

## WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

### **AGENDA**

#### SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON JUDICIAL DISCIPLINE AND RECUSAL

(Rep. Gary Hebl, Chair Sen. Glenn Grothman, Vice-Chair)

#### **September 16, 2010**

# Room 328 Northwest State Capitol

9:00 a.m.\* CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL.

9:05 a.m. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF THE AUGUST 5, 2010 MEETING.

#### 9:10 a.m. PRESENTATIONS BY INVITED SPEAKERS:

- Patience Roggensack, Justice, Wisconsin Supreme Court.
- Ann Walsh Bradley, Justice, Wisconsin Supreme Court.
- N. Patrick Crooks, Justice, Wisconsin Supreme Court.
- Shirley Abrahamson, Chief Justice, Wisconsin Supreme Court.
- Michael McCabe, Wisconsin Democracy Campaign.
- Mike Wittenwyler, Attorney, Godfrey & Kahn.
- Marla Stephens, Director, Appellate Division, Wisconsin State Public Defender's office.
- Keith Findley, University of Wisconsin Law Center.
- Professor Richard Esenberg, Marquette University Law School.

One East Main Street, Suite 401 • P.O. Box 2536 • Madison, WI 53701-2536 (608) 266-1304 • Fax: (608) 266-3830 • Email: <a href="mailto:leg.council@legis.state.wi.us/legis.sta

#### 12:05 p.m. DISCUSSION OF COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENT:

- Memo No. 4, Judicial Disqualification and Recusal (September 9, 2010).
- Memo No. 5, Disqualification of Judges Under Federal Law and the Due Process Clause (September 9, 2010).
- Memo No. 6, Overview of Judicial Recusal Laws and Procedures in the 50 States; Discussion of General Proposals from Other States' Laws and Legislation (September 9, 2010).

1:55 p.m. OTHER BUSINESS.

2:00 p.m. ADJOURNMENT.

Other committee members: Reps. Kessler and LeMahieu; and Public Members Basting, Cross, Davis, Diel, Hurley, Kaminski, Laufenberg, and Schultz.