

## WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL SPECIAL COMMITTEE

## SINGLE-USE PLASTICS

Representative Spencer Black, **Chair** 5742 Elder Place Madison, WI 53705

Senator Robert Cowles 300 West St. Joseph St. Green Bay, WI 54301

George Dreckmann City of Madison Recycling Coordinator 1501 West Badger Road Madison, WI 53713

John Kelly Market Area Vice President-Midwest Waste Management Recycle America W132 N10487 Grant Road Germantown, WI 53022

Tim Metcalfe Metcalfe Sentry Foods 726 North Midvale Boulevard Madison, WI 53705-3207

John Reindl, retired Dane County Department of Public Works 4514 Gregg Road Madison, WI 53705

Joe Van Rossum Recycling Specialist Solid and Hazardous Waste Education Center 610 Langdon Street, Room 533 Madison, WI 53703-1195 Senator Jim Holperin, **Vice-Chair** 3575 Monheim Road Conover, WI 54516

Win Clemmons, Plant Manager Pactiv Corporation Chippewa Falls Facility 1500 West River Street Chippewa Falls, WI 54729-1954

Charles Evenhouse Oneida County Solid Waste Department 7450 County Highway K Rhinelander, WI 54501

Brian Lawless Section Manager Kraft Foods 910 Mayer Avenue, 5S Madison, WI 53704

Rick Meyers Recycling Manager City of Milwaukee Department of Public Works 841 North Broadway, Room 620 Milwaukee, WI 53202

Roger Springman Genesis Poly Recycling P.O. Box 27 Wyocena, WI 53969

STUDY ASSIGNMENT: The Special Committee is directed to: (a) evaluate the economic and environmental costs and benefits of single-use products, such as plastic food and beverage packaging and containers, plastic film products, and agricultural plastics; (b) review costs, benefits, availability, and feasibility of possible alternatives to these products; (c) assess current recycling efforts for these products, the effectiveness of these programs, and opportunities to promote increased recycling; and (d) recommend state policies related to these products that would minimize environmental impacts, maximize recycling, promote desirable alternatives, and benefit the economy of this state.

13 MEMBERS: 2 Senators; 1 Representative; and 10 Public Members.

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF: David L. Lovell, Senior Analyst; Larry Konopacki, Staff Attorney; and Julie Learned, Support Staff.