

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL SPECIAL COMMITTEE

NANOTECHNOLOGY

Senator Sheila Harsdorf, **Chair** (Chair 1/11 to completion) N6627 County Road E. River Falls, WI 54022

Representative Terese Berceau 4326 Somerset Lane Madison, WI 53711

Chuck Benedict (Chair 5/10 to 1/11) 3639 Bee Lane Beloit, WI 53511

Michael Cronin Whyte, Hirschboeck, Dudek, S.C. 33 East Main Street Madison, WI 53703

Robert Hamers, Ph.D. Department of Chemistry University of Wisconsin-Madison 1101 University Avenue Madison, WI 53706

Doug Hansmann, Ph.D. 122 Bascom Place Madison, WI 53726

Pamela D. Owen NanoRite Innovation Center Chippewa Valley Technical College 620 West Clairemont Avenue Eau Claire, WI 54701-6162 Senator Mark Miller, **Vice-Chair** 4903 Roigan Terrace Monona, WI 53716

Representative Pat Strachota 639 Ridge Road West Bend, WI 53095

Jeff Cernohous, President Interfacial Solutions, LLC 949 Antler Court River Falls, WI 54022-4880

George Gruetzmacher, Ph.D. Wisconsin State Laboratory of Hygiene 2601 Agriculture Drive Madison, WI 53718

James Hamilton, Ph.D. University of Wisconsin-Platteville Dept. of Chemistry and Engineering Physics 1 University Plaza Platteville, WI 53818

George Lisensky, Ph.D. Department of Chemistry Beloit College 700 College Street Beloit, WI 55311

Richard Peterson, Ph.D. Division Chair, School of Pharmacy University of Wisconsin-Madison 5109 Rennebohm Hall Madison, WI 53705

STUDY ASSIGNMENT: The Special Committee is directed to examine the human health and environmental concerns related to the manufacture, use, and disposal of nanomaterials and develop legislation to address these concerns. In particular, the Special Committee shall consider the establishment of methods to monitor nanomaterials by use of a nanotechnology registry system or the imposition of other disclosure requirements. The Special Committee shall also develop strategies to facilitate the development of nanotechnology to create and retain jobs in Wisconsin, including ways in which government can help nanotechnology researchers, small firms, and start-ups address potential risks and meet regulatory requirements.

14 MEMBERS: 2 Senators; 2 Representatives; and 10 Public Members.

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF: Mary Matthias and Pam Shannon, Senior Staff Attorneys; Larry Konopacki, Staff Attorney; and Julie Learned, Support Staff.