

## WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL SPECIAL COMMITTEE

## REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY

Senator Judy Robson, Chair 2411 East Ridge Road Beloit, WI 53511

Representative Al Ott W2168 Campground Road Forest Junction, WI 54123

Representative Barbara Toles 3835 N. 56<sup>th</sup> St.
Milwaukee, WI 53216

Larry Arft City of Beloit City Hall, 100 State Street Beloit, WI 53511

Gerald Derr Town of Bristol 1595 CTH V Columbus, WI 53952

Dick Granchalek La Crosse Area Chamber of Commerce

712 Main Street La Crosse, WI 54601

Tim Hanna City of Appleton 100 North Appleton Street Appleton, WI 54911

Chuck Kamp Madison Metro Transit 1101 East Washington Avenue Madison, WI 53703

Delora Newton Greater Madison Chamber of Commerce P.O. Box 71 Madison, WI 53701-0071

Fritz Ruf W276N1905 Spring Creek Drive Pewaukee, WI 53072-5365

Tom Walker Wisconsin Transportation Builders Association 1 S. Pinckney St., Ste. 300 Madison, WI 53703 Senator John Lehman 708 Orchard Street Racine, WI 53405

Representative Jeff Stone 5535 Grandview Drive Greendale, WI 53129

Representative Robin Vos 4710 Eastwood Ridge Racine, WI 53406

Len Brandrup City of Kenosha 4303 39<sup>th</sup> Avenue Kenosha, WI 53144

Brett Geboy Eau Claire Area Chamber of Commerce 101 N. Farwell St., Ste. 101 Eau Claire, WI 54702-1107

Anita Gulotta-Connelly Milwaukee County Transit System 1942 North 17th Street

Milwaukee, WI 53205 Richard Johnson 430 S. Randall Ave. Janesville, WI 53545

Scott McDonell
Dane County Board of Supervisors

14 W. Gilman St., #1 Madison, WI 53703

Professor Brian Ohm University of Wisconsin-Madison 202 Music Hall, 925 Bascom Mall Madison, WI 53706

Dick Wagner 739 Jenifer St. Madison, WI 53703

STUDY ASSIGNMENT: The committee is directed to review and provide recommendations on how to create a statutory framework enabling counties, cities, villages, and towns to create regional transportation authorities (RTA) to promote regional cooperation on transportation issues, including: the funding mechanisms to be used to support an RTA; the method of creation of an RTA, the representation and participation of member units of government on an RTA; the types of transportation services that an RTA could be authorized to administer; and the scope and limits of other RTA authority.

22 MEMBERS: 2 Senators, 4 Representatives, and 15 Public Members.

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF: Scott Grosz and Larry Konopacki, Staff Attorneys; and Kelly Mautz, Support Staff.