

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

AGENDA

SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON SINGLE-USE PLASTICS (Representative Spencer Black, Chair) (Senator Jim Holperin, Vice-Chair)

August 24, 2010

Room 411 South State Capitol, Madison

11:00 a.m.* CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL.

11:05 a.m. OPENING REMARKS:

- Senator Fred A. Risser, Co-Chair, Joint Legislative Council.
- Representative Marlin D. Schneider, Co-Chair, Joint Legislative Council.
- Terry C. Anderson, Director, Wisconsin Legislative Council.
- Representative Spencer Black, Chairperson.
- 11:20 a.m. INTRODUCTION OF COMMITTEE MEMBERS.
- 11:30 a.m. SOLID WASTE DISPOSAL AND RECYCLING IN WISCONSIN:
 - Cynthia Moore, Department of Natural Resources (DNR).
 - Brad Wolbert, DNR.

12:30 p.m. LUNCH BREAK (carry in).

*All of the times listed in the agenda are approximations.

One East Main Street, Suite 401 • P.O. Box 2536 • Madison, WI 53701-2536 (608) 266-1304 • Fax: (608) 266-3830 • Email: leg.council@legis.state.wi.us http://www.legis.state.wi.us/lc

1:00 p.m. PLASTIC PACKAGING:

- Ashley Carlson, American Chemistry Council.
- Anne Bedarf and Liz Schoch, GreenBlue, for the Sustainable Packaging Coalition.

3:00 p.m. PLASTIC FILMS:

- Roger Springman, Genesis Poly Recycling and Committee Member.
- Joe Van Rossum, Solid and Hazardous Waste Education Center (SHWEC), University of Wisconsin (UW)-Extension and Committee Member.
- 5:00 p.m. ADJOURNMENT.

August 25, 2010

Room 411 South State Capitol, Madison

10:00 a.m.* CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL.

10:05 a.m. RECOVERY AND RECYCLING OF PLASTICS: MARKET DEVELOPMENT:

- David Cornell, Association of Post-Consumer Plastic Recyclers.
- Steve Brachman, SHWEC, UW-Extension.
- Joe Van Rossum, SHWEC, UW-Extension and Committee Member.
- 12:00 p.m. LUNCH BREAK (carry in).
- 12:30 p.m. EXTENDED PRODUCER RESPONSIBILITY (EPR):
 - Scott Cassel, Product Stewardship Institute.
 - Ken Friesen, StewardEdge.
 - Sara Hartwell, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.
- 2:30 p.m. DISCUSSION OF COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENT.
- 4:45 p.m. PLANS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS.
- 5:00 p.m. ADJOURNMENT.

Other committee members: Sen. Cowles; and Public Members Clemmons, Dreckmann, Evenhouse, Kelly, Lawless, Metcalfe, Meyers, Reindl, Springman, and Van Rossum.