

## WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

## **AGENDA**

## SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC ASSISTANCE PROGRAM INTEGRITY

(Sen. Bob Jauch, Chair Rep. Gordon Hintz, Vice-Chair)

August 4, 2010

Legislative Council Conference Room 1 E. Main Street, Suite 401 Madison, WI

10:00 a.m.\* CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL.

10:05 a.m. OPENING REMARKS:

- Terry C. Anderson, Director, Wisconsin Legislative Council.
- Senator Fred A. Risser and Representative Marlin Schneider, Co-Chairs, Joint Legislative Council.

10:20 a.m. CHAIRPERSON'S REMARKS.

10:30 a.m. INTRODUCTION OF COMMITTEE MEMBERS.

10:35 a.m. DESCRIPTION OF MATERIALS DISTRIBUTED:

- Memo No. 1, Wisconsin Works and Wisconsin Shares: Fraud Prevention and Detection, Collection of Overpayments, and Penalties for Fraudulent Activity (July 28, 2010).
- Legislative Audit Bureau Reports:
  - o Letter Report, Wisconsin Shares Child Care Subsidy Program (June 2009).

One East Main Street, Suite 401 • P.O. Box 2536 • Madison, WI 53701-2536 (608) 266-1304 • Fax: (608) 266-3830 • Email: <a href="mailto:leg.council@legis.state.wi.us/legis.sta

\*All of the times listed in the agenda are approximations.

- o Letter Report, *Matching Addresses of Registered Sex Offenders and Child Care Providers* (September 2009).
- o Report 09-15, Child Care Regulation (December 2009).
- Letter from Reggie Bicha, Secretary, Department of Children and Families, to Senator Vinehout and Representative Barca, Co-Chairs, Joint Legislative Audit Committee, regarding progress the Department of Children and Families has made to improve child care regulation and quality in Wisconsin (June 30, 2010).

## 10:45 a.m. PRESENTATION BY INVITED SPEAKER:

• Reggie Bicha, Secretary, Department of Children and Families.

12:00 p.m. LUNCH BREAK.

12:30 p.m. PRESENTATION BY INVITED SPEAKER:

• Janice Mueller, State Auditor, Legislative Audit Bureau.

1:45 p.m. DISCUSSION OF COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENT:

Discussion of committee members' suggestions regarding the committee's assignment.

2:30 p.m. OTHER BUSINESS.

2:35 p.m. ADJOURNMENT.

Other committee members: Sen. Darling; Reps. Gottlieb and Roys; and Public Members Basiliere, Cook, Delagrave, Feiss, Irvin-Vitella, Johnson, Menendez, and Struck.