

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL SPECIAL COMMITTEE

REVIEW OF HIGHER EDUCATION FINANCIAL AID PROGRAMS

Representative Joan Ballweg, Chair

170 W. Summit St. Markesan, WI 53946

Thomas Lothian 539 Park Ridge Road Williams Bay, WI 53191

Sara Goldrick-Rab

Asst. Prof., Educational Policy Studies & Sociology, UW-Madison Co-Director, Wisconsin Financial Aid Study 1025 W. Johnson St., Rm.575J

Madison, WI 53706

Jane Hojan-Clark
Ex. Dir., Dept. of Financial Aid

UW-Milwaukee

Mellencamp Hall, P.O. Box 469 Milwaukee, WI 53201-0469

Amy Kerwin

Chief Guaranty Officer

Great Lakes Higher Education Guaranty Corp.

2401 International Lane Madison, WI 53704-3192

Don Madelung Campus President Herzing University 5218 East Terrace Drive Madison, WI 53718

Marlin D. Schneider 3820 Southbrook Lane Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494

Paul Watson Office of Financial Aid UW-Stevens Point, 106 SSB Stevens Point, WI 54481-3897 Senator Fred A. Risser, Vice-Chair 100 Wisconsin Ave., Unit 501 Madison, WI 53703

Mary Jo Green Financial Aid Supervisor Mid State Technical College 500 32nd St., No. Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494

Louise J. Janke Director of Financial Aid UW-La Crosse 215 Graff Main Hall, 1725 State Street La Crosse, WI 54601

Rock Larson Wood County Veterans Service Officer 400 Market St P.O. Box 8095 Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54495-8095

Darcy Paulson Financial Aid Coordinator UW-Rock County 2909 Kellogg Ave. Janesville, WI 53546

Michael Swain Student UW-Whitewater 880 South Janesville St., Apt. 1 Whitewater, WI 53190

Rolf Wegenke President Wisconsin Association of Independent Colleges and Universities 122 W. Washington Ave., Ste. 700 Madison, WI 53703-2723

STUDY ASSIGNMENT: The Special Committee is directed to review current laws relating to financial aid for higher education in order to improve student access to higher education, maximize utilization of higher education resources, and retain qualified graduates in Wisconsin. Policies for review may include: (a) the Wisconsin Covenant; (b) loan forgiveness programs; (c) Wisconsin/Minnesota tuition reciprocity; (d) academic excellence scholarships; and (e) need-based grants and loans.

15 MEMBERS: 1 Senator; 2 Representatives; and 12 Public Members.

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF: Dan Schmidt, Senior Analyst; Scott Grosz and Anna Henning, Staff Attorneys; and Kelly Mautz, Support Staff.