ACCESS: Repayment WLC: 0097/1

RNS:jb:wu;wu 02/04/2011

AN ACT to amend 20.285 (1) (jc); and to create 39.18 of the statutes; relating to:

2 repayment of state aid by medical school graduates.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

**JOINT LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL PREFATORY NOTE:** This bill was prepared for the Joint Legislative Council's Special Committee on Health Care Access.

The bill requires graduates of the University of Wisconsin (UW) School of Medicine and Public Health who pay resident tuition and graduates of the Medical College of Wisconsin (MCW) who receive state assistance as residents of Wisconsin to practice in Wisconsin for a specified period of time. For graduates of the UW school, persons must practice in a health professional shortage area (HPSA) in Wisconsin for at least 6 months for each year that the person paid resident tuition, or practice in an area that is not a HPSA in Wisconsin for at least one year for each year that the individual paid resident tuition. Graduates of MCW must practice in a HPSA in Wisconsin for at least 6 months, or practice in another area of the state for at least one year.

Persons who do not comply with these requirements are required to pay the state the difference between resident and nonresident tuition for the years he or she attended the UW school, or pay the state the amount of the tuition reduction at MCW, plus interest. Money that is collected under this bill would be used for the current program that provides loan repayment assistance for physicians.

The bill would apply to persons who begin their education at the UW school or MCW on or after July 1, 2012.

**SECTION 1.** 20.285 (1) (jc) of the statutes is amended to read:

3

- 4 20.285 (1) (jc) Physician and dentist and health care provider loan assistance
- 5 programs. All moneys received under ss. 36.60 and 36.61 and all moneys transferred under
- 6 2009 Wisconsin Act 28, section 9210 (1), to be used for loan repayments under ss. 36.60 and

1 36.61 and costs associated with the repayments and all moneys received under s. 39.18 (2) (b) 2 and (3) (b) to be used for loan repayments for physicians under s. 36.60. 3 **SECTION 2.** 39.18 of the statutes is created to read: 4 **39.18 Repayment of state aid.** (1) In this section, "health professional shortage area" 5 has the meaning given in s. 36.60 (1) (aj). 6 (2) Graduates of the university of wisconsin school of medicine and public 7 HEALTH. (a) A graduate of the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health 8 who has paid tuition as a resident of this state shall do one of the following: 9 1. Practice in a health professional shortage area in this state for at least 6 months for 10 each year that the individual paid tuition as a resident of this state. 11 2. Practice in an area in this state that is not a health professional shortage area for at 12 least one year for each year that the individual paid tuition as a resident of this state. 13 (b) An individual who does not comply with par. (a) shall pay the state the difference 14 between resident and nonresident tuition for the years in which he or she attended the 15 University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health, plus interest as determined 16 by the higher educational aids board. 17 (c) An individual who is a resident of this state and who chooses to pay nonresident 18 tuition is not required to comply with par. (a). 19 (3) Graduates of the Medical College of Wisconsin. (a) A graduate of the Medical 20 College of Wisconsin who received reduced tuition under s. 39.155 shall do one of the 21 following: 22 1. Practice in a health professional shortage area in this state for at least 6 months. 23 2. Practice in an area in this state that is not a health professional shortage area for at

24

least one year.

I	(b) An individual who does not comply with par. (a) shall pay the state the amount of
2	the tuition reduction under s. 39.155 for the years in which he or she attended the Medical
3	College of Wisconsin, plus interest as determined by the higher educational aids board.
4	(c) An individual who is a resident of this state and who chooses not to accept the tuition
5	reduction under s. 39.155 is not required to comply with par. (a).
6	(4) PRACTICE. An individual may comply with sub. (2) (a) or (3) (a) by practicing during
7	a medical residency or through employment as a physician that begins within 2 years after
8	completing a medical residency.
9	(5) Use of funds. Moneys received under sub. (2) (b) or (3) (b) shall be deposited in
10	the appropriation under s. 20.285 (1) (jc) for loan repayments for physicians under s. 36.60.
11	SECTION 3. Applicability.
12	(1) REPAYMENT OF STATE AID. This act applies to individuals who begin their education
13	at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health or the Medical College
14	of Wisconsin on or after July 1, 2012.
15	(END)