconsin Substantiation Rates

Statewide Substantiation Rates by Year
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Child Protective Services &

Law Enforcement

Wisconsin Statute 48.981(3) establishes reciprocal
communication requirements for counties and law
enforcement:

“Except as provided in sub. (3m), a county department,
the department, or a licensed child welfare agency
under contract with the department shall, within 12
hours...refer to the sheriff or police department all
cases of suspected or threatened abuse...”

“If the report is of suspected or threatened abuse, the
sheriff or police department and the department shall
coordinate the planning and execution of the
Investigation of the report...”
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Child Protective Services &

Law Enforcement

The sheriff or police department shall within 12 hours, exclusive of
Saturdays, Sundays, or legal holidays, refer to the county department
or, in a county having a population of 500,000 or more, the
department or a licensed child welfare agency under contract with the
department all of the following types of cases reported to the sheriff or
police department:

» Cases in which a caregiver is suspected of abuse or neglect or of
threatened abuse or neglect of a child;

« Cases in which a caregiver is suspected of facilitating or failing to take
action to prevent the suspected or threatened abuse or neglect of a child;

e Cases in which it cannot be determined who abused or neglected or
threatened to abuse or neglect a child; and

« Cases in which there is reason to suspect that an unborn child has been
abused, or there is reason to believe that an unborn child is at substantial
risk of abuse.
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Current Division Initrative

Revisions to Child Protective Services Access and Initial
Assessment Standards will include information and
changes intended to improve reporting quality and
consistency. The policy, scheduled for issuance in

January 2013, promotes:

e Consistent interpretation and application of reporting
policy/procedure, leading to improved safety outcomes
for Wisconsin children.

 Clarity of reporting requirements, strengthening
public’s knowledge of where, when, and how to report
child abuse or neglect.
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Statutory Change:

Fetal Alcohol Syndrome (FAS

« Reauthorization of the Child Abuse Prevention and
Treatment Act (CAPTA) requires health care providers to
notify Child Protective Services (CPS) systems of infants
born and identified with Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder.

e Currently, Wisconsin section 146.0255(2), Stats., requires
health care providers to report to Child Protective
Services [Ref. s. 46.238, Stats.] an infant affected by
controlled substances or controlled substances analogs.

e To address the federal requirement, Wisconsin Statutes
must be amended to include infants born and identified
with Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder.
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Wisconsin's Child Protective Services

The Department of Children & Families is
committed to promoting the well being

s of children in their home settings
‘# o | wherever possible, or in another safe
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Comments and questions are welcomed.

Please feel free to contact me at 608-266-
8843 or at: RobertB.Williams@wisconsin.gov
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