

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL SPECIAL COMMITTEE

REVIEW OF EMERGENCY DETENTION AND ADMISSION OF MINORS UNDER CHAPTER 51

Senator Mary Lazich, **Chair** (Chair 1/11 to completion) 4405 South 129th Street New Berlin, WI 53151

Representative Joan Ballweg 170 W. Summit Street Markesan, WI 53946

Ann Hraychuck (resigned, effective 6/4/12) PO Box 334 Balsam Lake, WI 54810

Michael J. Bachhuber Executive Director Independent Living Council of Wisconsin, Inc. 201 West Washington Avenue, Suite 110 Madison, WI 53703

Kristin M. Kerschensteiner Managing Attorney, Disability Rights Wisconsin 131 W. Wilson Street, #700 Madison, WI 53703

Michael Kiefer 710 East Briarwood Place Whitefish Bay, WI 53217

Tally Moses Assistant Professor of Social Work, UW-Madison 308 School of Social Work Building 1350 University Avenue Madison, WI 53706

Galen Strebe Dane County Corporation Counsel City County Building, Room 419 210 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. Madison, WI 53703-3345

Carianne Yerkes Crisis Intervention Team Coord., Milwaukee Police Dept. 749 W. State Street Milwaukee, WI 53233 Representative Sandy Pasch, Vice-Chair (Chair 5/10 to 1/11) 6301 N. Berkeley Blvd. Whitefish Bay, WI 53217

Senator David Hansen 3489 Blackwolf Run Green Bay, WI 54311

Dr. Jon S. Berlin Medical Director – Crisis Service Milwaukee County Behavioral Health Division 9455 Watertown Plank Road Milwaukee, WI 53226-3559

George Kerwin President/CEO, Bellin Health 744 S. Webster Avenue, PO Box 23400 Green Bay, WI 54305-3400

Dr. Gina Koeppl Regional Director, Ministry Behavioral Health 1020 Kabel Avenue Rhinelander, WI 54501

Brian A. Shoup Executive Director Brown County Human Services 111 N. Jefferson Street Green Bay, WI 54305

Brenda E. Wesley Education and Outreach Coordinator NAMI Greater Milwaukee 3732 W. Wisconsin Avenue Milwaukee, WI 53208

STUDY ASSIGNMENT: The Special Committee is directed to review the following provisions in ch. 51, Stats.: (a) the appropriateness of, and inconsistencies in, the utilization of emergency detention procedures under s. 51.15, Stats., across this state, and the availability and cost of emergency detention facilities; (b) the inconsistent statutory approaches to emergency detention between Milwaukee County and other counties in the state; and (c) the inconsistent application of procedures relating to admission of minors under s. 51.13, Stats., as modified by 2005 Wisconsin Act 444.

15 MEMBERS: 2 Senators; 2 Representatives; and 11 Public Members.

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF: Laura Rose, Deputy Director; Brian T. Larson, Staff Attorney, and Julie Learned, Support Staff.