

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL SPECIAL COMMITTEE

JUSTICE REINVESTMENT INITIATIVE OVERSIGHT

Senator Lena Taylor, **Chair** 1518 West Capitol Drive Milwaukee, WI 53206

Senator Dan Kapanke 1610 Lakeshore Drive La Crosse, WI 54603

Representative Tamara Grigsby 2354 North 41st Street Milwaukee, WI 53210

Representative Joel Kleefisch W357 N6189 Spinnaker Drive Oconomowoc, WI 53066

John Chisholm, District Attorney Milwaukee County Safety Building 821 West State Street, Room 405 Milwaukee, WI 53233

James Dwyer, County Board Chair Waukesha County Courthouse 515 West Moreland Boulevard Waukesha, WI 53188

Frank Humphrey NAACP--Madison Branch P.O. Box 45 Madison, WI 53701

Judge Lisa Stark, Branch 1 Eau Claire County Circuit Courts Eau Claire County Courthouse 721 Oxford Avenue Eau Claire, WI 54703

A. John Voelker, Director Director of State Courts 16E Capitol Building P.O. Box 1688 Madison, WI 53701-1688

Noble Wray, Chief of Police City of Madison Police Department 211 South Carroll Street Madison, WI 53703 Representative Robert Turner, Vice-Chair 36 McKinley Avenue Racine, WI 53404

Senator Luther Olsen 1023 Thomas Street Ripon, WI 54971

Representative Scott Suder 102 South 4th Avenue Abbotsford, WI 54405

Nicholas Chiarkas State Public Defender 315 North Henry Street, 2nd Floor Madison, WI 53703-3233

Richard Dufour, District Attorney Marquette County P.O. Box 396 Montello, WI 53949

Dave Graves, Sheriff 1170 County Road NN P.O. Box 1004 Elkhorn, WI 53121

Kit McNally, Executive Director The Benedict Center 135 West Wells Street, Suite 700 Milwaukee, WI 53203

Tony Streveler Department of Corrections 3099 East Washington Avenue Madison, WI 53704

Maxine White, Deputy Chief Judge 1st Judicial District, Courthouse 901 North 9th Street, Room 500 Milwaukee, WI 53233-1425

STUDY ASSIGNMENT: The committee is directed to serve as the entity to which the Council of State Governments (CSG) Justice Center reports. The study committee process creates a unique forum in which legislators will receive data from the Justice Center along with public members who work directly in different aspects of the corrections and criminal justice systems. The CSG Justice Center will provide technical assistance relating to corrections costs. Specifically, the technical assistance will include: (1) mapping of specific neighborhoods where large numbers of offenders are released from prison to identify how to improve coordination of services, correctional supervision, and law enforcement; (2) analyzing the prison population to determine what is driving its growth and to identify which categories of offenders are at high risk of re-offending; (3) developing policy options, based upon the data collected, to increase public safety and decrease corrections spending; and (4) projecting the fiscal impact of any policy options identified.

19 MEMBERS: 3 Senators, 4 Representatives, and 12 Public Members.

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STAFF: Anne Sappenfield and Ronald Sklansky, Senior Staff Attorneys, and Melissa Schmidt, Staff Attorney; and Julie Learned, Support Staff.