

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

AGENDA

SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON PERMANENCY FOR YOUNG CHILDREN IN THE CHILD WELFARE SYSTEM

Representative Samantha Kerkman, Chair Senator Mary Lazich, Vice-Chair

September 11, 2012

Room 412 East, State Capitol

10:00 a.m.* CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL.

10:05 a.m. MOMENT OF SILENCE IN MEMORY OF THE VICTIMS OF THE TERRORIST ATTACKS ON SEPTEMBER 11, 2001.

10:06 A.M. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL COMMITTEE'S JULY 24, 2012 MEETING.

10:10 a.m. PRESENTATIONS ON INVOLUNTARY TERMINATION OF PARENTAL RIGHTS TRIALS, BY:

- Megan L. DeVore, La Crosse County Deputy Corporation Counsel.
- Eve M. Dorman, Dane County Assistant Corporation Counsel.
- Wendy J.N. Klicko, Sauk County Assistant Corporation Counsel.

11:10 a.m. PRESENTATION ON PERMANENCY ISSUES BY CURRENT AND FORMER FOSTER CHILDREN, BY:

- Susan Conwell, Kids Matter Inc. Executive Director, Moderator.
- Heidi Bronsdon.
- Brigette Singletary.
- Amanda Salas.

One East Main Street, Suite 401 • P.O. Box 2536 • Madison, WI 53701-2536 (608) 266-1304 • Fax: (608) 266-3830 • Email: leg.council@legis.state.wi.us/lc http://www.legis.state.wi.us/lc

*All of the times listed in the agenda are approximations.

- Bella Xiong.
- Tatiana Woody.

12:15 p.m. LUNCH.

1:00 p.m. PRESENTATION ON RECENT MINNESOTA MEASURES TO IMPROVE THE PROCESS OF ACHIEVING PERMANENCY, BY:

• Ann Ahlstrom, Staff Attorney, Minnesota Supreme Court.

2:00 p.m. DESCRIPTION OF MATERIALS DISTRIBUTED:

- National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) Memorandum, Child Welfare Information Request.
- NCSL State Legislator Fact Sheet, Child Welfare Title IV-E Waiver Demonstration Projects 2012-2014.
- Memo No. 2, Termination of Parental Rights When Child is in Need of Protection or Services (July 17, 2012) (previously distributed at the July 24, 2012 committee meeting).
- Memo No. 3, Options for Legislation (September 5, 2012).

2:15 p.m. DISCUSSION OF COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENT.

3:55 p.m. OTHER BUSINESS.

4:00 p.m. ADJOURNMENT.

Other committee members: Reps. Billings and Grigsby; and Public Members Ellingson, Foley, Gumz, Herbst, Jasmer, Leoso-Corbine, Maki, Murphy, Neeson, Othrow, Rogers, Snead, and Sowinski.