## RNS:jb:wu;wu

03/21/2011

## 1 AN ACT to amend 20.285 (1) (jc); and to create 39.18 of the statutes; relating to:

2

repayment of state aid by medical or dental school graduates.

## The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

**JOINT LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL PREFATORY NOTE:** This bill was prepared for the Joint Legislative Council's Special Committee on Health Care Access.

The bill requires graduates of the University of Wisconsin (UW) School of Medicine and Public Health who pay resident tuition and graduates of the Medical College of Wisconsin (MCW) or the Marquette School of Dentistry who receive state assistance as residents of Wisconsin to practice in Wisconsin for a specified period of time. For graduates of the UW school, persons must practice in a health shortage area, as defined in the bill, in Wisconsin for at least 6 months for each year that the person paid resident tuition, or practice in an area that is not a health shortage area in Wisconsin for at least one year for each year that the individual paid resident tuition. Graduates of MCW or the Marquette School of Dentistry must practice in a health shortage area in Wisconsin for at least one year, or practice in another area of the state for at least 2 years.

Persons who do not comply with these requirements are required to pay the state the difference between resident and nonresident tuition for the years they attended the UW school, or pay the state the amount of the tuition reduction at MCW or the Marquette School of Dentistry, plus interest. Money that is collected under this bill would be used for the current program that provides loan repayment assistance for physicians and dentists.

The bill would apply to persons who begin their education at the UW school, MCW, or the Marquette School of Dentistry on or after July 1, 2012.

- 3 SECTION 1. 20.285 (1) (jc) of the statutes is amended to read:
- 4 20.285 (1) (jc) Physician and dentist and health care provider loan assistance
- 5 *programs.* All moneys received under ss. 36.60 and 36.61 and all moneys transferred under
- 6 2009 Wisconsin Act 28, section 9210 (1), to be used for loan repayments under ss. 36.60 and

03/21/2011

-2-

1	36.61 and costs associated with the repayments and all moneys received under s. 39.18 (2) (b),
2	(3) (b), and (4) (b) to be used for loan repayments under s. 36.60.
3	<b>SECTION 2.</b> 39.18 of the statutes is created to read:
4	<b>39.18 Repayment of state aid</b> . (1) In this section, "health shortage area" means a health
5	professional shortage area, as defined in s. 36.60 (1) (aj), or a rural area, as defined in s. 36.63
6	(1) (c).
7	(2) Graduates of the university of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public
8	HEALTH. (a) A graduate of the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health
9	who has paid tuition as a resident of this state shall do one of the following:
10	1. Practice in a health shortage area in this state for at least 6 months for each year that
11	the individual paid tuition as a resident of this state.
12	2. Practice in an area in this state that is not a health shortage area for at least one year
13	for each year that the individual paid tuition as a resident of this state.
14	(b) An individual who does not comply with par. (a) shall pay the state the difference
15	between resident and nonresident tuition for the years in which he or she attended the
16	University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health, plus interest as determined
17	by the higher educational aids board.
18	(c) An individual who is a resident of this state and who chooses to pay nonresident
19	tuition is not required to comply with par. (a).
20	(3) GRADUATES OF THE MEDICAL COLLEGE OF WISCONSIN. (a) A graduate of the Medical
21	College of Wisconsin who received reduced tuition under s. 39.155 shall do one of the
22	following:
23	1. Practice in a health shortage area in this state for at least one year.
24	2. Practice in an area in this state that is not a health shortage area for at least 2 years.

1	(b) An individual who does not comply with par. (a) shall pay the state the amount of
2	the tuition reduction under s. 39.155 for the years in which he or she attended the Medical
3	College of Wisconsin, plus interest as determined by the higher educational aids board.
4	(c) An individual who is a resident of this state and who chooses not to accept the tuition
5	reduction under s. 39.155 is not required to comply with par. (a).
6	(4) GRADUATES OF MARQUETTE SCHOOL OF DENTISTRY. (a) A graduate of the Marquette
7	School of Dentistry who received reduced tuition under s. 39.46 (2) (f) shall do one of the
8	following:
9	1. Practice in a health shortage area in this state for at least one year.
10	2. Practice in an area in this state that is not a health shortage area for at least 2 years.
11	(b) An individual who does not comply with par. (a) shall pay the state the amount of
12	the tuition reduction under s. 39.46 (2) (f) for the years in which he or she attended the
13	Marquette School of Dentistry, plus interest as determined by the higher educational aids
14	board.
15	(c) An individual who is a resident of this state and who chooses not to accept the tuition
16	reduction under s. 39.46 (2) (f) is not required to comply with par. (a).
17	(5) PRACTICE. An individual may comply with sub. (2) (a) or (3) (a) by practicing during
18	a medical residency or through employment as a physician that begins within 2 years after
19	completing a medical residency. An individual may comply with sub. (4) (a) by practicing
20	during a dental residency or through employment as a dentist that begins within 2 years after
21	completing a dental residency.
22	(6) USE OF FUNDS. Moneys received under sub. (2) (b), (3) (b), or (4) (b) shall be
23	deposited in the appropriation under s. 20.285 (1) (jc) for loan repayments under s. 36.60.

24 SECTION 3. Applicability.

-3-

(1) REPAYMENT OF STATE AID. This act applies to individuals who begin their education
at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health, the Medical College
of Wisconsin, or the Marquette School of Dentistry on or after July 1, 2012.
(END)