

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL SPECIAL COMMITTEE

JUDICIAL DISCIPLINE AND RECUSAL

Representative Gary Hebl, Chair 515 Scheuerell Lane Sun Prairie, WI 53590

Representative Frederick Kessler 11221 W. Sanctuary Drive Milwaukee, WI 53224

Thomas Basting Midwest Mediation, LLC P.O. Box 1766 Madison, WI 53701-1766

Chief Judge Mac Davis Waukesha County Courthouse 515 West Moreland Blvd., Room C-359 Waukesha, WI 53188

Stephen Hurley, Attorney Hurley, Burish & Stanton, S.C. 33 East Main Street, Ste. 400 Madison, WI 53703

Lynn Laufenberg Laufenberg Law Group, S.C. 115 S. 84th Street, Ste. 250 Milwaukee, WI 53214 Senator Glenn Grothman, **Vice-Chair** 151 University Drive 312-N West Bend, WI 53095

Representative Daniel LeMahieu P.O. Box 277 Cascade, WI 53011

Troy D. Cross, Asst. District Attorney Carl Frederick Administration Bldg. 400 DeWitt Street Portage, WI 53901

Diane S. Diel, Attorney 731 N. Jackson Street, Ste. 505 Milwaukee, WI 53202-4699

Andrea Kaminski, Executive Director League of Women Voters of Wisconsin 122 State Street, Ste. 201A Madison, WI 53703-2500

Professor David Schultz University of Wisconsin Law School 975 Bascom Mall Madison, WI 53706-1399

STUDY ASSIGNMENT: The Special Committee is directed to: (a) review the current method by which justices and judges are disciplined; (b) examine alternative methods of judicial discipline, including methods of judicial discipline in other states and in the federal court system; and (c) recommend a method by which justices and judges should be disciplined. The Special Committee is also directed to review the current system of judicial recusal and to recommend an objective standard for judicial recusal.

12 MEMBERS: 1 Senator; 3 Representatives; and 8 Public Members.

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF: Don Salm and Ronald Sklansky, Senior Staff Attorneys; Jessica Karls-Ruplinger, Staff Attorney; and Tracey Young, Support Staff.