

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL SPECIAL COMMITTEE

REVIEW OF THE MANAGED FOREST LAND PROGRAM

Representative Fred Clark, **Vice Chair** (Chair 6/10 to 1/11) E12367 County Hwy W Baraboo, WI 53913

Senator Neal Kedzie N7661 Hwy 12 Elkhorn, WI 53121

Mark Abeles-Alison Bayfield County Administrator P.O. Box 878

Washburn, WI 54851

Donald Friske N2998 County Hwy K Merrill, WI 54452

Scott Henker Senior Resource Manager Plum Creek Wisconsin 1411 n. 4th St., Ste. 101 Tomahawk, WI 54487

Mary Hubler P.O. Box 544 Rice Lake, WI 54868

Dean Pelkey Region Forester Packaging Corporation of America N9090 County Road E Tomahawk, WI 54487

Mark Rickenbach Associate Professor and Extension Specialist Dept. of Forest & Wildlife Ecology, UW-Madison 1630 Linden Drive Madison, WI 54706

Fred Souba, Jr. NewPage Corporation P.O. Box 8050 Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494 Senator Dale Schultz, **Chair** (Chair 1/11 to completion) 515 North Central Avenue Richland Center, WI 53581

Senator Jim Holperin 3575 Monheim Road Conover, WI 54516

Mike Carlson Government Relations Director Gathering Waters Conservancy 211 South Paterson Street, Suite 270 Madison, WI 53703

Alan Haney Retired Dean of Forestry UW-Stevens Point 1990 Star B Hill Lane Custer, WI 54423

Bill Horvath 350 McDill Avenue Stevens Point, WI 54481

E.G. Nadeau Wisconsin Forest Owner Cooperation Project Cooperative Development Services 131 West Wilson Street, Suite 302 Madison, WI 53703

Charly Ray General Manager Living Forest Cooperative 422 Third Street West, #103 Ashland, WI 54806

Eugene Roark 16 Grand Avenue Madison, WI 53705

Richard J. Stadelman Executive Director, WI Towns Association W76686 County Road MMM Shawano, WI 54166

STUDY ASSIGNMENT: The Special Committee is directed to review the Managed Forest Land (MFL) Program in order to ensure the long-term management and sustainability of private forest lands and to increase participation in the program. The committee shall review the following issues: (a) the scope and statutory purposes of the MFL program; (b) ways to increase public access on MFL lands; (c) the relationship between local zoning and the entry of parcels in the MFL program; (d) The impact of MFL enrollment on local and county revenues; and (e) trends in forest ownership and trends in forest product markets including biofuels.

18 MEMBERS: 3 Senators; 1 Representative; and 14 Public Members.

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF: Rachel Letzing, Senior Staff Attorney; Scott Grosz, Staff Attorney; and Kelly Mautz, Support Staff.